Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 93 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#9   of 18 brands of shingles

37% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    52

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2011-05-06 Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"20 Year Shingle verses 30 Year Shingle"
I have owned my 20 Year GAF-ELK shingles for about 4 years. I had to replace my roof after Hurricane IKE. I regret not listening to my salesperson and upgrading to the 30 year shingles. My reason is strictly cosmetic. While I do like the color of the shingles, I dislike the way the singles look compared to my neighbors. Mine lay flat and my neighbors shingles seem to have more definition and are definitely easier on the eyes. My singles look cheap. I did have a small repair job shortly after the roofing company installed my shingles. However, it was an installation problem and not the shingles. An area around my fireplace was not installed properly. The company immediately admitted it was an installation issue and fixed the problem. I would purchase the same brand again because my neighbors 30 year shingles are GAF-ELK and they are completely satisfied with the quality and looks. My only regret is not listening to my salesperson and upgrading to the 30 year shingle. The cost to upgrade was about $900.00. Considering you have to live with the shingles you pick out for years to come, the upgrade price seems reasonable.


Date created: 2011-03-28 Location: Greensboro, NC
Model: Marquis WeatherMax

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Review of My Roof Shingles"
I has these shingles install over 4 years ago and have had no problems. I haven't had any type of leaking happen or have any shingles fall off. Overall the condition of the shingles are still in great shape and I estimate them to last for at least another 15 years. They also offer at 30 year warranty of their roofing which is just unheard of! The quality of this roofing material is just top of the line! They also have GREAT customer service that can help you pick out the type of roofing that best suites your needs. I personally love GAF because they have such a variety of colors and types to choose from. There really isn't much not to like about it. I would definitely recommend this brand to anyone that is thinking about replace their roof. I'll will definitely be buying from this company again when it comes time to replace the roof again! I couldn't be any happier with my roof!


Date created: 2011-02-28 Location: Oswego, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Long lasting shingles!"
I built my house in Oswego NY, which has the hardest winters in the entire Northeast. When I built my house I bought and used GAF shingles, and this was in 1994. Since then, I have had no problems with them whatsoever, and they were fairly cheap. (Exact prices I do not remember.) One thing I especially like about GAF shingles is that they look brand new even to this date, even with the harsh winters and heavy snowfall. I have yet to find something I dislike about my shingles, but I suppose time will bring up issues. Even to this day, I have yet to need any repairs or have any replace, and they look almost exactly the way I bought them. I would definitely recommend these to a friend, and in face, I have! My brother in-law recently needed to do some renovations for his real estate business and along with other remodeling brands, GAF was my recommendation for him for shingles, and as far as I know he has had no problems with them.



Date created: 2011-02-28 Name: Marty
Location: Virginia
Model: Timberline Prestique 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Give GAF shingles 12 years,Then see"
I here alot of you praising the GAF product. It's quite obvious you haven't had them long enough for all the granules to end up in the gutters. I am a roofing contractor for over 26 years. Twelve years ago I had two customers request the Gaf 30 line. I gave it a shot. Now my customers are fighting GAF over warranty issues. The final outcome Gaf offered was $1600.00 to pay for a $7800.00 roof. Heck, GAF won't pay for color problems in the new line of 30 year unless there is a leak. Since then I use only CertainTeed products. I know the Horizon shingle is a close second to being the worst attempt at roofing.Thats why it was discontinued. GAF continues to sell there crap and not honor warranties.


Date created: 2011-01-24 Location: Miami, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF roofing shingles are the best!"
I know I live in an area where hurricanes are common, but my shingles have lasted very well through them. I only had a few shingles off when two hurricanes went through during the same summer. Overall I am very happy with my roofing shingles and would recommend them to anyone.


Date created: 2011-01-23 Location: Holiday, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Timberline Roofing Shingles by GAF-ELK"
We had two layers of shingles on the house already and had to have them removed since the roof leaked everytime it rained hard. I decided to have GAF-ELK Timberline Prestique 30 shingles installed. They have a 30 year warranty and are fungus resistant. The shingles were installed in October 2010 and to this point, there is no leakage in the roof and no shingles have come off of the roof. So far, I cannot say that there is anything about the shingles that I do not like and at least so far, I would recommend these shingles without hesitation. The color of the shingles is white which makes them energy efficient and reduces our cooling costs. I will state that I am not affiliated in any manner whatsoever with GAF-ELK. I have not had these shingles very long, but I am very satisfied with them and I would get them again if ever I needed another roof.


Date created: 2011-01-12 Location: Moorhead, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Charcoal 3-Tab Shingle 25-Year: A good investment"
I had these shingles installed 3 years ago and they still look like the day I had them installed, even after a few years of weathering in the rain, snow, and summer sun. Installation was quick, easy, and relatively pain-free, and the best part is I don't see myself having to pay to repair them anytime soon. They look great on my house, and were reasonably priced when compared to similar products also rated for 25 years. I would absolutely recommend these shingles for anyone looking to shingle their house in the near future. They were absolutely the right choice for me and I can see myself going back and buying this brand again when they finally wear out. They can be picked up at your local Home Depot (where I got them) but they're probably also carried by other hardware stores like Lowes or Menard's, so getting them shouldn't be any problem either.


Date created: 2010-12-19 Location: Mansfield, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Good affordable roofing shingles"
My home was built in late 2009 and roofed with GAF 3-Tab Weathered Gray shingles. I like the way they match the brick of the home, but I prefer to have a 30 year shingle because they hide rafter imperfections better. We had a small hail storm back in late 2008 that blew a few shingles off. We've had the individual tabs repaired, but have yet to replace the rest of the roof. When we replace the roof next, I'll go with the GAF Timberline 30 year or possibly the 40 year. The price isn't that much more for 40 year and I like the fact that the shingles are heavier and won't blow off as easily in high winds.


Date created: 2010-12-01 Location: Leonia, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF shingles, an excellent investment"
I have GAF shingles on my house and they are excellent. I loved how easily the roofer put them in and how attractive their color was. They are a nice gray that goes well with my house. The only real issue I've had with them was price, they were expensive, but you get what you pay for, so I hope they continue to be high quality shingles. I had them put in originally on a small section of my roof to patch a hole. After a few years I decided my entire roof needed to be replaced. My contractor only uses GAF shingles so I went with them because that's what he recommended. Let me tell you, they are great. I had them put in last year just before the winter and almost a year later they look exactly the same. The color does not fade and the cap pieces are a thing of beauty. I would use these shingles again, though, they're very good, so I don't think I have to. Overall if I had to recommend them to someone I would. Spend the extra money and get some quality GAF shingles.


Date created: 2010-12-01 Location: Oklahoma city, Oklahoma

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible shingles"
I have owned Gaf shingles for about 1 year. The color of the shingles and how they looked on the house were amazing. After it rained a few times the shingles started losing colors and breaking. I have had the company who installed them come back out to repair the shingles because they started to turn grey and were cracked and made the house look bad. I would never buy Gaf shingles again nor would i refer anyone to buy them. The enxt time I buy shingles I will loo into ustomer reviews and try to find shingles that look good and are long lasting. Even though Gaf guaranteed the shingles for 15 years, the trouble I had to go through to get a company out to repair them and the overall appearance over a one year time was well a waste of money. These were highend expensive shingles but even after having a new company install Gaf to see if it was a previous companies fault. The shingles still failed.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>