Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 92 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#9   of 18 brands of shingles

38% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    51

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2019-06-18 Name: Tina Doan
Location: San Jose, CA
Model: Timberline HD Lifetime

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Roof shingles"
We purchased GAF Timberline HD Lifetime shingles in 2014. We had granules come off of the roof immediately after it was installed. An actual GAF rep came out a few weeks after installation and told us that granule loss was normal and that it would subside after a few months. Well this is 2019 and I put in a claim because every time it windy we are losing a lot of granules. I was fed us and after a couple of rains this year (2019) I had collected two Ziplock gallon bags of roof granules. In order for our claim to go through, GAF wanted us to send the bags of granules (which I did) and rip off, yes I did say rip off, several shingles so that they could analyze them. GAF also said they would not replace the shingles we took off! Oh no! I told them we are a senior couple and my husband is a disabled veteran and that we did not want to pay to hire someone to rip off shingles from our roof especially during rainy weather. (We did not have our shingles removed). After discussing this with someone in the warranty claims department in April 2019, we have not heard back from them except for a letter we received in April 2019 stating they cannot help us unless they receive the sample shingles. The worst customer service and we paid for a "System Plus Warranty" that is supposed to be their best warranty. We are taking action elsewhere and hope for the best.


Date created: 2019-04-08 Name: Sadie Redd
Location: Rockford IL
Model: Timberlne

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Master Elite did not go by specifications"
Shingles are ratty; GAF Customer Service is horrible and not all Master Elite Contractors care; like GAF's Contractor; Warner Roofing/Warner Contracting LLC in Rockford IL did not offer Enhanced Warranties, but stated I got the best; I did not!. He did not give me the required Know Your Consumer Rights doc either. My roof leaks substandard refused to make it right; we are in court.


Date created: 2019-04-01 Name: Kelley M
Location: Portland, OR
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Not worth the price unless done with all home improvements"
Salesman very persuasive so bought the '50 yr warranty, transferable to next owner' pitch. Had told him that we would be doing remodel in future including stove vent & maybe adding on. Told not an issue. Roof looks nice, though moss keeps growing on northside even though we no longer have trees. Fast forward 7 yrs & getting ready for remodel & addition. Told by GAF Warranty Department that ANY disturbance of roof invalidates warranty in that area. What's the purpose of paying 3 times more than regular roof if you can't do anything later - even with their 'Certified Installers'? So, looks like where the required gas furnace & plumbing vents are aren't covered by this 'Gold Seal' warranty.



Date created: 2018-11-24 Name: Lucy
Location: Spring Hill, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worthless warranty"
Roof is 6 years old. We do have the stain guard warranty which has proven to be totally worthless with GAF. Terrible black streaks on this roof. Not from trees since it's full sun. Company said Yes, you have the stain guard warranty but what they wanted me to do as totally ridiculous. Send a sample of the stained shingle and a sample of an unstained shingle. They are nuts. If I ever need a new roof I will thoroughly investigate the roofer I use and make sure they don't use GAF shingles.


Date created: 2018-10-08 Name: C Hamilton
Location: Whitefield, ME
Model: Timberline HD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failed shingles"
Our shingles failed after 2.5 years - on new construction barn. The GAF Company does not stand behind their product - stay away from this company.


Date created: 2018-10-04 Name: Andrea Mears
Location: vero beach florida 32963

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF 30 Year warranty should read "15year""
In preparation for the Florida hurricane season, I called my roofer to ask if my 30-year GAF roof they installed Sept 2004 after hurricane Francis would last another 5 years. He told me that the mfg warranty is worthless and although I bought a 30-year product, he encouraged me to consider changing it. I do not see any curling, nor excess granule loss, but it's impossible to know if it will survive a major storm. I believe the installation was professionally done, but why is it that the roofers have zero liability for products they install??!! After reading the reviews on this site, I have zero confidence and will change the roof sooner rather than later.


Date created: 2018-09-06 Name: Michael Ray
Location: Buford Ga
Model: Timberline 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk quality and curling as well as leaks"
Absolute junk, we are in process of filing a lawsuit against Kaiser Roofing and Siding as well as GAF. The combination between junk asphalt architecture roofing by GAF and Kaiser's scam artist salesman Jaime as well as the joke of a install crew they sent has caused what our engineer and inspectors state is worse than the old roof which was Atlas. Stay tuned for upcoming status of case. Installers used only 1 to 2 nails per strip, and put over curled underlayment. Do not use Kaiser roofing out of Suwanee Ga or Charlotte, NC


Date created: 2018-08-15 Name: Ruth Pickle
Location: Logan, Iowa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Timberline"
The shingles upon installation had a huge blob of a different color on my roof. The installation was late last October in 2017. I contacted GAF and they sent someone to look at it in late November. The inspector stated that there definitely is a problem, which was probably in the manufacturing process and sent a follow up letter. He said that GAF would contact me next spring to get it corrected. Contact did not happen. I called them and they have given me the royal run around all summer. In my opinion they have in a round about way accused me of lying, as they insinuated that we do not have GAF shingles. I jumped through every hoop they asked me to. Then they wanted samples of the shingles removed and sent to them. I refused. The Contractor had in the beginning told me that I had to deal with GAF, not them. But I contacted the Contractor and they sent someone or arranged for GAF to send someone to remove 2 shingles and sent the samples to GAF. I have fulfilled every request they have asked of me! Now, August, 2018 GAF a letter arrived saying they may need more info in order to evaluate the claim. The Sr. Claims contact person, that I have been dealing with, has not answered any further questions that I have requested from her. This last letter is signed just Warranty Claims Department. No contact name.


Date created: 2018-06-02 Name: adele hamel
Location: Livonia MI
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They do not stand behind the product"
Good luck if you buy, and have a problem with your shingles. I bought 25 year shingles, failing after 8 years and company is will not help! Only give you the run around.


Date created: 2018-04-17 Name: DMARSHALL
Location: MWC OKLAHOMA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"GAF Doesnt Stand Behind Warranty"
Winds blew brand new shingles off roof. Roofer had 4 nails to each shingle. Warranty company said shingles were installed wrong. Glue did not set it hardened up shingles not even 2 months old... Wish warranty met something

12345678910Next >>