Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 162 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 17 brands of shingles

28% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 162 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    42
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    112

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>

Date created: 2018-09-19 Name: Mary GB
Location: Waterloo, IL
Model: Architectual

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Bad Shingle"
Added on to house in 2009. Reroofed back section(new), as front was in good shape. The Tamko on the back has cracked but front part of roof is good and twice the age. How can Tamko say they didn't have an issue especially with a great comparison? Mind blown!


Date created: 2018-08-22 Name: Rita Eldridge
Location: Henryetta, OK
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Oklahoma Buyers Beware!"
Tamko has a manufacturer defect on their Heritage shingle. When the wind blows, they blow off, they are cracking and the fiberglass granules detach and your roof becomes unprotected and shiny! They have clogged my French drains! I have had to have my guttering cleaned just to have the granules removed. When you pull up my driveway, looking at my roof, it looks as if the glitter fairies have visited. Ask a local roofer if they've seen this on Tamko shingles. Better yet, ask your insurance agent. What a headache!!! There have been several states that have filed class-action lawsuits regarding this. Not only does Tamko not want to fix their faulty shingles, they use a very restricted warranty. If you do get a claim, they do not replace defective shingles. They prorate your roof and only give you a portion of money for only the shingle (not the labor) for a replacement. So if you are halfway through your warranty term, Tamko will only pay you a for 50% of the shingle cost for replacement. I have told everyone I know and will continue to try and save others from going through what I'm going through. By the way, Tamko's 50 yr warranty shingles are made the exact same way as the 30 yr warranty shingle. There is no difference other than the name and the $$$. This company is so shady. I have been dealing with this mess for years. I'm gritting my teeth praying help comes soon before more damage is done to my beautiful home. Our only hope for justice is a class action lawsuit here in Oklahoma!


Date created: 2018-08-15 Name: Paul
Location: 63101
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"The worst experience ever!"
You know you made a poor decision to install Tamko shingles when your roof fails after only 9 years. You can call and complain to Tamko and get the runaround for your business. But that's about all from what we can see. Too bad, but I can understand why the dreaded lawyers are trying to get a class case started to represent those like ourselves who've been taken advantage of being sold a poorly manufactured product. Tamko must have a lot of complaints or they simply don't believe in customer service. I will tell everyone I know to never make the mistake we did, and buy any Tamko product.



Date created: 2018-07-27 Name: BobbiJo
Location: Pennsylvania

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not happy with their warranty"
I moved into my house in 2007 the previous owner replace the roof in 2006. I'm having trouble with my roof leaking because the shingles are very brittle. I called the company and they're telling me that the new owner had to switch the warranty into my name otherwise the warranty was voided. Now who remembers to do that when you sell a house or even ask when you buy a house. When I spoke to somebody at the company because they said they couldn't replace the shingles I asked if there was any way they could offer a discount because I have to redo my whole roof and their answer was no imagine that. I would never recommend tampco product


Date created: 2018-07-19 Name: Philip
Location: Cocoa, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Only brand I use"
Never had a problem with Tamko It's the only brand I use.


Date created: 2018-07-16 Name: A. Milne
Location: Murray, UT

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Been using them 40+ years"
Tamko makes a better shingle than any other brand! We have been using them for 40+ years.


Date created: 2018-07-06 Name: Frank Jr
Location: Paintsville, KY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Quality product at a good price"
What we use in our company. quality product at a good price. if it wasnt good we wouldn't use it. best warranty in the game!


Date created: 2018-06-28 Name: April Oaks
Location: Sandy, UT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rigid Slimy Policy to Transfer Warranty"
I'm very frustrated with Tamko's policy on transferring their 30 year warranty. They market a 30 year transferable warranty. However, their policy for transferring the warranty is very rigid. I can only assume that this product will not hold up for 30 years. Otherwise, why would they not have a friendlier warranty policy? Their policy is the warranty must be transferred to a new owner within 30 days, and can only be transferred once. We called on day 30, didn't get an answer from the company (truthfully we probably called the wrong division in the company). On day 31 (which we originally thought was day 35) they would not honor the transfer. Yes, not calling sooner is my fault. If you've ever moved, you know how chaotic moving can be. No one knew or remembered to tell us about the 30 day warranty. The seller and the roofer who put the roof on both told us the warranty was good for 30 years, but neither remembered or knew about the 30 day transfer rule. Yes, they should have read everything. It's my strong personal belief that Tamko's business plan has created a limited warranty that ensures they will not have to stand by their product for 30 years in many situations because customers will forget the details of the warranty. The three people I talked to at the company all said that this is how limited warranties are with lots of companies. Again, yes, that is true. Slimy but true. There are also lots of fantastic companies that will bend over backwards to help you. There are lots of companies that will honor what they advertise and don't rely on the fine printed loopholes. Tamko is not one of those honorable companies. It is my belief that Tamko's business plan relies on loopholes at the customer's expense.


Date created: 2018-06-20 Name: Waymon S
Location: Midway Park, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great quality and warranty"
Our company 90% of the time use TAMKO shingle products. Great quality and the warranty cannot be beat.


Date created: 2018-06-11 Name: Robert Sexton
Location: Savannah, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst Shingle I have ever seen"
I have Tamco three tab shingles on my roof. As I write this, I have no less than twenty shingles missing. I don't mean that the entire shingle is missing, but one tab torn off in twenty different places. You may ask me, did you have high winds? My response would be that my house is the only one within my neighborhood with this problem. It is not an installation problem but rather a shingle manufacture problem.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617Next >>