Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Read 137 BP Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 15 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 137 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    26
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    105

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567891011121314Next >>

Date created: 2018-06-04 Name: Sean
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible shingles and warranty"
Shingles started disintegrating after 12 years. Literally disintegrating. Warranty was useless. BP offered an extremely small fraction of the cost of replacement under the condition that you repurchase BP shingles. There is no point with the compensation they were going to provide. Donít buy BP shingles.


Date created: 2018-04-30 Name: Rick
Location: Selkirk, Mb.
Model: Not sure

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Manufacturing Defect"
BP shingles have had a known manufacturing defect that the company will not admit to. Shingles don't properly "tab" themselves down and as a result shingles blow off your roof even at wind speeds that are much lower than their guarantee states is covered by their wind damage warranty. Sometime between 2009 and 2011 there must have been a problem with the production line. I live in a multi unit condo with 29 town house style units. We have never had shingles blown off the roofs of any of our condo units that were built earlier than 2009. Twelve units that were built between 2009 and 2011 are constantly losing shingles during high wind storms.


Date created: 2018-04-24 Name: Jack Ledger
Location: Renfrew, Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP warranty failure"
The long and the short of it... BP offered me $750.00 for shingles and installation on a warranty claim I submitted on 12-year-old shingles that were determined to be defective. That was 52% of what they estimated it would cost to shingle one side of my house. The contractor quoted me $4,250.00 and they were the only BP authorized contractor in my area. My solution is to get another contractor and not claim the $750.00.



Date created: 2018-04-18 Name: Mark McLane
Location: Cornwall PEI
Model: Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not use BP Shingles"
I can't begin to explain the difficulty in dealing with BP over their class action law suit over their faulty product. A ton of paperwork, multiple requests for additional pictures of the condition of the roof, rude people at their call centre, delay after delay. Our shingles lasted less than 12 years and my quote to repair our roof was more than $15,000. BP offered $798! Yes, $798. Please do not buy from this company. I will never use BP product again simply due to the poor handling of my claim and poor customer service.


Date created: 2018-04-17 Name: V. Schentag
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not stand behind their product"
BP provided a lifetime warranty shingle at a premium cost. I had these shingles installed and they started to curl up after only 10 years. BP does not stand behind it's warranty and it took a class action lawsuit to get them to consider some compensation. They don't send anyone out to assess the shingles, they get you to forward all kinds of photographs and documents and take month's to review your claim. I think their objective is to make it so difficult for anyone to pursue a claim that they will just give up. I will never again purchase BP products. Even if they improved their product, you can not trust them to stand behind it.


Date created: 2018-04-12 Name: Mrs. M
Location: Ontario
Model: Tradition

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"SM"
Sent in a claim Nov. 2017. BP organic shingles put on in 2004, then we added an addition to our home in 2006 and put matching shingles. Two to three years ago they started crumbling, curling, so on and so forth. Called today to see why they haven't returned my call. BP said they sent and email in March with the decision of the claims. I received no emails. Then they said they sent another email today. Didn't receive. I had to email them for them to return the email with the attachment decision. They so kindly decided to give me $300. on my 2004 roof and denied my claim for my 2006 roof. Are you kidding me if only I could upload the pictures on this site. I can request to have it reviewed by a third party, however, since they supposedly sent the decision March 9 (not received) I would have to have it submitted in two days to meet the deadline. Then need to get three roofing contractors to give me a quote. Oh, can refile if I have a leak in two years... anybody think I'm going to wait that long. Poor warranty and lack of service.


Date created: 2018-04-09 Name: Jack
Location: WA
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty slow but good"
Had my roof done 12 years ago. Had problems with it being the old organic shingles, which if you read other reviews, you know all organic shingles haven't held up well in our weather. BP took longer than I am used to on warranty but in the end they covered full replacement. I now have the new Mystique 42 and can't be happier with how they look.


Date created: 2018-04-03 Name: J
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP = Bad Product"
I built a New Garage 8 years ago and installed BP 30 Year shingles and thought they would outlast me! Wrong! the roof is s--- the warranty is s--- all I have is a pile of s--- to deal with. do not consider this company as they are as flaky as their


Date created: 2018-03-31 Name: D. Jade
Location: Boise, ID
Model: Mystique 42

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Real homework paid off. Super happy with results."
I don't normally write but after doing my research and seeing so many negative comments that appear misguided or completely unwarranted I wanted to add my experience. First, I listened to my professional roofing installer and got his opinion on all the online feedback, instead of taking the info from "the almighty god google" as fact. My contractor let me know that a lot of complaints about early failures are of products that are no longer made (organic shingles vs the new fiberglass) and that many warranty complaints were likely from people that didn't bother with a full system warranty. He then showed me actual comparisons of warranties, product differences (weight, size, etc.) and pricing. Don't be fooled, ALL standard shingle manufacture warranties are really written to protect the manufacturer, no different than any other product we buy. My research also showed that no manufacturer pays full replacement cost on their standard warranty. I went with BP because I could get their full system warranty that does pays for everything at no additional cost. I love the way it looks on the roof and how quickly it laid flat in cold weather. Bad winter last year had a lot of neighbors fixing roofs and some still haven't flatten since being installed last year. So my advise is to read your warranties, listen to professional advise and ask your roofer if they can install the full system warranty for your own peace of mind.


Date created: 2017-11-27 Name: TUula
Location: Coldwater

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst warranty experience ever"
Donít buy any shingles from BP! If there is a problem with them, they put you through hell to get a little bit of money back! You will spend hours and hours trying to collect the specific information they need and it is never good enough and they always come back looking for something more in the process will take a long time! They always come back with something that wasnít quite the right shape or size or whatever. Stay clear away from this company as their warrantee department wonít be there for you if something goes wrong. The last roofer that redid my BP shingles that had problems said he will never use them as he couldnít believe the types of things they were asking for. I still have no money back from them after I had to replace an entire roof.

1234567891011121314Next >>