Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Dura-Loc shingles

Read 66 Dura-Loc Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#18   of 18 brands of shingles

1% of customers recommend
1 of 5 stars 66 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    62

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Dura-Loc shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2015-03-06 Name: Brook Morris
Location: bamtamok@hotmail.com

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura-Loc Part 3"
I posted another review back on 2010-06-04, titled; "Maybe this is how they do business in Canada--DuraLoc". I went to Afghanistan for an extended time and are back and ready for a fight on this. I posted another earlier today and would also like to post this one with a question and a statement. 1. Has anyone contacted the Ministry of the Attorney General in Toronto, Ontario? If not I sent a request today directly to the minister asking how we submit a complaint against an Ontario based company for duping many, many people in the U.S. and Canada out of their monies. The contact information is as follows: E-mail at attorneygeneral@ontario.ca Mailing address: Ministry of the Attorney General McMurtry-Scott Building 720 Bay Street, 11th Floor Toronto, ON M7A 2S9 Telephone toll free: 1-800-518-7901 Fax: 416-326-4007 2. Maybe if we all flood the Ministers office, who knows we may get something. My email is: bamtamok@hotmail.com


Date created: 2015-03-06 Name: B. Morris
Location: Oklahoma City

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lost aggregate, looks rusty red, warranty not honored."
I bought these 42 squares of Dura-Loc roof with the intentions of probably buying the best for the rest of my life. I would personally like to have a face to face come to Jesus meeting with this DuraLoc president, Al Reid. The roof is 10 years old and installed by a licensed Dura-Loc approved installer. It has lost much of its aggregate and looks a rusty red – primer color. It had a 50 year transferable performance warranty and a 25 year appearance warranty, Class 4 impact rating, highest uv rating (which is bs), but Dura-Loc is unwilling to honor anything associated with its warranty per email correspondence with Mr. Al Ried. So, after almost a year and half in Afghanistan I did a little online research. By all the research I could do, it seems Dura-Loc is now Gerard Roofing Technologies, aka Allmet. Is there anyone who can also verify this? It's amazing to me that we can't do something in the legal realm to track this him down and through the international trade laws hold him responsible. I paid over 26,000 dollars for this roof after the May 3d, 1999 tornado in Oklahoma City (actually two years later) when I lost everything and moved into a house 1-mile south of my house that we lost with all contents. Once they condemned the roof on this house the wife and I met with 5 different roofing dealers. I elected to go with this roof and would like nothing more than a new metal roof put on this house and to be candid it doesn’t have to be a Dura-Loc. I have also talked via email to Todd Miller, President Classic Products Inc 800-543-8938 ext 201 www.classicroof.com www.kasselandirons.com He did at least talk with me via email and was sympathetic to the situation, but his hands were tied as to what he can do. Sorry folks, if I sound extremely angry, you are correct! I have spent over 35 years now serving this country saving and scrapping along to get something that would benefit my family for a very long time. I have been deployed into hell several times over working my ass off to only make a better life for my children and grand kids and now have a $30,000 price tag hanging over our heads. As for you Mr. Al Ried, I truly believe that karma is a biter. You’re going to be faced one day with answering for the deception you have placed on us all. It may not be here on earth, but you will answer maybe not to us, but to your maker. I have wondered if you can honestly lay your head on the pillow at night and can sleep well knowing how you taken people for ride with your deception. If anyone can help point me and others in the right direction, I would appreciate it. I do have photos I can send and I was very fortunate as to gain the manufacturers manual with all spec's in it. Apparently there were two of them packed in the two pallets so the installer let me keep one and he kept one.


Date created: 2015-01-30 Name: Michael M.
Location: San Jose, CA.
Model: Metal Shingle - Looks Like Shake

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura-Loc problem - Gerard Metal Roof a solution"
I too bought Dura-Loc with the intention of buying the best. My roof is suffering from the same problems as reported. However, Gerard metal roofing materials manufactured by Headwater look to be a reliable replacement solution. Headwater purchased USA Metals, who purchased Dura-loc. Has anyone worked with Headwater to reach a agreement, or replaced with Gerard materials? Class action lawsuits may address the issue financially, but working to an agreement where the integrity of your roof is sound should be our ultimate goal.



Date created: 2015-01-24 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" Large Brown Patches, No Warranty, No Help"
Don't waste your time with lawyers, or Allmet -- Headwaters, whatever the new name is. There really is no warranty since the bankruptcy, and no help. I don't know why the Canadian Govt. Lets them get away with this "re-branding" and losing the responsibility for warranties, but it seems they do, in my opinion. I am looking into having my roof, which is solid, and does not leak, painted with some kind of metal roofing paint, when all the stone comes off. Like others, I spent a lot of money, and I have two large roofs on the house, and the garage. I have a friend with an old farmhouse. She says that they have their old metal roof painted about once every 15 years, and it looks pretty good. I think we will have to use another primer, since I heard the brown rust coloured primer will come off too. Has anyone tried painting a well installed Duraloc or Allmet stone coated roof that does not leak? It would be much cheaper than a new roof. All the stone coatings I have researched do not last, so I think it will be paint. A painting contractor told me he could roll it on, or spray it, but he will not guarantee it, because it is just paint. Others said the same. I would like to know if anyone has done a test area for paint. The snow will be hard on it when it comes off the roof, so apply it where it tends to slide off -- maybe a 10 ft. by 10 ft. patch one painting company salesman advised.


Date created: 2014-12-04 Name: Deborah Feldman
Location: Arlington Heights, Illinois

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Include me in class action lawsuit"
Our roof, installed in 2001, is also down to bare metal, mildew, etc. Very disappointed. Our installer did a great job, but is no longer in business. Please include us in whatever the group is doing.


Date created: 2014-11-02 Name: Melissa
Location: Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Will it continue to degrade?"
Will this roof rust through? Will a new coating last or how long will it probably last? We are looking at buying a home and this came up in the inspection.


Date created: 2014-09-17 Name: Jon Kussmann
Location: 2945 Rosewood Ct. Yuba City Ca. 95993

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Count me in the class action suit"
Coating started coming off soon after roof put on. Now almost all gone. Got the same run around as everyone got. Would like to be in class action suit. Jon Kussmann


Date created: 2014-08-26 Name: S. Deuel
Location: Mulmur, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Duraloc shingles losing coating"
We are having exactly the same problem with our roof losing the blue and black granulated coating at a rapid rate, especially on the southern exposure. We built our dream home in the country in 2004 and invested in what we thought would be a very high quality roofing system. Now the roof is a patchy ugly brown and we have drifts of particles all over the patio. We have not yet approached the company, and would be interested in the experiences and advice of others.


Date created: 2014-08-22 Name: D McDermott
Location: Guelph Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"50 year warranty scam"
I had the roof installed in 2005, had a messy repair done in 2010, and the problem is back. Beware of Allmet also as it is being purchased by Headwaters...with or without warranties is anyone's guess!


Date created: 2014-02-07 Name: Dan Ray
Location: plano, tx
Model: Continental

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Loss"
50% of the granules are gone. The rest is like everyone else.

<< Previous1234567Next >>