Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 157 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 17 brands of shingles

28% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 157 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    41
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    108

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213141516Next >>

Date created: 2018-07-16 Name: A. Milne
Location: Murray, UT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Been using them 40+ years"
Tamko makes a better shingle than any other brand! We have been using them for 40+ years.


Date created: 2018-07-06 Name: Frank Jr
Location: Paintsville, KY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Quality product at a good price"
What we use in our company. quality product at a good price. if it wasnt good we wouldn't use it. best warranty in the game!


Date created: 2018-06-28 Name: April Oaks
Location: Sandy, UT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rigid Slimy Policy to Transfer Warranty"
I'm very frustrated with Tamko's policy on transferring their 30 year warranty. They market a 30 year transferable warranty. However, their policy for transferring the warranty is very rigid. I can only assume that this product will not hold up for 30 years. Otherwise, why would they not have a friendlier warranty policy? Their policy is the warranty must be transferred to a new owner within 30 days, and can only be transferred once. We called on day 30, didn't get an answer from the company (truthfully we probably called the wrong division in the company). On day 31 (which we originally thought was day 35) they would not honor the transfer. Yes, not calling sooner is my fault. If you've ever moved, you know how chaotic moving can be. No one knew or remembered to tell us about the 30 day warranty. The seller and the roofer who put the roof on both told us the warranty was good for 30 years, but neither remembered or knew about the 30 day transfer rule. Yes, they should have read everything. It's my strong personal belief that Tamko's business plan has created a limited warranty that ensures they will not have to stand by their product for 30 years in many situations because customers will forget the details of the warranty. The three people I talked to at the company all said that this is how limited warranties are with lots of companies. Again, yes, that is true. Slimy but true. There are also lots of fantastic companies that will bend over backwards to help you. There are lots of companies that will honor what they advertise and don't rely on the fine printed loopholes. Tamko is not one of those honorable companies. It is my belief that Tamko's business plan relies on loopholes at the customer's expense.



Date created: 2018-06-20 Name: Waymon S
Location: Midway Park, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great quality and warranty"
Our company 90% of the time use TAMKO shingle products. Great quality and the warranty cannot be beat.


Date created: 2018-06-11 Name: Robert Sexton
Location: Savannah, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Shingle I have ever seen"
I have Tamco three tab shingles on my roof. As I write this, I have no less than twenty shingles missing. I don't mean that the entire shingle is missing, but one tab torn off in twenty different places. You may ask me, did you have high winds? My response would be that my house is the only one within my neighborhood with this problem. It is not an installation problem but rather a shingle manufacture problem.


Date created: 2018-06-05 Name: April T.
Location: Broken Arrow, OK

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"We love using Tamko"
I work for a local roofing company in Broken Arrow. We love using Tamko Roofing products. They have beautiful shingles and excellent customer service.


Date created: 2018-05-30 Name: Jason Close
Location: Norman, OK
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unwarrantied Manufacturer Defect"
Tamko has a manufacturer defect on their Heritage shingle line. There is horizontal cracking across the shingles, and it is present on many roofs, including mine. Ask a local roofer if they've seen this on Tamko shingles. More than likely, many have seen it. There have even been class-action lawsuits regarding this. Not only does Tamko not want to fix their faulty shingles, they use a very restricted warranty in order to use as a means of denying claims. If you do get a claim, they do not replace defective shingles. They will prorate your roof and only give you a portion of money for only the shingle (not the labor) for a replacement. So if you are halfway through your warranty term, Tamko will only provide you a claim for 50% of the shingle cost for replacement. This will only cover around 25%-35% of the total bill for a replacement of a faulty roof. They are glad to sell a faulty shingle, and allow you to pay the labor twice (once to put up the faulty shingle, and again to fix it).


Date created: 2018-04-20 Name: JOE Smith
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Shingle Company"
Bought 50yr shingles in 2007. 10 years later my roof is leaking, shingles are curling and falling apart. Tamco said they are not going to warranty the shingles because i am the 2nd owner of the home. Even though i really owned the home at the time of shingle installation, just hadn't had all the paperwork done yet.


Date created: 2018-04-01 Name: don lowry
Location: berlin n.y
Model: Haritage 50

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Can other shingles pass my test"
16 years and counting, installed roof 2002-2003 Tamko heritage 50. full roof tire off, new ply and rafters, old farm house ice @ water in valleys and edges. Ridge and soffit vent on a all. no cracking or shingle detrition to speak of. unlike other roofs done at same time Owen corning, CertainTeed 30year, ask the owners both have cracking and shingle detrition, tabs falling off. we have high winds 4 on wind chart, hot summers 90 cold winters 28 below. If you like to see my roof google it. 28 southeast hollow rd. berlin new York.


Date created: 2018-03-16 Name: Leigh Davis
Location: Leeds, AL
Model: Heritage 30 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heritage shingles failing after 9 yrs, roof leaking"
Tamko Heritage 30-year architectural shingles, weathered wood, installed Feb. 2009. March 2018, roof leaking, large portions of shingles are bald, shiny, fiberglass mat only -- granules and asphalt completely gone from top layer. Seeking to join class action lawsuit -- insurance company won't replace roof because of manufacturer's defective shingles.

<< Previous12345678910111213141516Next >>