Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 140 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 15 brands of shingles

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 140 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    101

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roofery.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roofery.com.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314

Date created: 2010-10-16 Name: Richard West
Location: Logan, Ut

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Richard West"
I called Tamko about my shingles which had been installed in 1999. They told me I couldn't be helped because I was not the orginal owner. My insurance said that this is the worst product failure they had ever seen. Too bad Tamko can't stand behind what the manufacture and sell. I let everybody know not to buy their shingles not only because of poor product but also because of poor customer satisfaction.


Date created: 2010-10-03 Name: A. Town
Location: Gastonia, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy with shingles on my home"
I have roofers on my house as we speak. We had a total roof replacement 10 years ago and my guy is telling me that we will need to have the whole thing done again in 5-6 years. One unhappy home owner.


Date created: 2010-09-27 Name: S.Passmore
Location: Indiana

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Eight year old shingle"
I purchased a brand new home, eight years ago with Tamko shingles they are curling and braking off they are the organic shingle. I followed the paper work for the claim, I just got the respose letter in the mail and they will only give me a three tap shingle 16 Sq. I called to let them know how un happy I'am and I tried to get a hold of the Tamko President, they kept giving me the run around and for me to leave a message they wouldn't do anything to help me.I have a lawyer involved seeing what they can do to help.



Date created: 2010-07-03 Name: Roofer man

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"The problems you have"
I have been a roofer for many years and I can tell you that 90% of the problems that people are reporting on here is not because the shingles are bad, its because your roof isnt properly ventilated. You have to have many soffit vents and either whirly birds or ridge vents for it to be ventilated right. Most ppl just have whirly birds or ridge vents and not soffit vents. If you dont have soffit vents the air cant circulate through the roof and out the whirly birds so if you think just putting whirly birds or ridge vents on your house will help you are very wrong. You have to have soffit vents. The reason why shingles curl up and start to become brittle before the 20 or 30 year warranty is because the shingles are getting too hot and you dont have the proper ventilation!


Date created: 2010-05-06 Name: Jose A. Perez
Location: DeBary, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko shingles are crap"
I purchased a house built in 2000, roof got damaged during storm Fay. Seal between shingles broke loose and debris was found under shingles all over roof due to winds of 75 miles per hour. Took me 2 years to take insurance company to court in order of replacing my roof shingles. I consider TAMKO shingles of inferior quality not suitable to roof not even a barn.


Date created: 2010-01-24 Name: C. Edwards
Location: Clovis, NM

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"wont stay on"
when the shingles were applied the edges were all sticking up, asked the roofer and he said they would lay down with the sun, never happened. They will not stay on the roof.


Date created: 2010-01-23 Name: Jim Wallace
Location: Maynard, Ar.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor product"
I had a roofer with 20+ years experience install Tanko three tab shingles. They were replacing the same brand and style that was 19 years old. Right away these shingles buckled and would not seal. I called Tanko and filed a claim. They are so good they told me over the phone the problem. After taking somewhat of a look at the pictures I sent they denied my claim. They said I should have reported the problem within a week of first seeing it. I waited 2 months because another roofer said the singles might lay down. I have spoken to people across the nation that Tamko has denied. The bottom line is they won't stand behind their produck. Beware.


Date created: 2009-11-14 Name: Susan M. Bruns
Location: Newton, Iowa 50208

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"asphalt"
I have Tamko shingles on my 12 year home. They have a 30 yr warranty. The south side of the home is completly ruined. The east and north side are beginning to show signs of bad roof in spots.I have had the builder here and four different roofers and they all say that it is a bad batch of shingles. The south side has been showing damage for a few years. Currently I am trying to get my home ready to sell. The roof is what is holding me back on putting it on the market.


Date created: 2009-11-05 Name: ABUNIIRALI
Location: NEWARK,NEW JERSEY

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"ROOFER JOURNEYMAN"
ITS OKAY


Date created: 2009-07-04 Name: ALAN JOHNSON
Location: GLASGOW KY.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"fade"
SHINGLES WERE SOLID BLACK AND NOW THEY HAVE TURNED WHITE AFTER ONLY 10 YEARS WOULD NEVER BUY THIS BRAND AGAIN.

<< Previous1234567891011121314