Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 101 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 16 brands of shingles

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 101 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    72

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2017-09-01 Name: Linda Norce
Location: Carmichael

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Coo Roof"
Im very dissatisfied with CertainTeed roofing product and customer service. I received notification today CertainTeed made an error on reviewing the shingles I sent to company. NowCertainteed stated the original decision to replace the shingles was based on someone else's shingle. The lab made a mistake. Really! First I was sent an agreement to sign for replacing the roof, and today CertainTeed withdrew their offer. How can they do that? I did what I was suppose to do; CertainTeed agreed to replace the roof, and now CertainTeed is withdrawing their offer! What a company! Very poor customer service. Any suggestion on solving the situation is greatly appreciated, Buyer Beware. Please let me know if any of you have had similiar Situation. And any ideas to deal with CertainTeed. Thank You, Linda Norce


Date created: 2017-08-22 Name: Linda N
Location: Carmichael, CA
Model: Landmark Cool roof

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Unhappy with Certainteed"
Put a CertainTeed Landmark Cool Roof with 30 year warranty on in 2010. The first year, the granules came off. CertainTeed said the product was defective and replaced the roof at their expense. In 2013, the roof started losing its granules again. Sent in sample shingles 2 times, again CertainTeed agreed to replace the shingles. The offer was made with a 5 year depreciation. Now, CertainTeed is giving me the run around. I have documents stating the product was defective. I called CertainTeed today, 8.22.2017. They now have to research my claim. Really! Terrible customer service. If any one is starting a class action suit against the company, I would like to be part of it. I have all the documents showing they will replace the shingles and send x amount to cover some of the cost. Now they cant find the info Frustrated


Date created: 2017-07-16 Name: Steve K
Location: Baldwin, KS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Landmark Special IR Adhesive Failure"
Built our new home in 2009. Shingles were properly installed and looked good. Unfortunately, we have experienced rain and wind storms in these last few years that have pealed off small to large areas of shingles. We've had fourteen instances so far of adhesion failure starting along the butt end of the shingle and eventually advancing along the full front allowing the wind to lift the shingles and tear them off the roof during the storm. Typically, the damaged areas are as few as 2-3 shingles up to larger areas of 30 plus. If anyone knows of a lawsuit against Certainteed regarding this issue, please let me know, it is apparent through this forum that their company and representatives will not stand behind this product.



Date created: 2017-07-14 Name: Robert & Robin Tiek
Location: Middlesex, NC
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingle Failure"
After a hail storm last year we had our insurance company look at our roof for possible damage. They said we didn't have hail damage but "shingle failure." We didn't believe them. Why would our 30 year warranted shingles be failing after only 13 years? After a building inspector and roofing contractor looked at our roof and all agreed it was shingle failure we contacted CertainTeed. They required original receipts, proof that we owned the home at the time the shingles were installed, pictures, shingle samples AND we sent a bag full of asphalt granules that have filled our rain gutters. Their verdict? A settlement for $877.00! If anyone has started a class action lawsuit against this company we would be interested in joining. We will never buy CertainTeed shingles again and will warn everyone we know against buying them for their home.


Date created: 2017-07-05 Name: Jake Z.
Location: Wyoming
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Haven't been good from the beginning"
Built our home in 2008 and have problems ever since with our shingles. Had over 1/4 of our roof blow off in the windstorm last week, so off they come. Can't wait to try another manufacturer. Will never use this brand of shingles again.


Date created: 2017-07-04 Name: C. Rutter
Location: Loveland, OH
Model: Certainteed Landmark Pro

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granules Everywhere"
Our roof is only 5 years old. I noticed about a month ago, that during a rain storm, water was gushing up from the foundation tiles, heaving up literally pounds of roof granules. This is the 5th home we have owned, and no roof has ever lost granules to this extent. Has anyone had a similar experience. I have a feeling that the cost of resolving the clogged foundation drainage pipes might exceed the cost of the shingles.


Date created: 2017-05-10 Name: Tony H.
Location: Florida
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst customer service and product ever"
I purchased the "higher end" CertainTeed Landmark shingles on my million dollar home after they were recommended by my GC when we built the house in 2014. October of 2016 we have a hurricane come through in FL and I had a lot of shingle damage. The damage was on three sides of my house and none of the houses around me had damage (more than a shingle or two). Had the company rep out to my house with my GC and he said that the wind loads were well within limits and based on that, the fact that no other roofs had damage and that there was damage on multipule sides of my roof, I should send him an estimate to replace the roof. Since time, it's been nothing but a nightmare dealing with these people. After three months of "reviewing" my shingles they offered me 1850.00 to repair my roof and have somebody lift the other shingles and re-glue the ones that needed it. I got two estimates to have that done and it was 9k. The CertainTeed office rep told me that was outrageous and it should not cost that much. Now we are six months after the fact and they finally sent a roofer of their choosing out to my house. I have asked them for his assessment and estimate and they will not provide it to me. I have been battling them for seven months to date with no resolution and no repairs to my roof. Two roofers said they would ask for a new roof if it was their customer. They have not returned calls or flat out lied to me and not gotten back to me many, many times. I have over 25 contacts with them that were initiated by me and still no response. I am contacting all of the news channels that I can and starting litigation at this point. Do not purchase these shingles.


Date created: 2017-04-21 Name: Andrew Craner
Location: UTAH
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Blow off every year"
After seven years of patching the roof on a brand new house, I'm stripping down to the osb, and starting from scratch, I'm tried of leaks in my house when these shingles blow off year after year. The shingle actually separates from the tar they put on at the factory. Will never buy again, and I'm here to get the word out.


Date created: 2017-04-09 Name: John duty
Location: Eastern Maryland
Model: Blue horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I have 7 building with your crappy product"
I have 7 properties with the same roof material from certainteed. 2004 ish they where installed by 3 different roofing companies and I am sure they all didn't install them wrong. I am tired of repair them every year. I ran out of all my extras and can no longer buy new. I try to get some help and just got the run around. I will Put on 6 new roofs this week and will be using another product. Hope they go the hell out of business


Date created: 2016-11-25 Name: robert ransom
Location: williamsport indiana 47993

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Granular loss and cracking"
I purchased a new American home in 2001, this year started losing shingles, during the inspection 90 percent of my granulars are missing, contacted 2 roofer companies to tell me what to do, both said roof is gone. These are Certainteed shingles what should I do. Need advice. Please help

<< Previous1234567891011Next >>