Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 91 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#9   of 17 brands of shingles

38% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    51

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2019-04-08 Name: Sadie Redd
Location: Rockford IL
Model: Timberlne

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Master Elite did not go by specifications"
Shingles are ratty; GAF Customer Service is horrible and not all Master Elite Contractors care; like GAF's Contractor; Warner Roofing/Warner Contracting LLC in Rockford IL did not offer Enhanced Warranties, but stated I got the best; I did not!. He did not give me the required Know Your Consumer Rights doc either. My roof leaks substandard refused to make it right; we are in court.


Date created: 2019-04-01 Name: Kelley M
Location: Portland, OR
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Not worth the price unless done with all home improvements"
Salesman very persuasive so bought the '50 yr warranty, transferable to next owner' pitch. Had told him that we would be doing remodel in future including stove vent & maybe adding on. Told not an issue. Roof looks nice, though moss keeps growing on northside even though we no longer have trees. Fast forward 7 yrs & getting ready for remodel & addition. Told by GAF Warranty Department that ANY disturbance of roof invalidates warranty in that area. What's the purpose of paying 3 times more than regular roof if you can't do anything later - even with their 'Certified Installers'? So, looks like where the required gas furnace & plumbing vents are aren't covered by this 'Gold Seal' warranty.


Date created: 2018-11-24 Name: Lucy
Location: Spring Hill, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless warranty"
Roof is 6 years old. We do have the stain guard warranty which has proven to be totally worthless with GAF. Terrible black streaks on this roof. Not from trees since it's full sun. Company said Yes, you have the stain guard warranty but what they wanted me to do as totally ridiculous. Send a sample of the stained shingle and a sample of an unstained shingle. They are nuts. If I ever need a new roof I will thoroughly investigate the roofer I use and make sure they don't use GAF shingles.



Date created: 2018-10-08 Name: C Hamilton
Location: Whitefield, ME
Model: Timberline HD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failed shingles"
Our shingles failed after 2.5 years - on new construction barn. The GAF Company does not stand behind their product - stay away from this company.


Date created: 2018-10-04 Name: Andrea Mears
Location: vero beach florida 32963

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF 30 Year warranty should read "15year""
In preparation for the Florida hurricane season, I called my roofer to ask if my 30-year GAF roof they installed Sept 2004 after hurricane Francis would last another 5 years. He told me that the mfg warranty is worthless and although I bought a 30-year product, he encouraged me to consider changing it. I do not see any curling, nor excess granule loss, but it's impossible to know if it will survive a major storm. I believe the installation was professionally done, but why is it that the roofers have zero liability for products they install??!! After reading the reviews on this site, I have zero confidence and will change the roof sooner rather than later.


Date created: 2018-09-06 Name: Michael Ray
Location: Buford Ga
Model: Timberline 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk quality and curling as well as leaks"
Absolute junk, we are in process of filing a lawsuit against Kaiser Roofing and Siding as well as GAF. The combination between junk asphalt architecture roofing by GAF and Kaiser's scam artist salesman Jaime as well as the joke of a install crew they sent has caused what our engineer and inspectors state is worse than the old roof which was Atlas. Stay tuned for upcoming status of case. Installers used only 1 to 2 nails per strip, and put over curled underlayment. Do not use Kaiser roofing out of Suwanee Ga or Charlotte, NC


Date created: 2018-08-15 Name: Ruth Pickle
Location: Logan, Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Timberline"
The shingles upon installation had a huge blob of a different color on my roof. The installation was late last October in 2017. I contacted GAF and they sent someone to look at it in late November. The inspector stated that there definitely is a problem, which was probably in the manufacturing process and sent a follow up letter. He said that GAF would contact me next spring to get it corrected. Contact did not happen. I called them and they have given me the royal run around all summer. In my opinion they have in a round about way accused me of lying, as they insinuated that we do not have GAF shingles. I jumped through every hoop they asked me to. Then they wanted samples of the shingles removed and sent to them. I refused. The Contractor had in the beginning told me that I had to deal with GAF, not them. But I contacted the Contractor and they sent someone or arranged for GAF to send someone to remove 2 shingles and sent the samples to GAF. I have fulfilled every request they have asked of me! Now, August, 2018 GAF a letter arrived saying they may need more info in order to evaluate the claim. The Sr. Claims contact person, that I have been dealing with, has not answered any further questions that I have requested from her. This last letter is signed just Warranty Claims Department. No contact name.


Date created: 2018-06-02 Name: adele hamel
Location: Livonia MI
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They do not stand behind the product"
Good luck if you buy, and have a problem with your shingles. I bought 25 year shingles, failing after 8 years and company is will not help! Only give you the run around.


Date created: 2018-04-17 Name: DMARSHALL
Location: MWC OKLAHOMA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF Doesnt Stand Behind Warranty"
Winds blew brand new shingles off roof. Roofer had 4 nails to each shingle. Warranty company said shingles were installed wrong. Glue did not set it hardened up shingles not even 2 months old... Wish warranty met something


Date created: 2018-01-15 Name: D. Zack
Location: Batavia, IL
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF doesn't stand by warranty"
While inspecting my one year old GAF Timberline shingles for damage following a hail storm a consulting engineer discovered most of damage was from manufacturing defect. A second engineering firm confirmed. Photos and samples sent to GAF were analyzed and GAF said thee shingles met all their specifications. About 50% of the shingles have large craters of missing granules, some worn down to the fiber matting. The new roof is a total waste. After the initial report GAF just closed the case and no longer responds to phone calls or mail. A $9,000 job down the drain. Do not buy GAF shingles; the warranty is a fraud.

12345678910Next >>