Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 104 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 18 brands of shingles

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 104 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    75

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2019-08-23 Name: Joe Vendor
Location: Vancouver Wa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Good Product / Garbage Service"
As a Vendor of their products, Good Products overall, However doing business with them, is Garbage, shingle Rep is as arrogant as they come. Certainteed's new Email to schedule a appointment for pick up.. They are so disconnected with us, the vendors and you the homeowners its sad really. I would rather sell Malarkey.


Date created: 2019-05-23 Name: chas
Location: new jersey
Model: horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed= Junk"
Shingles that never sealed, stones washing off filling guttras total crap shingle!


Date created: 2019-03-01 Name: Kay Rice
Location: Orlando, FL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed sells inferior products and doesn't honor their warranty"
The newer CertainTeed Landmark shingles are of poor quality. We had a new roof installed two years ago and already have most of the shingles flying in light wind because the adhesive strips are defective which doesn't allow the shingles to adhere to each other. CertainTeed does not give a flip. They will give you the run around asking for shingle samples and delaying as long as possible until you either give up or your warranty expires. Check all of the reviews and you'll see that there have been numerous complaints of poor shingle adhesion and granular shedding. If you get more than 10 years on a 30 year CertainTeed Landmark roof, then you are one of the lucky ones. Someone needs to sue the pants off this company until they learn to have some integrity and stand behind their product.



Date created: 2018-09-30 Name: Dillon Vautrin
Location: Pulaski, NY
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No Problems"
I have put these on two of my homes and a few homes for other people. The shingles arrived in good shape. Went on as expected and I have had no problems. It has been approximately ten years now since the shingles were installed on the first home which is now an apartment and they have been holding up well. No blow offs or defects. Of course I put them on to the manufacturers directions and in the summer so they glued down fast. This always helps.


Date created: 2018-08-24 Name: Martin
Location: Utah

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not use Certainteed"
If I could rate this company a zero I would. Our 3 year old house has shingles that are not sealed and are blowing off every time the wind blows. After going through their absolutely ridiculous claim process I get a letter saying that no manufacturer defect has been found. My shingles are flopping around in the wind after 3 years! This company is crooked and will do nothing for you even though their product is terrible. Do not buy from them!


Date created: 2018-08-15 Name: Bill Whalen
Location: New York
Model: Heather

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles have been falling of my house for the last 5 years"
New CertainTeed shingles were installed on my house in 2009. Defective shingles have been literally falling off the roof for the last 4 years. CertainTeed denied my claim saying it only covers 1st 5 years only. Very disappointed


Date created: 2018-07-22 Name: Ben
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very nice"
Very good shingles and good color selection.


Date created: 2018-07-14 Name: Bonnie
Location: Reno, NV
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy this product"
New roof installed in 2013 - have had seven roof failures in six years. The Warranty department at Certainteed jacks you around for 6 to 8 months before even approving your claim then takes 2 more months to write you a reimbursement check. The Landmark product is defective. Do not buy. Junk company.


Date created: 2018-07-14 Name: Jeanne
Location: Canton, Ohio
Model: XT25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk shingles from day 1 and worse customer service"
These shingles were chosen by our builder and were so bad that when we heard a storm was approaching, we knew we'd have to call a roofer for shingle blow off. Finally, after years of this and losing sleep over it - we hired a roofer to get on the roof with roof cement and lift up on each of our shingles and cement those that were loose. This house is only 1600 sq ft and our roofer had to use 18!!! tubes of roof cement on just the side facing West. We paid a roofer to remove one of the shingles and submit it to Certainteed for warranty. That was a joke. They wrote back telling us that the shingles were without any defects. They were flopping in the wind and not adhered, and that was OK? We heard that the year these were made, 1998, Certainteed had issues with the adhesive on them. Now, we are re-roofing because these shingles are stained and 20 years old. Our contractor suggested that we use Certainteed again. Oh heck no! They will never get another dime of our hard earned money.


Date created: 2018-05-25 Name: Cynthia Stott
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Known Defective Shingles"
We bought our home as it was nearing completion. Obviously Certainteed has no shame for the terrible reviews it receives. Eight years in our new house and the shingles began deteriorating badly. Filed a claim for warranty but were denied because they said we were the "third" owners after the builder and the bank. What a crock. We are the only ones to ever occupy our home but will have to spend 30K dollars replacing our roof. This was a 30 year roof gone bad in 8 years. Also, a Certainteed rep told us there was a bad batch of shingles produced at the Portland plant. This is where our shingles would have come from. They have zero interest in making this right. Loopholes or not, it is bad business. They have our phone number if they want to call and make it right.

1234567891011Next >>