Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Read 140 BP Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#13   of 16 brands of shingles

19% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 140 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    26
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    108

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314Next >>

Date created: 2017-04-17 Name: Alex
Location: Toronto

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Falling apart, granular loss"
There is no way a reputable roofer worth half his salt would post a positive review about BP. I had two extremely well known for their reputation roofing companies take a look at my bp roof, which is 2 years old and decaying and they both said it's an inferior shingle although it's BP's top of the line 30 year shingle. Not only BP is not doing anything about it but they also dragged me through 2 years of e-mail requests for various drawings, plans, pictures, videos, inspections, lost documents before giving me an answer. My roof is only 2 years old, installed by an approved BP roofer, also well known for the quality of his work and is literally falling apart, I have granular loss from the shingles literally raining down my deck when I am eating, in my hot tub, everywhere, all the time, every day for the last two years


Date created: 2017-02-21 Name: MacDonald
Location: VancouverBritish Columbia
Model: Tite On Shingles - 20 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP / Emco Warranty Not Worth the Paper It is Written On"
My 20 year warranty BP Tite-On shingles were installed in May 2002. The west facing shingles and south /south west shingles to a lesser degree degraded over the years (cupping / shedding of the stones on the surface of the shingle) and eventually wholesale degradation of the shingle surface. I participated in the class action suite and my claim was denied twice. The BP product installed on my roof may have had inadequate UV protectant used in the manufacturing process and the underlying surface material appears to be problematic when bonding to the asphalt when exposed to summer heat. In the class action suite I was asked if I wanted to be present during the inspection. I indicated yes. No one from BP presented themselves for an inspection. I would suggest that any person considering purchasing a roofing product from Building Products of Canada Corp (BP) avoid doing so. It also brings into question the honesty and integrity of the parent company (Emco). Why bother having a warranty on your product when the warranty issues are not addressed?


Date created: 2016-10-08 Name: G. Mas
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Model: Everest

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Incredible."
Not quite sure what all the fuss is about!? I have been installing bp shingles for a while now and all of my customers absolutely adore them. They look amazing and they are easy to install. I have never had one complaint or have had to come back for any issue at all. In my humble opinion, most of these complaints are fake and posted by folks who are fans of other brands or work for other brand's companies. That would be the only explanation for this type of vitriol against a good company. Other contractors in the area also swear by bp so I know its not only myself. Just thought I would give my two cents. Cheers~



Date created: 2016-09-25 Name: Stephen
Location: Edmonton AB
Model: Mystique

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No better, No worse"
We have been installing BP Mystique shingles for 3 years. We have installed 300 plus BP Mystique roofs. I know it's a little too soon to tell, but so far we have not had one blow off. I would know as I'm the roofing manager at our company. The fact is that every company has a bad year. The same goes for IKO and all other companies with the exception of Malarkey. I have had issues with Malarkey but they were minor. For all of you who think your 25 year 3 tab asphalt shingles should be 100% covered for 25 years, get a life and then get informed. The truth is, all shingles are a gamble, BP is way better for warranty then IKO as IKO has yet to give anyone anything. GAF is just plain garbage but you will have to wait 8 years to see it. IKO and BP have been manufacturing shingles for the Canadian climate for longer then any of you readers have been around. You want to buy an American product that has not been around for a long time, go ahead. We will continue to support Canadian made product for Canadian weather.


Date created: 2016-09-24 Name: K
Location: Alberta

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Class Action Lawsuit"
Imho and from my customer experience. For years, this company sold shingles that had already proven defective. There is a class action settlement which isn't great for the consumer.... I have two letters from the company saying shingles were fine while I now believe they being sued for defective shingles. I question those business ethics.


Date created: 2016-09-21 Name: M. Pilipishen
Location: Vermilion Bay, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Good to read all these reviews"
Our shingles have been on the roof since the summer of 2004. My husband had been noticing loss of particles and curling of the shingles the past two years. When he inquired at the place they were purchased, he was told that they won't even sell those types of shingles anymore because of the complaints about them. We were advised to contact BP ourselves and try to get compensation for the shingles. As mentioned in another review, it was an absolute joke dealing with BP. Fortunately we only had to send our information in six times, not 15! Today we received an email from them stating that because no damage has been caused as yet - I.E. the roof hasn't leaked - our claim has been denied! Nice to hear of a company that stands behind their product! We have to wait until our house and possibly possessions have been damaged in order to make a claim. This is ridiculous!


