Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 220 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 16 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 220 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    38
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    176

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2018-04-02 Name: Adam
Location: Toronto, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingles ever"
I had IKO shingles installed 10 years ago and in that span of time have had to have sections of my roof replaced 3 times in that period due to defective and weak shingles. The slightest wind in spring time causes them to life up, crack, and fly off. After the third time around I opted to glue them down which shouldn't be necessary. I don't have this problem with other brands on my other homes in the same neighborhood, just IKO. What a waste of money. Never again


Date created: 2018-03-14 Name: Unsatisfied Customer
Location: Bridgewater, NS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy IKO shingles!"
We have a brand new home in Nova Scotia built by a contractor with over 35 years experience and an excellent reputation. Within the first 3 years we have had shingles literally flying off our roof with every little wind storm. We have been given the run around from the local IKO representative and head office. We will be investing in a new roof and it will not be an IKO shingle! People TALK and we tell everyone save your time and money and buy another brand.


Date created: 2018-01-18 Name: Rick Orlando
Location: Canada
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Looks Great but..."
My Cambridge style shingles were installed in 2008 and are now blowing off (in Nova Scotia). I noticed in the blown off shingles that the installer did not follow the white line of nail placement. Thus the nails missed the "common bond" part of the shingle and I suspect makes them more vulnerable to the wind. Could this be the reason so many are blowing off? My nails are 1/2" to 1" above the white line! So presume the installer was ignorant about the IKO requirement for proper nail placement of the Cambridge architectural type of shingle.



Date created: 2018-01-10 Name: joe tacka
Location: hollis maine
Model: Dynasty

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best shingle"
Dynasty shingles are awesome, we had a hurricane with 80mph winds and not a single leak


Date created: 2017-12-05 Name: J Bicknell
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Always see blow off"
I am a roofing inspector in Alberta, Canada. During any type of big wind storm, 99% of the time I will see recently installed (1,2,or 5 year, etc.) Cambridge shingles blow off in winds as little as 60km/h. Installed in summer or winter doesn't matter. They still don't have a very good sealing strip, and I would not recommend installing them.


Date created: 2017-11-16 Name: Will D.
Location: Ontario, Canada
Model: Renaissance

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"25 year shingles Installed in 2004 Garbage in 2017"
I had these shingles installed by professionals and so did both of my neighbours at approximately the same time as I did. One neighbour just had his roof re-shingled because his roof was leaking. My other neighbour said he has a leak and my roof could leak anytime after looking at the condition of the shingles on my roof. The warranty is prorated and IKO wants me to take lots of pictures, remove shingles and mail them at my expense before they decide whether they will cover anything, IKO knows their shingles are garbage and so is their prorated warranty. I had these shingles installed before I retired so I wouldn't have to worry about spending money on my roof for at least another 12 years. I don't recommend anyone investing in shingles anymore. Look at metal roofs and read the Warranty Fine Print before you buy anything.


Date created: 2017-11-07 Name: Hank Naylon
Location: Henrietta, New York

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Mixed Feelings"
I have mixed feelings based on my and my acquaintances experiences.


Date created: 2017-10-30 Name: L. Roy
Location: Winnipeg, Mb.
Model: Driftwood

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage from day 1"
Installed new 25 year shingles in 2001. As we were installing, corners started to curl immediately. Stopped roofing right away and returned most bundles for new ones. Installed new ones but on the next day, most shingles were curled on the corners. Roof looked ridiculous and I was embarrassed by comments made by neighbors. Called IKO in Calgary soon after wanting a new roof. After sending them samples via courier and many letters, I was told that I needed to read the warranty. As long as my roof was not leaking, shingles were doing their job. What a crock! 14 years in, my roof looks old and tired yet I paid extra for 25 year shingles. Will never buy this garbage again. Do yourself a favour... avoid this company. They deserve to go bankrupt.


Date created: 2017-10-19 Name: Kelvin Rouse
Location: London Ontario
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The problems with warranties"
I've been installing IKO shingles since 1986. Been through the warranty battles where IKO didn't want to change their 15 year organic shingle to a 25 but had to because of competition changing theirs to a 25 year warranty. Just to have GAF do the same with the new fiberglass line. All the old installers lime myself know that it is all smoke and mirrors and for me I stick by the tried and true IKO brand. My first 3rd generation fiberglass roof was a IKO fiberglass roof that was installed in 1998 and in 2017 still looks like the day we installed it. What a salesmen tells me is all just smoke and mirrors. All I have is my hindsight to go on.


Date created: 2017-10-16 Name: BJC
Location: Toronto, Canada
Model: Aristocrat 25

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"19 years and needs to be repaced"
19 years ago I hired a reputable roofer to strip, repair and shingle my roof. They used IKO Aristocrat 25. The was a 30 year warranty noted in the brochure that I still have. I was told I would get at least 25 years from them as I have a simple and steep A frame roof. Upon installation, they immediately started to shed granules. I thought that might be normal the first year, but it has been consistent. Now parts of shingles are falling off. Several roofers say (without knowing the brand) that this is normal, and roofs don't last 25y. I am told and can see for my self that the south side needs immediate attention, the north side could go a few more years. Other than the extra exposure to sun on the south side, we've had no extreme weather. No extreme winds or hail and the winters the last few years have been mild. The attic is not insulated too well so the snow on the roof melts instead of clinging to it. I was not advised that this would make a difference. I am disappointed. If I was told that no roof last more that 15 years, I would be happy that the roof lasted almost 19y, and would have prepared financially for the next replacement. I have no confidence in any roofing product living up to its claimed expectations, as it goes with the general trend "they don't make things like they used to". I also suspect IKO doesn't expect the purchaser to still be the owner after 20 years, and while the brochure says they warranty is transferable to the next owner, I can't see any new purchasers worrying about those details as the homes now a days sell so fast, with out even an inspection. I didn't go for cheap or pretty. My roof is barely visible from the ground, and I was going for function and long lasting. I can't get away with putting a second layer over the first, as they are in such bad condition. I don't recommend this product (which probably no longer exists). I feel like consumers in general are being intentionally duped when all the company has to do is tell they truth about the longevity.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>