Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 87 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#7   of 16 brands of shingles

40% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    48

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous123456789Next >>

Date created: 2012-04-10 Location: lafayette, Indiana
Model: 0603737

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Gaf Lifetime Shingles Deliver On Their Promise"
I have only had these shingles for a few years, but they hold up so well! these shingles were easy to install, cheap, efficent, and were very easy to purchase, a ton of stores had them! we bought them from home depot, but lowes and another home improvement store carried the same model and color we wanted as well. I love that they were easy to install, my husband and I did it ourselves! there have been no difficulties that we have had so far. We have never had to repair or replace these, even in some pretty bad weather! I have recommened this brand to friends on a couple of occasions, and would choose this brand again if we ever have to re-shingle our home. However, they have a lifetime guarantee, so even if I needed to do some work, I know that this company will take care of us!


Date created: 2012-04-10 Location: Clemmons,NC
Model: 2213000WG

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"All Shingles are not Equal"
As the owner of several rental properties I have had the pleasure of replacing multiple items both inside and outside of several houses. One of the most expensive but much needed items to have replaced is the shingles. In several of my homes I had purchased whatever was on sale not believing that there is any difference in shingles. The GAF Weatherwise shingles are the only shingles that actually have held up under the test of both weather and time. The Weatherwise shingles were easy to install and look fantastic. The difference in these shingles is noticeable immediately . They physically keep the attic cool in the summer and warm in the winter. The cheaper shingles have all began to fray and separate from the roof. I will be forced to replace all the inferior shingles in the next several months. I have no intentions of even considering shingles other than the GAF Weatherwise. The only shingles I would ever recommend to my friends and family will be the Weatherwise shingles.


Date created: 2012-04-09 Location: Beverly Hills, CA
Model: Country Mansion in Aged Oak

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Love my new Country Mansion shingles"
We installed these shingles about seven months ago and couldn't be happier. We wanted a look that gave character to our home but have building codes that don't allow wood shingles because of fire danger. These shingles were a perfect solution. They look amazing. These shingles came in many different colors. We chose a color that had a slate tone to it so it would look natural. The installers didn't have any issues installing them and the job was done in a few days. The only thing I am not crazy about is the white lines between the shingles. I wish that the lines were a darker color but that is really just a bit of second guessing on my own design decisions. We had some left over shingles and used them on the roof of my daughters playhouse and it looks adorable. I would absolutely buy this brand again. So far they have been top notch.



Date created: 2012-02-16 Location: Nashville, TN
Model: Timberline 40

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No better shingles on the market!"
I bought my GAF Timberline 40 shingles in August of 2008. The previous shingles we had, had not been replaced since we bought our house 20 years ago and it started to become noticeable. We had over 20 leaks in our roof; NOT GOOD! My husband's friend recommended GAF Timberline 40 shingles to us. He said they were a great product that he and his wife had used on their house. The first thing I noticed about these specific shingles were all the great reviews on it! The price was extremely reasonable also. There literally were no flaws to these shingles. We got them installed and have had no problems since. They look great as well as work great! Can't beat it! I would recommend this to my family and closest friends as it was recommended to me!


Date created: 2012-02-07 Location: Houston, TX
Model: TIMBERLINE

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"FOR A GOOD ROOF- GET GAF"
I've had this set of GAF shingles on my roof for about 10 years now. It's my second roof using this product. I purchased the lifetime warranty ones this time. My last roof was done with GAF and was nearing the end of its 25 year warranty when a major hurricane caused a few of the shingles to pull away from some of the exhaust vents for the hot water heater and bathroom. It's not that the roof leaked due to this, it just was beginning to look like it might eventually cause problems. Nearly everyone on my street had this type or more problems due to the high wind. I'm really happy with my current roof. It's water tight despite another smaller hurricane, several tropical storms and a severe drought. I like GAF shingles because they are reasonable in price, easy to install and they work well for me. If I had more money and needed a new roof, I would probably like to try one of the new metal shingles, but for right now, I'm happy with my GAF roof.