Date created: 2016-09-15 Name: C. Clearly
Location: Ontario
Model: All New Product

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Place Reviews Into Context"
For all homeowners and potential BP customers, please consider the following: BP Canada settled its class action lawsuit. All reviews pertaining to ORGANIC shingles, such as RAMPART, CITADEL, and ECLIPSE should be placed into proper context, as BP has set up a process to deal with these claims (unlike many of the other manufacturers). You can review the process or submit an ORGANIC shingle claim by visiting www.bpshinglesettlement.com Should you wish to reach a local BP sales / customer care representative, you can call Customer Service at 1-800-268-5927 and ask to be directed to the most appropriate person in your region. All new BP product, such as Everest 42 and Mystique 42, are FIBERGLASS shingles which are not subject to the ORGANIC Shingle Settlement. The quality and durability of these products are drastically higher than the older product. Note that most of the positive reviews pertain to newer product, as there is a massive difference between old and new. BP has taken the time and made the investment to redevelop its product, improve its warranty structure, and offer a fair level of compensation / support for old warranty claims. Remember, it's Made in Canada and offers very strong, patented dual sealant bands to significantly reduce the chances of wind damage to the product.


Date created: 2016-08-10 Name: Anonymous

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Customer Service Ever!"
Now you have to understand that with shingles they will not last you more than 15 years. This company is quick to take your money, and slow to act on their warranty. These Shingles have a warranty of 25 years, our shingles are no more than 14 years old. For the past two years we have been trying to get bp shingles to cover the damage through their warranty. We have emailed them pictures over 15 times. This is not an exaggeration. Their office is located in Montreal, so emailing them pictures of the damage is the fastest way to send them the photos. Not only did they say we have to specify and label each picture (mind you we have taken over 30), we also cannot attach more than two or three photos for every email we send them.By mail we have sent the photos as well and they still have been making up excuses. We have done everything they have asked us to do but they continue to feed us a bullshit as to why they haven't closed our file and covered the damages. Worst company ever. I highly recommend going with someone else.


Date created: 2016-07-05 Name: Keith
Location: Ontario Canada
Model: Rampart 25 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Complete junk, do not buy them"
Be it a bad product or purposeful strategy, the amount of money that Emco - BP made by selling shingles that did not last even half of the warranty period would be simply staggering. The class action law suit brought against them and the minuscule amount they have paid out under it is just pocket change compared to the hundreds of millions made by effectively doubling sales of this defective product. Many people have reported that the 30 yr old shingles they removed were in better shape than the Emco - BP shingles after 8 to 10 yrs. This was also my experience. I bought mine at Home Depot(Rampart 25yr in Emco packaging).They were installed in 2006 and by the winter of 2015 they had completely and utterly disintegrated over the entire roof causing multiple leaks. I noted within days of installing them that with every rain my eave-troughs would fill with the sand that washed off them. Truth is I should have clued in about the extremely poor quality when I noted the shingles shedding great amounts of sand straight out of the bundles as they were opened. Look elsewhere for your shingles, there are much better products and don't be fooled by the companies damage control and shills who are flooding the internet with positive reviews. Truth is, in the BP - Emco 25yr and under warranty class shingles, no happy customers could "possibly" exist. Class lawsuits and thousands upon thousands of angry customers shouldn't be ignored or forgotten when considering your next roof.


Date created: 2016-06-30 Name: L. Heilig
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Model: Everest 42

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I swore that I would not do BP again, but I did."
This brief text is to correct the typo in the title of my review of June 27, 2016 which I am unable to have edited. I will also add that some of the problems that drove owners of previous generation BP organic three tab shingles to file a class action suit should disappear with the latest generation of fiberglass laminated 3D shingles. Classic shingles, with their 3 tab, perfectly flat look showed off their deterioration with age very easily. The new generation without tabs has one third the number of corners to curl and the laminations partly stiffen the shingles at the corners to reduce this curling effect. The best BP shingle made in 1995 (30 year warranty) was 0.15" thick. The near top of the line BP shingle available in 2016 (40 year warranty) is 0.1" thick where there is a single lamination and 0.2" thick where there is a double lamination. The 1" narrow nailing strip is a double lamination throughout and is also 0.2" thick, which means that all nails go through the thickest part of the shingle. The exposed part of any shingle has the greatest chance over time of detaching from the unexposed part. With a thicker nailing strip, and two lines of glue on the BP laminated shingle, this exposed part has less chance of pulling away even if it cracks. While these shingles may appear to wear as they age, as long as the unexposed part of the shingle remains intact, then the underlayment can go on protecting against water infiltration.

<< Previous1234567891011121314Next >>