Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 99 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 16 brands of shingles

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 99 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    71

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2018-08-15 Name: Bill Whalen
Location: New York
Model: Heather

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles have been falling of my house for the last 5 years"
New CertainTeed shingles were installed on my house in 2009. Defective shingles have been literally falling off the roof for the last 4 years. CertainTeed denied my claim saying it only covers 1st 5 years only. Very disappointed


Date created: 2018-07-22 Name: Ben
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very nice"
Very good shingles and good color selection.


Date created: 2018-07-14 Name: Bonnie
Location: Reno, NV
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy this product"
New roof installed in 2013 - have had seven roof failures in six years. The Warranty department at Certainteed jacks you around for 6 to 8 months before even approving your claim then takes 2 more months to write you a reimbursement check. The Landmark product is defective. Do not buy. Junk company.



Date created: 2018-07-14 Name: Jeanne
Location: Canton, Ohio
Model: XT25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk shingles from day 1 and worse customer service"
These shingles were chosen by our builder and were so bad that when we heard a storm was approaching, we knew we'd have to call a roofer for shingle blow off. Finally, after years of this and losing sleep over it - we hired a roofer to get on the roof with roof cement and lift up on each of our shingles and cement those that were loose. This house is only 1600 sq ft and our roofer had to use 18!!! tubes of roof cement on just the side facing West. We paid a roofer to remove one of the shingles and submit it to Certainteed for warranty. That was a joke. They wrote back telling us that the shingles were without any defects. They were flopping in the wind and not adhered, and that was OK? We heard that the year these were made, 1998, Certainteed had issues with the adhesive on them. Now, we are re-roofing because these shingles are stained and 20 years old. Our contractor suggested that we use Certainteed again. Oh heck no! They will never get another dime of our hard earned money.


Date created: 2018-05-25 Name: Cynthia Stott
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Known Defective Shingles"
We bought our home as it was nearing completion. Obviously Certainteed has no shame for the terrible reviews it receives. Eight years in our new house and the shingles began deteriorating badly. Filed a claim for warranty but were denied because they said we were the "third" owners after the builder and the bank. What a crock. We are the only ones to ever occupy our home but will have to spend 30K dollars replacing our roof. This was a 30 year roof gone bad in 8 years. Also, a Certainteed rep told us there was a bad batch of shingles produced at the Portland plant. This is where our shingles would have come from. They have zero interest in making this right. Loopholes or not, it is bad business. They have our phone number if they want to call and make it right.


Date created: 2018-05-07 Name: Deana Solaiman
Location: Dublin, OH
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pathetic Shingles - Stay Away"
We just bought our house - only 14 years old. It has CertainTeed Landmark Shingles in it. They are worn downand pathetic! When I wrote the company to let them know, their only reply was that if you aren't the first owner or subsequent owner of the house, the warranty is no longer valid. That's they "lifetime guarantee". Wouldn't come close to a house with pathetic service and shingles like that again! Stay away! We'll devalue your house! Had to buy a whole new roof!


Date created: 2018-05-07 Name: Susan Knoll
Location: Elk Grove Village

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shysters"
I had a new roof installed in 2004. In 2017, my area was hit with a bad hail storm and many neighbors endured damage to their homes and roofs as a result. A contractor told me I had roof damage, but when the insurance company came out to inspect with the contractor, they determined that the damage was due to a manufacturer defect instead of hail, because the damage was apparent on the same corner of each damaged shingle. Therefore, I pursued a claim with my roofer, Regal Roofing in Illinois, because my roof supposedly came with a 30 year warranty. After waiting 2 months for CertainTeed to reply, they made the ruling that my warranty had expired due to a property transfer. In 2011, I put my home into a living trust for financial protection. They jumped on this loophole and decided that this caused a property transfer and voided my warranty, even though I am the same person who has lived in this house 32 years and am the same person who purchased the new roof in 2004. It disgusts me that they would operate their business in this manner, looking for any loophole to get out of making good on a crap product they sell. Don't ever use regal roofing or CertainTeed shingles!


Date created: 2018-05-04 Name: Don Auburger
Location: Springfield, Colorado
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed Land mark Junk"
Installed in 2014, and in 2015 we had to replace a couple squares due we thought to wind. Turns out there is no adhesive to get the shingles to stick down when the weather warms up. In 2018 again we had to replace more shingles. The roofers told me 85% were lose No Adhesive. Had T-locks that lasted 30 years and now have a four year old roof that is worse than the one I had. CertainTeed has a poor quality product that we know and no quality control whatsoever. Just junk and everyone can see it that drives by. They have a quality control problem why not address it so its corrected. Put some Adhesive strips on and make sure there clean.


Date created: 2018-04-17 Name: Lisa C
Location: Sorrento, Fl
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warning Do not use Certainteed Shingles."
After the last storm rolled through our area in September of 2017. I had call my insurance company out to look at a leak that happened in the storm. Storm winds did not exceed 70mph in this area. The roof had just been replaced 3 years ago. Insurance company came out to look at the leak and informed in their inspection that the shingles had failed and I needed a new roof. I have lived in this area for almost 30 years and have been through many storms and never had a leak. After having an inspector look at the roof as well, he informed me of the same as the ins company and that there was no adhesive on the tabs of the shingles and the next storm I will have blow off. Do not purchase these shingles. Roofers have told me that they have had to replace other roofs in the area with the same problem and they no longer will use Certainteed shingles for their jobs. I am now in litigation.


Date created: 2018-04-09 Name: L.Lang
Location: Pasco was.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed warranty is worthless."
I had a new home built by well known contractor after 9 years shingles have granular lost and need replaced. After submitting claim and providing all the correct pictures and information I was declined by certainteed because I had a decided to have a living trust made which changed the title of my home. Certainteed says more than two title changes voids the warranty even though I'm the original owner. This is their way of getting out of replacing shingles that are under warranty. So be warned don't purchase their products.

12345678910Next >>