Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Read 140 BP Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#13   of 17 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 140 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    26
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    108

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567891011121314Next >>

Date created: 2018-11-08 Name: CINDY
Location: Cobourg, ON
Model: Yukon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy"
Our shingles only 9 years old and have had a leak after 8 and now pebbles coming off and corners turning, Purchased 30 year hoping to get 15 but 9 will be our top. 1/2 the house needs to be replaced.


Date created: 2018-08-30 Name: Mike
Location: North Bay, ON
Model: Mirage Sahara

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very unsatisfied with product"
Purchased Mirage Sahara shingles and had them professionally installed on a new build in 2006. Less than 12 years later and the shingles have completely deteriorated and curled. We now have to have the roof re-shingled.


Date created: 2018-08-02 Name: bob
Model: Rampart

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"No more drifts"
What a joke! You know the way there a slight variances in color on a singled roof. well that's done to prevent the appearance of shading while visiting a friend in northern Quebec I noticed that those variances were not consistent through out the roof. I pointed it out to the owner of the property who then contacted Emco LTD. She sent pictures via e-mail and spent much time on the phone trying to resolve the problem and never received and compensation.



Date created: 2018-06-04 Name: Sean
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible shingles and warranty"
Shingles started disintegrating after 12 years. Literally disintegrating. Warranty was useless. BP offered an extremely small fraction of the cost of replacement under the condition that you repurchase BP shingles. There is no point with the compensation they were going to provide. Donít buy BP shingles.


Date created: 2018-04-30 Name: Rick
Location: Selkirk, Mb.
Model: Not sure

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Manufacturing Defect"
BP shingles have had a known manufacturing defect that the company will not admit to. Shingles don't properly "tab" themselves down and as a result shingles blow off your roof even at wind speeds that are much lower than their guarantee states is covered by their wind damage warranty. Sometime between 2009 and 2011 there must have been a problem with the production line. I live in a multi unit condo with 29 town house style units. We have never had shingles blown off the roofs of any of our condo units that were built earlier than 2009. Twelve units that were built between 2009 and 2011 are constantly losing shingles during high wind storms.


Date created: 2018-04-24 Name: Jack Ledger
Location: Renfrew, Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP warranty failure"
The long and the short of it... BP offered me $750.00 for shingles and installation on a warranty claim I submitted on 12-year-old shingles that were determined to be defective. That was 52% of what they estimated it would cost to shingle one side of my house. The contractor quoted me $4,250.00 and they were the only BP authorized contractor in my area. My solution is to get another contractor and not claim the $750.00.


Date created: 2018-04-18 Name: Mark McLane
Location: Cornwall PEI
Model: Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not use BP Shingles"
I can't begin to explain the difficulty in dealing with BP over their class action law suit over their faulty product. A ton of paperwork, multiple requests for additional pictures of the condition of the roof, rude people at their call centre, delay after delay. Our shingles lasted less than 12 years and my quote to repair our roof was more than $15,000. BP offered $798! Yes, $798. Please do not buy from this company. I will never use BP product again simply due to the poor handling of my claim and poor customer service.


Date created: 2018-04-17 Name: V. Schentag
Location: Winnipeg, MB Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not stand behind their product"
BP provided a lifetime warranty shingle at a premium cost. I had these shingles installed and they started to curl up after only 10 years. BP does not stand behind it's warranty and it took a class action lawsuit to get them to consider some compensation. They don't send anyone out to assess the shingles, they get you to forward all kinds of photographs and documents and take month's to review your claim. I think their objective is to make it so difficult for anyone to pursue a claim that they will just give up. I will never again purchase BP products. Even if they improved their product, you can not trust them to stand behind it.


Date created: 2018-04-12 Name: Mrs. M
Location: Ontario
Model: Tradition

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"SM"
Sent in a claim Nov. 2017. BP organic shingles put on in 2004, then we added an addition to our home in 2006 and put matching shingles. Two to three years ago they started crumbling, curling, so on and so forth. Called today to see why they haven't returned my call. BP said they sent and email in March with the decision of the claims. I received no emails. Then they said they sent another email today. Didn't receive. I had to email them for them to return the email with the attachment decision. They so kindly decided to give me $300. on my 2004 roof and denied my claim for my 2006 roof. Are you kidding me if only I could upload the pictures on this site. I can request to have it reviewed by a third party, however, since they supposedly sent the decision March 9 (not received) I would have to have it submitted in two days to meet the deadline. Then need to get three roofing contractors to give me a quote. Oh, can refile if I have a leak in two years... anybody think I'm going to wait that long. Poor warranty and lack of service.


Date created: 2018-04-09 Name: Jack
Location: WA
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty slow but good"
Had my roof done 12 years ago. Had problems with it being the old organic shingles, which if you read other reviews, you know all organic shingles haven't held up well in our weather. BP took longer than I am used to on warranty but in the end they covered full replacement. I now have the new Mystique 42 and can't be happier with how they look.

1234567891011121314Next >>