Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 83 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#7   of 15 brands of shingles

42% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    44

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789Next >>

Date created: 2018-04-17 Name: DMARSHALL
Location: MWC OKLAHOMA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF Doesnt Stand Behind Warranty"
Winds blew brand new shingles off roof. Roofer had 4 nails to each shingle. Warranty company said shingles were installed wrong. Glue did not set it hardened up shingles not even 2 months old... Wish warranty met something


Date created: 2018-01-15 Name: D. Zack
Location: Batavia, IL
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF doesn't stand by warranty"
While inspecting my one year old GAF Timberline shingles for damage following a hail storm a consulting engineer discovered most of damage was from manufacturing defect. A second engineering firm confirmed. Photos and samples sent to GAF were analyzed and GAF said thee shingles met all their specifications. About 50% of the shingles have large craters of missing granules, some worn down to the fiber matting. The new roof is a total waste. After the initial report GAF just closed the case and no longer responds to phone calls or mail. A $9,000 job down the drain. Do not buy GAF shingles; the warranty is a fraud.


Date created: 2017-09-11 Name: DAVID RICHIE
Location: Ohio

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"New roof"
It was easy working with Joe and Gerald. They answered all our questions and the final job was great! We have a new roof and it didn't cost us a dime. Yes, I would recommend them to all my friends...



Date created: 2017-07-29 Name: William Seitz
Location: 08505
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingles coming apart. Falling off the roof."
We bought the Timberline shingles at Lowes in Lumberton NJ October 28 2016. Contractor installed them the first week in November 2016.The shingles were falling off the roof so we called the contractor back.He said the shingles are coming apart.(They are defective).We called GAF office. We e-mailed pictures to them. We have yet to hear back from anyone there.


Date created: 2017-07-05 Name: Everett Grosgebauer
Location: Tool, Texas
Model: Royal Sovereign 25 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Losing granules"
Replaced my garage roof in Jan of 2017 with GAF Royal Sovereign 25 year shingles and 6 months later slightly over 50% of the shingles have lost varying amounts of their granules. I filed a claim with GAF, mailed 2 shingles to their lab, sent photos. They then come back with a claim in which they will spot replace shingles. I got an estimate and my roofer says the whole roof needs replacing as there are too many shingles missing granules to spot replace. GAF now wants more photos of each square. They have lost my business for any other roofing supplies. The contractors estimate and statement are not good enough and they are asking me to provide more photos. Just a way to try to get out of paying and honoring warranty. Just hoping I go away. Extremely poor customer service! Will not use again.


Date created: 2017-07-03 Name: William L. Baxter
Location: Chesapeake, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Turned black"
When looking for a new roof and company, I choose a local company close to home with a very good rating. They used GAF shingles, recommended very highly, I was already unhappy with GAF because I used the 25 year architectural GAF shingles on my house built in 1989. They were failing in 2006 after 17 years of being installed. The roofing company said these new GAF shingles were the best and will last. I then said I want a zinc strip installed to prevent staining, you will not need those with this shingle. I went with them and they installed the new GAF shingles in November of 2009. How many times do you really look at your roof? I 2014 I was building a boat house and just happened to look at my roof and it had turned black, not even six years after installation. A call to the roofing company, well you have to call GAF. I called and they said I had to send three two/three shingles from the discrepant roof. I then had to call the roofing company to remove the shingles and replace them with new ones. Try getting a box to send a 36" shingle in at your expense. I asked if they had a Quality Control/Quality Assurance Department, the answer was no. They were not very helpful. The final out come was they would send me $599.so many cents to clean my roof only time. It was a take it or leave it. Now if the shingles fail in other ways besides staining, GAF is going to tell me I used chemicals to clean the roof and the guarantee is void. GAF sold a deficient product and is unwilling to replace the product and removal and replacement of the old. Isn't American business great!


Date created: 2017-06-05 Name: B Huffman
Location: Galeton, PA
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless warranty"
I found out that since I did not have the warranty transferred to me with in 30 days of purchasing my home, the warranty is voided. What difference does it make who owns the home? If the product fails it fails! Just another way to suck people in with a bogus warranty to make sure they don't have to pay!


Date created: 2017-05-25 Name: Greg Thomas
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible Claims Department"
As a general contractor, I have been recommending GAF shingles to my customers, but no more. I have a new roof in my subdivision that the granulates on the shingles came off as the roofer installed them. GAF rep stated that I had a claim. Now the claims department is denying claim. So much for a Life-Time Warranty!


Date created: 2017-05-02 Name: Dave Murray
Location: Washington
Model: Camelot

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"I wouldnt get these again"
As a former roofer of 20 years I really liked the look of the Camelot Shingle. 7 1/2 in course, thick laminate, I was hooked. 7 years later. My whole roof leaks. Seems as though the design of the "key way" between the tabs is too wide. The water seeps sideways and down, hitting the nail hidden under the tab. Every nail that I pull is rusted tip to tail. I will be pulling it all off this summer. Very dissapointed. Installed per the Mfg specs, used "Tiger paw" underlayment. My sheeting is soaked! Gaf was zero help. I sent pictures, asked them if they had seen it before. Their response was that it was probably installed wrong and never answered the original question.


Date created: 2017-03-12 Name: Thompson
Location: Buyrlington ON
Model: Royal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Nothing but problems"
They looked nice for about a year. (25 year shingles)Then after a windy day, most every shingle was standing straight up. Roofer came back and said glue was defective and glued them all down. This happened several times. The installer said not to bother going after Shingle manufacturer. They would blame everything from climate change to changing wind directions to number of vents (which they suggested) and would get out of replacing shingles. Finally they stayed down for a few more years. This year, they were all up again (16 years). We have chosen to replace our roof 10 years earlier than expected with a different shingle and different installer.

123456789Next >>