Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of MasterShield gutter guards

Read 14 MasterShield Gutter Guard reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#7   of 8 brands of gutter guards

28% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 14 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    4
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    9

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about MasterShield gutter guards

Read reviews of other Gutter Guard brands
Write a review

12Next >>

Date created: 2018-09-10 Name: Marcia Martin
Location: Berkeley lake, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Gutters on my home"
I can't say enough about Kevin and his team with MasterShield gutters/gutter guards. After looking at all of the others on the market at the Cobb Home Show for the past few years, I listened to what Kevin had to say and was very impressed with the product. He came out, give me quote which I accepted. I wasn't there when they put on the gutters. When I arrived home from work, I didn't realize that the new gutters were on my home. They cleaned up so well that there was no trace that they were there. I've had my gutters several years now and am extremely pleased. My neighbor went with the other company and he's always having call in someone to clean off the shields and the gutters. Thank you Kevin.


Date created: 2018-04-20 Name: Steven Sery
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Snow Catcher"
We had installed approx 300 lf of Mastershield this fall. Since leaves were already off and had no rain was not able to evaluate. Now we have snow. The guards hold the snow out of the gutters; when the sun begins to melt the snow it now does not go into the gutter but drips over the edge and in subfreezing temps creates icicles. The icicles then melt and refreeze on the walk areas under the gutter. We then have two problems: icy walkways and hanging icicles, some up to 2' long. This has created a dangerous situation and I'm afraid my only solution is to remove the guards in areas where this is a problem. I would not use Mastershield in these climatic conditions.


Date created: 2018-03-27 Name: M. Austen
Location: Ontario, OH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Service - Ohio"
Had Mastershield install a few years ago by a authorized installer, I believe, named AAA Windowman. The gentleman's name is Lloyd Parker. After the sales pitch, he took my money and installed the product. After the product failed to perform as stated, He returned to "fix" the issues, He failed to complete the fix while making it worse than original. He stood me up on the final return to complete the job and subsequent calls and email were never returned.



Date created: 2017-05-31 Name: S Conrad
Location: NE Ohio
Model: Leaf Guard

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Clogged"
After a few years, the mesh was so clogged with debris from the overhanging oak trees, that I had to tear off the stainless steel mesh and just left the underlying guard on the gutter.


Date created: 2015-08-19 Name: Jane Schwarz
Location: Medford, MA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I thought Master Shield is a reputable company"
My story is the similar to Stuart Marcus', Landing, NJ, and Mike Austen's, Ontario, Ohio. I paid $4786.00 to have a Master Shield gutter guard system installed over the gutters in my home. That's a lot of money for just gutter guard; the gutters and downspouts were there already. I didn't notice any difference in the performance but what can one do when the money is already spent and the gutter system installed. Last winter was particularly bad in one corner and an ice dam built up. After the winter season, I noticed green shoots growing from the gutter. I had to prop ladders against the wall to clean the debris that is on top of the gutter guards and I suspect that there is debris retention inside the gutters. The problem is that you cannot remove the gutter guards yourself. I went to Master Shield's website and called the 877 number. I spoke to a person called Anthony and he asked right away if I wanted to schedule an appointment for an estimate. I told him I already have a Master Shield gutter system but I want to know how I can get it cleaned. Immediately, I got cut off and when I called the 877 number back (several times), it went to the voice mail of pic homepros. I left my message and phone number but I am not at all optimistic that I will get contacted. The sad thing is I went online to do research and according to Tim Carter at Ask The Builder highly recommended Master Shield. I have lost faith in our society's definition and standard of professionalism, and I feel scr#$%! #Notomastershield #bewareofmastershield


Date created: 2015-08-10 Name: Stuart Marcus
Location: Landing, NJ
Model: Gutter Guard

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dissatisfied"
I had MasterShield Gutter Guard installed 7 years ago. After about 2 years, we noticed that during the winter, icicles were hanging off of the gutters. We didn't worry about it until the spring, when the melting ice starting coming into the house through the window frame. Over the next couple of years, during rain storms, I've noticed the rain water running over the gutters and not into and through it. I tried reaching out to the contractor that installed it, but they are apparently out of business. I then tried to reach out directly to MasterShield, and all that I keep getting is e-mails from them saying that they are trying to reach us to provide a free estimate. I keep responding that I'm trying to resolve water damage that is apparently being caused by either poor installation or a poor product. Finally received an e-mail from someone at MasterShield and when I asked them to call me to discuss this issue, no further communication or response. So, now I have an ongoing problem of water damage around a window and no help from the company, showing that they don't stand behind their products. I urge anyone reading this to stay away from MasterShield and don't believe their hype.


Date created: 2015-07-27 Name: Mike Austen
Location: Ontario, Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor product performance and contracting."
I had Master Shield installed two years ago. After the product was installed, the contractor, Lloyd Parker from northwest Ohio, promised that the gutters would function as I requested and never would I have a clogged gutter again. My roof is steep and his work "launched" the water at the downspout over the gutter washing out the flower beds. Lloyd said that he would return to correct the problem and charged me additional for special valley fittings. They failed as well. He failed to finish the job to correct the dams he built that collected leaves at the bottom of the valleys. On two occasions through this fiasco he stood me up after I burned vacation days to meet him at the house. The last email I sent returned no response. Email me at mausten@gormanrupp.com and I'll send you a video of the gutter performance. Guests cannot use the front door during a hard rain unless they want drenched in runoff... twice. The product is poor performance and the contracting was worse. Absolute poor aftermarket service.


Date created: 2015-02-06 Name: J.miller
Location: silver spring md

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not worth the money"
I now have water coming through my ceiling. My roofer told me it's ice damming: ice getting under the shingles due to these guards. When Master Shield installed these guards they broke the seal of the shingles. Now I have ice backing up under the shingles and leaking into my ceiling. I never had this problem before. My roof is 4 years old. The gutters were installed in the spring.


Date created: 2013-06-06 Name: Frigid
Location: Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk!"
We have had this stuff on our house for three years. After trying to fix the problem of massive icicles and a skating rink underneath due to the system freezing up during the freeze/thaw cycles, we are getting this stuff removed before another winter. Since I cannot find any other contractor than the one that initially installed it (they claim proper installation, of course), I do not know for sure if I was installer error or bad product. Either way, we are getting this junk removed. It has only been a pain and a waste of money.


Date created: 2012-07-17 Name: S. Dorcus
Location: Nebraska

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible"
This product has not worked for us at all! We are having to replace everything after trying for five years to think it will get better. The screens have gotten dirty and no water can get through them at all. The water just runs over the side. In the winter we get icicles which hang dangerously over our driveway. We contacted our salesman for suggestions and he just yelled at us that he hadn't promised they would work well, only that leaves wouldn't get in the gutters. Too bad water won't get in them either.

12Next >>