Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Read 140 BP Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#13   of 16 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 140 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    26
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    108

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314Next >>

Date created: 2018-04-03 Name: J
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP = Bad Product"
I built a New Garage 8 years ago and installed BP 30 Year shingles and thought they would outlast me! Wrong! the roof is s--- the warranty is s--- all I have is a pile of s--- to deal with. do not consider this company as they are as flaky as their


Date created: 2018-03-31 Name: D. Jade
Location: Boise, ID
Model: Mystique 42

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Real homework paid off. Super happy with results."
I don't normally write but after doing my research and seeing so many negative comments that appear misguided or completely unwarranted I wanted to add my experience. First, I listened to my professional roofing installer and got his opinion on all the online feedback, instead of taking the info from "the almighty god google" as fact. My contractor let me know that a lot of complaints about early failures are of products that are no longer made (organic shingles vs the new fiberglass) and that many warranty complaints were likely from people that didn't bother with a full system warranty. He then showed me actual comparisons of warranties, product differences (weight, size, etc.) and pricing. Don't be fooled, ALL standard shingle manufacture warranties are really written to protect the manufacturer, no different than any other product we buy. My research also showed that no manufacturer pays full replacement cost on their standard warranty. I went with BP because I could get their full system warranty that does pays for everything at no additional cost. I love the way it looks on the roof and how quickly it laid flat in cold weather. Bad winter last year had a lot of neighbors fixing roofs and some still haven't flatten since being installed last year. So my advise is to read your warranties, listen to professional advise and ask your roofer if they can install the full system warranty for your own peace of mind.


Date created: 2017-11-27 Name: TUula
Location: Coldwater

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst warranty experience ever"
Donít buy any shingles from BP! If there is a problem with them, they put you through hell to get a little bit of money back! You will spend hours and hours trying to collect the specific information they need and it is never good enough and they always come back looking for something more in the process will take a long time! They always come back with something that wasnít quite the right shape or size or whatever. Stay clear away from this company as their warrantee department wonít be there for you if something goes wrong. The last roofer that redid my BP shingles that had problems said he will never use them as he couldnít believe the types of things they were asking for. I still have no money back from them after I had to replace an entire roof.



Date created: 2017-10-28 Name: Dave H.
Location: Wainwright, AB

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Warranty is Worthless"
Contacted BP, sent in a bunch of pictures, my roofing contractor filled out tons of paperwork and the contractor and I are still splitting repair costs on our own. BP waited until the claim timed out and continue to offer no customer service


Date created: 2017-09-05 Name: Natasha .C
Location: New Brunswick

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst service and product ever"
30 year shingle warranty needed to be replaced after 8 years. Been fighting with BP to honor their warranty on a crap product. Tried to say paying 7000$ towards a 20,000$ job was fair. 14 months later, they still haven't come good for it.


Date created: 2017-07-21 Name: Bob
Location: Peterborough ON
Model: Everest 42

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst look ever - I'm tearing it out and replacing with Cambridge"
Never seen anything like it. The marketing picture looks great - my roofer (25 years experience) told me he never installs BP for this reason. They are crap.


Date created: 2017-06-29 Name: k. halwa
Location: Leduc Alberta
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware!"
I recently had to deal with BP warranty department for the shingles that I have had on my barn for maybe 2 yrs. The top ridge and a few parts on the side have missing or folded shingles. After taking time to send all of the information and mail shingle samples, their reason for not covering their product was installer error "No Hand Tabbing" I talked to another roofer in my area that roofed my main house with IKO shingles 4 yrs ago and they still look new. He said that is their way of getting out of warranty claim and that is shingles are done correctly "No Hand tabbing should be needed" Just a warning to anyone looking to install BP shingles on their homes, buyer beware chances are low that they will stand behind their product.


Date created: 2017-05-10 Name: C. Nuccio
Location: Saint-Hubert
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Steer away from this manufacturer"
Installed a 25yr warranty shingle. Lasted only 12. Their shingles rot in less than half of their 'so called' warranty and their expiry date. I don't recommend this manufacturer. Read the articles on their company in Montreal Gazette, La facture, Journal de Montreal. Do your research and find a more reliable manufacturer.


Date created: 2017-05-01 Name: June Lynch
Location: Dundas, Ontario
Model: BP Ramparty

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles like burnt toast!"
Realize there is a class action against bp but I am too old to pursue this. I also got "stung" with their products. Had a new roof installed 8 years ago with a 25 year guarantee. My roof is nothing but crumbles - like burnt toast! There are "crumbs" of shingle all over my deck and the rain is coming into my house. What upsets me most is that the roofer has totally washed their hands of this inferior product and told me I have to fight the matter with the manufacturer myself. Learnt a lesson from this - don't believe the roofer even if they come recommended. Next time I will certainly go far more into the guarantees offered by the roofing company because the guarantee from bp was rubbish.


Date created: 2017-04-21 Name: Stan L.
Location: Toronto
Model: Mystique 42

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Weird color, does not lay flat"
Recently I obtained price quotes. Cheapest was for BP mystique 42 which sounded like a cool name. A shingle is a shingle right? Wrong! My roof is so ugly I feel like moving, painting my roof or spending another $5000 to tear it off and start again. Bp 42 Mystique came in charcoal but somehow my charcoal color is a red and green checkerboad. Weird color. Shingles do not lay flat. Bp calls it 3d effect. I call it poor design crappy looking product where shingles curl in corners and are twisted and worn out looking like they dried out and shrunk already. Totally ugly roof! Now I see class action lawsuits, poor customer service, no meaningful warranty, and that bp mystique shinges ladt only a few years, not 10 years and not 30 years! What a disappointment. Not at all like the glossy color brochure!

<< Previous1234567891011121314Next >>