Date created: 2012-01-27 Location: Portland, OR
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A review of my shingles"
I've had my Timberline shingles for about 3 years now. They were a step up from the old three tab style we used to have. Our old shingles were kinda plain and boring and these have added a nice look to the outside of the house. They weren't that much more expensive than the plain three tab ones so it's really been worth it. I haven't had any problems eith them needing repair or replacement yet and we get pretty strong wind from time to time. If they do need to be repaired or replaced the materials and labor are covered for up to 30 years so at least I wouldn't have to do it myself. Overall I am very satisfied with the shingles. They were reasonably priced, look good, have a good warranty and are made by a company who has been doing this for a while. I know they have preferred contractors that they work with and that have better labor warranties so that might be a good idea to have. I would buy the same brand again and recommend them to a friend.


Date created: 2012-01-18 Location: Patterson, CA
Model: 2350

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF weather side shingles"
I have owned my weather side backer strip shingles for three months now. I had just bought a "fixer-upper" and I had to replace the shingles short after buying the house. I like that they were affordable for me because I have a restrictive income. I don't think there is anything I dislike about the shingles. Since they are new no I have not had to repair them since they have been put on. yes I would buy the same shingles again and I would most defiantly recommend them to a friend if they would need to replace their shingles. Each pack comes with enough backer strips to cover approximately one hundred square foot for thirteen dollars a package. the weather side backer strip shingles are black and nice a tough perfect for rain and any weather, I live in California so the weather gets pretty windy so we need something that wont rip or tear easy. I am very happy with the product.


Date created: 2012-01-18 Location: Sweet Home, Or
Model: 0201736

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF 3 tab singles are a good buy for the price"
This summer I built a small room (10' x 12') off of my garage. I was doing it on the cheap and decided to go with three tab. After doing some shopping around I found it Home depot for a really good price. So I asked the guy behind the pro counter about them and he said that most of the people seemed to like them and that they did not have any of them returned at there store because of bad tiles in a bundle. I was a little worried about the quality because of the price but was pleasantly surprised when I got it out of the package. These tiles went up like normal tiles with very little ripping(which is common with cheap shingles). I did notice that they rely wanted to stick to one another when I tried to separate them. The best part is we just had two large wind storms in a row and I didn't lose a single tile. Which makes me happy because several of my neighbors did and they have architectural tiles.


Date created: 2012-01-03 Name: Rosalie De Fillippes
Location: Florham Park, NJ
Model: Timberline Prestique Grande

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't Buy"
My house was done in 2003 with Timberline gaf shingles ...... I have a mansard roof and since then I have black streaks coming down the front of my house all over the roof. I contacted gaf, sent them my shingles and was told this is mildew ...this is not mildew... my roof was suppose to be 30 warranty...what good is a warranty if the company does not stand behind their product...I Am putting this out there for anyone who wants to buy gaf shingles. DON'T... GAF Will do nothing about my roof.. now I want to sell my house and cannot do it with the roof like this....I Will never deal with gaf again...


Date created: 2011-12-22 Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Model: Slateline

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Slateline shingles well worth the price"
We installed GAF Slateline shingles in 2007. They are an architectural shingle with high wind resistance. The shingles are very handsome and really improved the look of the house. They are premium shingles and require copper flashing adding to the premium look of the shingles The extra wind resistance was really tested a year after installation when we experienced a ferocious storm. Our neighbors had roof damage and we had a large tree end up in the road pulled up by its roots but our roof was totally fine. These shingles are pricey and there is a premium for installation since they require the copper flashing and extra nails. That is really our only complaint and as they say, "You get what you pay for." We would buy these shingles again; they look good and handled the wind, which was the main reason for buying them. The shingles have never required a repair and we would be surprised if they ever did in our lifetime. We highly recommend these shingles.

<< Previous123456789Next >>