Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 215 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#13   of 15 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    37
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    172

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1213141516171819202122Next >>

Date created: 2010-09-01 Name: S Baillargeon
Location: McGregor, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO What Not to Buy!!!"
Had a professional roofer intall IKO shingles and 3 months later they were flying in the wind. Had IKO representatives take samples, said they were defective. A year later still fighting with roofer and IKO to have them replaced. IKO does not stand behind their product, wants you to go through enough red tape to discourage you to continue. I will be contacting BBB for this is unacceptable for any company to get away with this when you have paid over 6 grand for a new roof and all you receive is stress and promises from roofer and IKO and none of them deliver.


Date created: 2010-08-19 Name: S.Abraham
Location: Pickering, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont buy IKO"
Had Rennaisance shingles installed and after less than 7 years they've deteriorated to the point that aesthetically I need a re-roof. Curling, cracking etc. I expect leaks soon. Followed the ridiculous warranty claim process and was basically brushed off. BRUTAL customer service....they know there is a problem with their product but can't admit liability or will suffer too much financially. I'm researching the class action suit in order to join.


Date created: 2010-08-11 Name: A. Tessier
Location: tessieraw@xplornet.com

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never Again"
Built my house in 2001. Roofing was done by pros. using iko renaissance shingles. I live along a river, with lots of High winds. I have had to replace shingles, ripped off by the wind 5 times over 9 years. Had to redo all of the roof in the back of the house 2 years ago. I am waiting for a contractor to again replace some shingles. So never again will I buy Iko products which are manufactured in my home town.



Date created: 2010-08-08 Name: Tony Rizzuto
Location: Chatham. On

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware"
I purchased IKO Renaissance 25 year shingles 10 years ago and had them professionally installed. Well those 25 year shingles I am told by 2 independent roofers were defective - they do not stand up - no really - roof leaks, cracked and curling appearance yep sounds like a crappy product to me after less then half its advertised life. It is now costing me over 8K to have a new roof installed and you can bet your donkey that I will not be using IKO shingles.


Date created: 2010-07-27 Name: H. Siebert
Location: Oakville, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shingle Failure"
In 1998 I had a local roofer with an excellent reputation replace my old roof with a new one. He used IKO shingles and assured me that I would have no problems. About 5 years ago I noticed that some of the shingles started curling and cracking. When I spoke to the roofer, he assured me that there are no problems and that this is a minor appearance issue and not covered under warranty. Well by now many of the shingles have failed completely and are breaking off. I am beginning to have serious leakage problems. The answer from the roofer: "12 years is about normal and it's time to completely replace the roof - $8400 please. And BTW its not worth contacting IKO about any warranty". Does anyone have any idea what happened to the class action suit?


Date created: 2010-07-17 Name: G. Urban
Location: Toronto, Ontarion, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Iko sucks"
Iko shingles installed by expensive contractor in 1996. Shingles, after only 14 years are brittle, cracking, flacking and leaking and a couple have been broken and blown off from the top of the roof by minor wind. Roof needs replacement!


Date created: 2010-07-08 Name: C. Brooks
Location: New Hampshire

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No complaints on my architectural shingles"
I had 30-year Iko Cambridge Seal-O-Matic architectural shingles installed on my home in November 2009. They've gone through their first New England winter, and I've had no complaints whatsoever. However, since the shingles and labor are covered under warranty for the first year, -- and we're still within that period -- I suppose they haven't really been put to the test yet. ;-)


Date created: 2010-06-19 Name: ADanko
Location: Ottawa,on

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"25 year shingles last only 14 years"
After only 14 years, shingles are curled and the asphalt is separating from the felt. Three different toffees all agree the whole roof needs replacement. We are applying to Iko for a warrantee claim. It involves a lot if paperwork.


Date created: 2010-06-16 Name: M.Danner
Location: New Philadelphia, OH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very Poor Life"
Roof was installed in the spring of 1997, and by 2009 the roof was deteriorating badly. The roofer came back and told me the IKO shingles he used were defective. He gave me a warranty packet to file a claim. IKO sent me a claim packet, which I filled out and sent back, with sample defective shingles. Amazingly, even after fighting with them over thier address for the package to go to, of all things, I recieved a settlement for the cost of the shingles only. I would not put IKO shingles on a doghouse.


Date created: 2010-06-13 Name: R. Kirner
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"20 year shingles"
IKO asphalt shingles installed in June 1995 in Burlington Ontario Canada by professionals on a one story house and were supposed to be guaranteed for at least 20 years. However, the shingles (especially on the West and North side) are damaged to the extend that the whole roof needs to be replaced. I have instructed the new roofer, not to use IKO products any more.

<< Previous1213141516171819202122Next >>