Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 157 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 17 brands of shingles

28% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 157 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    41
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    108

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213141516Next >>

Date created: 2017-11-16 Name: Kevin Pratt
Location: kansas city

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Company"
Lets face it. Most asphalt shingles are pretty much the same road materials of asphalt and gravel with a little fiberglass thrown in for texture. LOL. What really make the difference in manufacturers is the people you deal with! Stephan McNally, Bill Riley, etc. these people are the top in their field. Not only knowledgeable, but friendly, attentive, and just good business people. If they worked at any other manufacturer of a like quality product, they would rise that brand to the top. Tamko is so blessed to have people like this in place from top to bottom. I have never met a Tamko employee, no matter what their job that wasn't friendly, and glad to be doing what they do! Go team Tamko!


Date created: 2017-11-07 Name: Terri Williams
Location: lexington,ky
Model: Heritage Premium Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Online/brochure: What you see is not what you get"
I am getting ready to get shingle replacement using Tamko Heritage Premium shingles. The biggest tiring headache with trying to choose which shingles has been the book brochure brought to your home display total different colors compared to real shingle. Black Walnut shows brown in brochure. Online shows different from brochure. When I asked to see real shingle sample -- for example: black walnut -- you can't hardly see the brown. So disappointing. It looks like full black shingle. I wanted the brown to show more. This makes me feel like these are old & discontinued shingles. I went on with black walnut; however, with naked eye, you can't hardly see brown. Just black & off black. I wanted black with touch of red look or brown. I wish another option. Shingles being purchased soon.


Date created: 2017-10-26 Name: Mark
Location: Nebraska

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Investment"
I wish I would have not purchased and Installed this product on my biggest Investment! The shingles do not seal. If you are looking to roof you're home new or replacement. Do not use Tamko!



Date created: 2017-10-25 Name: Mark B.
Location: Mid Michigan
Model: Metal shingle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very unhappy. Very..."
Long story short, Tamko won't stand behind my warranty... because I'm a second owner. Steel shingle roof installed on 2011. I bought the house in 2014. 12 to 15 leaks in random spots all over. In 2017 they will not warranty anything because the 50 year limited warr. wasn't duly transferred within 30 days of house purchased - the warranty wasn't transferred in name to them on time. So I'm left holding 6 year old steel roof that was 15 thousand new...that can't keep my house dry . Absolutely disgusted. Buyer beware... read the fine print, even if you didn't get any warranty paperwork! I do not recommend anything with the name Tamco.


Date created: 2017-10-02 Name: M & R Roofing, Inc.
Location: Englewood, CO

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Outstanding"
We have used Tamko shingles for over 30 yrs. We have had very few problems, and the customer service we have received has been outstanding.


Date created: 2017-09-26 Name: Happy Homeowner

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy Homeowner"
We got a new TAMKO roof six years ago after a bad hail storm. I've been really happy with it. It's done its job, no problems and the color is fantastic. We went with a gray blend and it looks so great that one of our neighbors decided to get the same roof a couple years later because she loved the way it looked! I've also noticed several of our neighbors have wind damage and shingles blown off, but ours still looks great and is doing its job!


Date created: 2017-09-13 Name: Tamkoevil

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko - the shingle made out of paper."
Junk shingles. I should know, I had two brand new Tamko roofed homes fail in 6 months. My roofer had to do my home over again three times. Finally ending up with Certainteed Landmark Pro MaxDef which are awesome.. Don't risk your roof or your home with Tamko trash.


Date created: 2017-08-07 Name: Dultmeier Roofing
Location: Kansas
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tamko stands behind their shingles"
Tamko products have proved their quality to our company and our customers for over 30 years.


Date created: 2017-07-25 Name: R Egee
Location: Alabama
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never again!"
Built our house in 2009. Around 5yrs old I noticed many shingles were fading. My roofer (only 2 in our rural area and considered the best) told me to contact Tamko. Tamko sent instructions to mail 2 shingles to them for review. My roofer took them down for me and I mailed them to Tamko as instructed. Tamko said the shingles were defective and said since it was after 5 years that they would give me 70% of my shingles....no labor costs. According to warranty my shingles were covered for 5 years for full coverage. After 5 years no labor costs given and shingles were prorated. They said that I would have had to notice problem before 5 years. The discoloration was slight at first. I even sent them pictures from google earth showing discoloration before 5 years was over. I didn't realize the color difference until it faded a great deal. But goggle earth clearly shows the difference. Now I can see it in old pictures but was not looking for roof problems then. Since I have noticed many roofs with the same problem. The consumer has to prove that the shingles were bad before their full replacement warranty expires. Tamko admits the shingles have a manufacturer defect. The manufacture defect did not happen on my roof. 'Manufacturer' defects happen at the 'manufacturer'. So they were defective before they were installed but somehow Tamko says it's not all their fault and I should have noticed it sooner. FYI....even the day after installation labor to remove defective shingles are never covered. And the shingles they give you as replacements are not under a warranty of any kind.


Date created: 2017-07-21 Name: Ryan
Location: Wisconsin

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage"
10 years old and the shingles are shot. They do in fact hide behind a warranty that means they can make a piece of crap and get away with it. A company I wouldn't even recommend to someone I don't like. Take your money and run, if that is the type of roof your looking for.

<< Previous12345678910111213141516Next >>