Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Atlas shingles

Atlas Logo

Read 48 Atlas Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#5   of 15 brands of shingles

43% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 48 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    21
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    26

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Atlas shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345

Date created: 2011-12-20 Location: Mount Pleasant, MI
Model: 1516600

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Excellent Roofing Shingles at a Great Price"
I repaired my roof roughly two years ago, and I could not be happier with the results. They were extremely easy to put up. My husband and his friends were able to roof our house themselves with ease because the shingles were so cooperative. Also, I love the color selection Atlas Castlebrook shingles has. We have a white house and sometimes it is fun to change up the color of the shingles for a new look. The shingles were also very inexpensive, so I was actually able to afford new siding as well! However, I did not like the delivery time. I ordered them through Menards, and it took three weeks longer than it was expected to because the wrong shingles were ordered originally. This made us pressed for time because it was late fall when we started the project. However, the customer service for Atlas Castlebrook shingles was very helpful in getting me the right shingles as quickly as possible after the mistake. I have not had to make any repairs yet with the shingles. They have survived many show and windstorms flawlessly. If I were to buy the same brand, I would definitely go for the Atlas Castlebrook brand shingles again as well as recommend them to anyone else redoing their roof.


Date created: 2011-11-08 Name: Chris Luu
Location: Montreal, Canada
Model: Stratford

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Cracks"
I had Atlas Stratford shingles installed in 2002. We live in Eastern Canada. The shingles started to crack about 3 years ago. Now the roof leaks and after barely 8 years, we'll have to replace the roof. The 30 years warranty is meaningless. I guess it's related to the fact that the fiberglass inside the shingles is too thin and they crack due to heat cold expansion.


Date created: 2011-11-08 Name: Tom G
Location: Austin, Tx
Model: Pinnacle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buy a different Brand"
I am a roofing contractor who has used Atlas Shingles on a few occasions and been on many roofs that have them. Specifically on two occasions the shingles developed noticeable blisters and delaminated. Both roofs had adequate ventilation but Atlas refused to honor their warranty. I have been on many other roofs with the same problem and have noticed they only last about half as long as other brands. I would never again sell an Atlas shingle to one of my customers.



Date created: 2011-02-22 Name: P. Steele
Location: Aiken, SC
Model: Pinnacle Designer

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Atlas Pennicle ARS Archat"
Roofer did an execellent job and shingles look perfect. Roofer must give you 1 covering of shingle wrapping for insurance. We get a discount from State Farm for having this class of shingle. Remember to call your insurance company.


Date created: 2011-02-01 Location: Fort Kent, Maine

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shingle Quality Control"
I have owned my shingles for 5 years now. They are excellent. They keep the rain out and the warmth in. I dislike how easy they fall off my roof however. After every winter I have to pick up around 10 or so shingles. However this could be due to a poor roofing job. I just had to replace my shingles 5 years ago because they were overdue on my 22 year old house. The repairs went swimmingly, taking around a week. I would definitely recommend this brand of shingles to my friends. I would strongly consider buying these shingles again. I like the rustic feel they provide for my lovely home. They have also held up surprisingly well against the harsh weather we experience here in Northern Maine. I don't know if I will ever need to buy a different brand of shingle again. I was extremely pleased with this brand of shingle.


Date created: 2011-01-24 Name: Sheri Chandler
Location: Nebraska

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Owner"
I purchased the storm master shingles after reading that they can withstand 110mph winds. In less than a year of having them put on, several of the tabs did not seal and tore off with the 70-80mph winds that we have. After contacting the company, I had to have a roofer come out and send in two of the shingles--in Oct. January I recieved there letter stating that they could find nothing wrong with the shingles and that they thought they were nailed to high and that caused the shingle not to seal. The roofer is going to come out and check where the shingles were nailed and we will go from there. I purchased these expensive shingles in hopes of not having to worry about the roof for a long time. But I am right back where I started and with a big expense if I have to replace with a different brand. I will repost after the whole mess is settles. January 24,2011


Date created: 2011-01-19 Location: Oakland, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"my shingles keep my head dry in the rainy season."
My family replaced the shingles on our roof ten years ago when we did a major remodel of our home. We have been very satisfied with the quality and how long they have lasted. We live in a wet climate and it rains for the majority of the winter and fall seasons, and through ten years with our shingles we have never had a leaky roof once. The one problem I would say I have with the shingles is the color. When the time comes I would probably buy the same brand of shingles for the house. They have lasted a long time while doing their job effectively, as well as the rain they keep the house warm by letting out almost none of the heat. They help make the house very efficient. The quality is really good and I would by the same brand again when the time comes. Which I expect won't be for a long time.


Date created: 2010-11-15 Location: Morrisville, PA

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A slate look, but with added strength"
Three years ago, we did an overhaul on our roof and installed StormMaster Slate shingles. When we bought our house, the roof was done in real slate shingles, which look great but can be fragile and prone to breaking. When we decided to redo the roof, we chose StormMaster Slate because we wanted to retain the look of slate but didn't want to have to worry about replacing shingles when they were broken by the weather or falling branches. We have also found these shingles to hold up very well in high winds, which we sometimes have in the fall and winter. We have yet to lose a single shingle to the wind! I love the look of these shingles. They're a bit larger than the shingles that were on the roof when we bought our house, which might be part of what makes them so sturdy. We chose to use two colors in combination, which gives a very distinguished, old-world look to the house. I was also impressed by the Lifetime Warranty on the shingles, which means that if we do wind up losing any to weather damage or falling objects, we won't have to spend a lot of money to repair the roof or replace missing shingles. The only "dislike" I have about these shingles was the price. However, roofing is expensive, period, and we didn't want to cut corners on price with the consequence of having to do another major roof job in five years. So, yes, it was expensive, but it was worth it. I would recommend this brand of roofing shingles to friends and family, if I felt they could afford it. This is not budget roofing, as I have previously remarked, but I think anyone who could afford the StormMaster series should seriously look into it.

<< Previous12345