Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 100 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 16 brands of shingles

24% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 100 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    18
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    72

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2012-09-08 Name: Minnesota
Location: Jordan,MN
Model: Classic Horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Certainteed shingles"
We built our house in 2002 installed Certainteed shingles but after 9 1/2 years had to replace the hold roof (shingles) did get $2,300 from warranty but the new roof was $10,000 my builder at the time said they were good shingles everyone is using them I should get 25 years out of them. Right!


Date created: 2012-08-24 Name: Nick Zimmerman
Location: Eau Claire WI
Model: XT25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They don't stand behind their product"
Awful company. Talk about not standing behind your product. I have 25 year shingles that looked terrible in year 5. I could barely keep them together to send them in for the warranty. But just like many people I've talked to they won't stand behind their product. I am sure others love their CertainTeed shingles and have no problems. Just know that if anything goes wrong the warranty is worthless and your S.O.L.


Date created: 2012-07-30 Name: Randy
Location: Alexandria MN
Model: Hearthstead

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home owner"
Bought these Hearthstead by Certainteed in "2000" There is nothing left of them all the mineral or grit is in the gutter. Warranty forget it unless you have a great lawyer and lots of money. There was a class action suit against certainteed which took a team of lawyers two years to get money out of them and the amount of money we got was peanuts. The lawyers got all the money. And get this, Certainteed still say's there was nothing wrong with the shingles. The grit was 50% gone in 5 years. Shingles cureled up and are extremely brittle. Couldn't hardly get two shingle off in one piece to send in for warranty. Had to remove several shingles to get two that would even hold together. Warranty is worthless. Going with differant brand.



Date created: 2012-06-29 Location: Pembroke pines, fl
Model: Grand manor

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Sustainable roofing shingles"
I've owned these new shingles for about 2yrs now. The color grey we chose went great with our current house color. We also liked the randomly placed tabs that have shadow lines that provide the amazing depth and dimension of a natural slate roof. The thing I disliked the most was the price including the warranty. I was hoping to have money left over for extra shutters. Yes I would buy these shingles again since we have a great warranty and haven't expeienced a problem yet.


Date created: 2012-05-17 Location: Belton, TX
Model: 95513

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very Satisfied With Roofing Shingles That Were Put On My House Last Winter- No Problems"
My wife and I live in Texas and we needed to reshingle our roof because of the severe weather that swept through. We have had these shingles since last winter. There was some hail damage and large pieces missing so we decided to shop around and found these shingles at LOWES. I was happy with the quality for the price (about 50 bucks per bundle) and the fresh look it gave the house was awesome. We went with the dark grey color, but they had a bunch to pick from. We have had no problems and have not needed to repair it yet, but as I said, we live in Texas so we will probably need to at some point in the future.


Date created: 2012-04-10 Location: Hope Mills, NC
Model: Weathered Wood 3 Tab shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed from Lowe's 3 Tab"
These shingles represent a fine value, especially when you get them at discount. Yes they dont look as nice as the laminated shingles, but for a solid basic roof they do fine. Out of about 24 squares of shingles, I found a bundle and a half with defects(folded under corners, or damaged spots) and the local Lowe's had no issue with replacing them. The manufacturer not only has easy to comprehend instructions on the back of the package, but several Youtube videos posted that show not only how to install the shingles, but tips for installing additional underlayment products that extend the life of your new roof. I would not hesitate to install these shingles again in the future.


Date created: 2012-02-20 Location: Lansing, MI
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Money well spent"
I have owned Certainteed Landmark 25 shingles for over ten years. The cedar shake design of the dimensional shingle looks great on my house and garage. I was disappointed to learn that shortly after I purchased my roof, the same brand introduced a shingle with a longer manufacturer warranty. I had my shingles applied by a qualified builder, with the only repair work done covered by the builder's warranty after heavy winds. A few rows of shingles had been bent up and back by the wind, leaving some creases and slight tears. This was done shortly after completion of the job. I am not positive but I believe it takes a short time for the roof to seal, and this may have led to the repair being made. I have yet to even have to test the manufacturer warranty, but it would be fine with me if I never had to. I would buy this product again and would recommend it to my family and friend


Date created: 2012-02-20 Location: Nashville, TN
Model: Unknown

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shingles that last!!"
I have owned this home for 10 plus years, and the shingles were installed 10 years before that. They have worn well, no leaks, even though we have tornado like winds and rain each spring. I also regularly walk on the shingles each fall, they do not dislodge. My only complaint is that they are becoming a musty gray color with the years. I will certainly replace them with the same shingles, after we do some planned add-on construction. But I want the soame kind of shingle. These are superb.


Date created: 2012-02-07 Location: Melbourne, Fl
Model: Flintlastic

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The shingles used on our house are sturdy and reliable."
The CertainTeed Flintlastic shingles we have installed on our home are very reliable and sustainable shingles. We have not had to replace them in the last year, and considering that we live in Brevard Co, Fl., this is a pretty amazing feat. With all of the hurricanes that come through the area usually some amount of shingles would need replaced yearly, if not more than yearly. Not only have they held up with the hurricane force winds and rains that come through our area but they also have not seemed to fade in color or show a large amount of use or wear and tear over the amount of time that we have been living in the home. Their color has remained intact and unlike other shingles, they have seemed to last through the weather. Although we haven't had a problem with the shingles, I have read many reviews stating that CertainTeed will not last the 25 years that the company gaurantees. At this point I would give the CertainTeed shingles a 4 out of 5 rating, but we will see if they show such promising strength and wear in the years to come.


Date created: 2012-01-26 Location: Holland, MI
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed is good"
I've had CertainTeed Landmark shingles for about two years now. I chose the driftwood pattern because it most matched the siding color of my house. I've received numerous comments on how wonderful my roof looks. I have nothing but good things to say about CertainTeed. My previous roof's shingles started blowing off of my house within the first few years they were installed. This caused numerous leaks in my house and expensive repairs. Since I've had the CertainTeed shingles installed I have not noticed any shingles being blown off of my roof. There has also not been a single leak in my house since I had the new roof installed and I have not had to do any repairs nor do I expect to for at least 10 years. I would most definitely recommend CertainTeed to anyone of my friends and I intend on purchasing CertainTeed shingles if I ever need a new roof again.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>