Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 95 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 15 brands of shingles

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 95 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    17
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    68

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2018-05-25 Name: Cynthia Stott
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Known Defective Shingles"
We bought our home as it was nearing completion. Obviously Certainteed has no shame for the terrible reviews it receives. Eight years in our new house and the shingles began deteriorating badly. Filed a claim for warranty but were denied because they said we were the "third" owners after the builder and the bank. What a crock. We are the only ones to ever occupy our home but will have to spend 30K dollars replacing our roof. This was a 30 year roof gone bad in 8 years. Also, a Certainteed rep told us there was a bad batch of shingles produced at the Portland plant. This is where our shingles would have come from. They have zero interest in making this right. Loopholes or not, it is bad business. They have our phone number if they want to call and make it right.


Date created: 2018-05-07 Name: Susan Knoll
Location: Elk Grove Village

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shysters"
I had a new roof installed in 2004. In 2017, my area was hit with a bad hail storm and many neighbors endured damage to their homes and roofs as a result. A contractor told me I had roof damage, but when the insurance company came out to inspect with the contractor, they determined that the damage was due to a manufacturer defect instead of hail, because the damage was apparent on the same corner of each damaged shingle. Therefore, I pursued a claim with my roofer, Regal Roofing in Illinois, because my roof supposedly came with a 30 year warranty. After waiting 2 months for CertainTeed to reply, they made the ruling that my warranty had expired due to a property transfer. In 2011, I put my home into a living trust for financial protection. They jumped on this loophole and decided that this caused a property transfer and voided my warranty, even though I am the same person who has lived in this house 32 years and am the same person who purchased the new roof in 2004. It disgusts me that they would operate their business in this manner, looking for any loophole to get out of making good on a crap product they sell. Don't ever use regal roofing or CertainTeed shingles!


Date created: 2018-05-07 Name: Deana Solaiman
Location: Dublin, OH
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pathetic Shingles - Stay Away"
We just bought our house - only 14 years old. It has CertainTeed Landmark Shingles in it. They are worn downand pathetic! When I wrote the company to let them know, their only reply was that if you aren't the first owner or subsequent owner of the house, the warranty is no longer valid. That's they "lifetime guarantee". Wouldn't come close to a house with pathetic service and shingles like that again! Stay away! We'll devalue your house! Had to buy a whole new roof!



Date created: 2018-05-04 Name: Don Auburger
Location: Springfield, Colorado
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed Land mark Junk"
Installed in 2014, and in 2015 we had to replace a couple squares due we thought to wind. Turns out there is no adhesive to get the shingles to stick down when the weather warms up. In 2018 again we had to replace more shingles. The roofers told me 85% were lose No Adhesive. Had T-locks that lasted 30 years and now have a four year old roof that is worse than the one I had. CertainTeed has a poor quality product that we know and no quality control whatsoever. Just junk and everyone can see it that drives by. They have a quality control problem why not address it so its corrected. Put some Adhesive strips on and make sure there clean.


Date created: 2018-04-17 Name: Lisa C
Location: Sorrento, Fl
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warning Do not use Certainteed Shingles."
After the last storm rolled through our area in September of 2017. I had call my insurance company out to look at a leak that happened in the storm. Storm winds did not exceed 70mph in this area. The roof had just been replaced 3 years ago. Insurance company came out to look at the leak and informed in their inspection that the shingles had failed and I needed a new roof. I have lived in this area for almost 30 years and have been through many storms and never had a leak. After having an inspector look at the roof as well, he informed me of the same as the ins company and that there was no adhesive on the tabs of the shingles and the next storm I will have blow off. Do not purchase these shingles. Roofers have told me that they have had to replace other roofs in the area with the same problem and they no longer will use Certainteed shingles for their jobs. I am now in litigation.


Date created: 2018-04-09 Name: L.Lang
Location: Pasco was.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed warranty is worthless."
I had a new home built by well known contractor after 9 years shingles have granular lost and need replaced. After submitting claim and providing all the correct pictures and information I was declined by certainteed because I had a decided to have a living trust made which changed the title of my home. Certainteed says more than two title changes voids the warranty even though I'm the original owner. This is their way of getting out of replacing shingles that are under warranty. So be warned don't purchase their products.


Date created: 2018-03-23 Name: Ed owens
Location: Lancaster Va
Model: 40 year Presidential

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Owens"
13 years ago I had 40 year CertainTeed AR shingles placed on my new built home. Horrible customer service. Horrible quality as my insurance agent came out after 40 mile an hour storm and said my shingles not only did not meet the 80 mile per hour rating but the shingles were brittle and very dry. Cracking and breaking were constant after 10 years. You think you are getting better quality on 40 years but it's not true. If you have this company make sure you buy many back up bundles in case they discontinue the shingle Luke they did mine after 10 years. Do not buy this company. My roofers that did the estimate said to stay away from this companies products. Ed Owens homeowner. Call me and I can tell you the horror story that's costing me 15,000 after 13 years.


Date created: 2017-11-19 Name: T. CALVI
Location: Linwood, NJ
Model: Hatteras

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Non existent customer service/bad product"
Within a few years of the new roof installed shingles blew off whenever we experienced a strong wind. The first 2 times we blamed it on a fluke. The roof is guaranteed for 110mph wind, which we have never experienced, yet shingles continue to come off. The roof was installed during new construction by a reputable contractor who had been in business 50+ years. The only thing certain about Certainteed is poor customer service, they do not stand behind products, and complete run arounds. Maybe my husband has been to much of a gentleman when dealing with various reps and the presidentís secretary because no one has been responsive. Unless you want grief, my recommendation is to use a different manufacturer.


Date created: 2017-11-15 Name: John Burnett
Location: Owasso, Ok
Model: Landmark 30 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless fiberglass shingles"
New house 2005. Builder used CertainTeed landmark 30 year fiberglass shingles. 12 years later we have experienced advanced granular loss. CertainTeed only offered $923 on our warranty claim. Their shingles and warranty is a piece of crap. It is a shame that they are allowed to do this to people. Buy CertainTeed at you own risk. They do not stand by their product. I now understand why. Now I have to pay lots of $$$$ to replace our roof in not even 1/2 the life of the shingle.


Date created: 2017-11-13 Name: Chris Christensen
Location: Suffolk, VA
Model: Landmark AR (algea resistent)

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not truly algae resistent - Waste of money"
Had 50 squares (5000 sq ft of shingles installed) after removing cheap algae stained 20 year shingles. Purchased Landmark AR (30 yr architectural designed shingles), Atlantic Blue (94711). After 9 years they look like cheap 20 year algae stained shingles. Total rip off. If you pay to have someone remove a stained entire shingle (difficult to do) and then follow all of the ridiculous instructions of making a large box to ship it in with a series of pictures and original invoices, you may get a check for a 100 or 200 dollars. Truly pathetic - I will pay some guy to clean the shingles, probably using a copper sulfate formula that will kill algae, and warn others about Certain Teed's inferior shingles. Didn't do previous research first, but trusted a roofing contractor to pick the best - Now That was a BIG mistake.

12345678910Next >>