Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 222 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#15   of 17 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 222 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    39
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    177

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous121314151617181920212223Next >>

Date created: 2011-01-03 Name: RK

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO very poor quality on our new home"
We designed and built our dream home back in 1996 and the roofing sub contractor installed IKO Chateau Shadow with a 30 year warranty. Last year I called in a new roofer to look over the roof because all the shingles were cracking, warping and just plain comming apart. Absolutely nothing wrong with the installation according to the new contractor. Vents were correct, application was correct, the shingles were just coming apart! We had to have the entire roof redone and IKO just sent us a letter saying they were going to only cover 23 squares out of 92 and at a highly reduced price, take it or join the class action suit against them.


Date created: 2010-12-21 Name: JC

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"IKO"
I have an IKO roof with a 30Yr shingle. I have had it for over 22yrs. They look like I put them on a couple years ago. Why, because I have the proper ventilation in my house. My Soffit and my ridge vent is not blocked. They are on a 8-12 roof pitch. My roof does not leak, and if it did, it wouldn't be from the shingles. Most likely from the contractor screwing something up during installation then blaming the manufacturer, why, because the home owner doesn't know better. Why would the manufacturer pay out if your roof is cooked because the person who installed them blocked the ventilation which there fore your roof will deteriate sooner than it should. Ford isn't going to give you a new car if Joe's auto shop forgot to put the oil cap back on and your engin cooks right? A professional contractor should be aware if there is no ventilation or it is blocked and should tell you that the shingles will cook sooner if this is not taken care of. Mine did and my roof looks great after all these years. This goes for any other brand as well. The home owner should do their research on the contractor just as they should on the roofing manufacturer. IKO has the thickest and heaviest shingle on the market. The thicker it is, the less chance of heat getting into your house and the longer it will last with the proper ventilation.


Date created: 2010-11-30 Location: Marietta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Alright Roofing Shingles."
Ive had these shingles on the roof of my house for about 10 years now, They are fairly decent for the price, But seem to give out a lot quicker than others. Ive had a few minor repairs on my roof with these certain shingles, But nothing really you can avoid (hail,thunderstorms etc..) I just seem to be the only one getting repairs on my roof after certain weather. Would definitely recommend to a home where weather isn't crazy, but for houses with scares weather exposed to them, definitely get something stronger. Definitely not buying again where I live.



Date created: 2010-10-27 Name: B Scheelar
Location: Chestermere, Alberta

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Rennaisance - 25 year"
Bought a new house in 1999, builder/roofer installed IKO Rennaisance 25 year shingles, in fact they struck out the original 20 year warranty and put in 25 year warranty. I am in the process of having the shingles replaced due to cracking and deteriorating, I have had [3] quotes done and all of the firms that inspected the roof recognized the fact that the original shingles were the IKO Rennaisance which apparently have an inherent problem. This is not covered by insurance.


Date created: 2010-10-27 Name: E. Van
Location: Cape Cod , Ma

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"cambridge"
Started leaking after 12 years, no help from iko in resolving issue. They do not stick behind thier faulty products, thus the multible lawsuits. Bad company with bad products.


Date created: 2010-09-11 Name: M. Geiser
Location: Massena, N. Y.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Disappointing!"
A professional roofer recommended we use 20-year IKO shingles in 1998. By 2009, the shingles were seriously failing...curled, cracked, shedding. Called the same roofer, who said there was was extensive paper work involved in filing a claim, and that we'd probably not receive compensation after all. The roofer has not returned our follow-up calls. Why do contractors continue to recommend a product with such a poor reputation? We need to replace the roof, at about $10,000., and wouldn't dream of using IKO again.


Date created: 2010-09-07 Name: Peter Yoanidis
Location: Cambridge, ON. Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO Renaissance 25 year"
IKO SHINGLES ARE GARBAGE!! PLAIN AND SIMPLE. I had them installed on 3 roofs in 1998, 2000 & 2002. I noticed small cracks everywhere on the first roof in 2000 but was assured by IKO that this was a normal characteristic of the brand. WRONG!!!!! I was dupped into putting them on the other 2 roofs and HAVE REPLACED THE FIRST 2 ROOFS TO DATE. AND THE THIRD NEXT SUMMER WHEN I GET SOME CASH. I'm sueing IKO for 19K in Small Claims Court on Friday September 2010. I will not loose. Every one should do this and put them out of bussiness.


Date created: 2010-09-01 Name: S Baillargeon
Location: McGregor, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"IKO What Not to Buy!!!"
Had a professional roofer intall IKO shingles and 3 months later they were flying in the wind. Had IKO representatives take samples, said they were defective. A year later still fighting with roofer and IKO to have them replaced. IKO does not stand behind their product, wants you to go through enough red tape to discourage you to continue. I will be contacting BBB for this is unacceptable for any company to get away with this when you have paid over 6 grand for a new roof and all you receive is stress and promises from roofer and IKO and none of them deliver.


Date created: 2010-08-19 Name: S.Abraham
Location: Pickering, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dont buy IKO"
Had Rennaisance shingles installed and after less than 7 years they've deteriorated to the point that aesthetically I need a re-roof. Curling, cracking etc. I expect leaks soon. Followed the ridiculous warranty claim process and was basically brushed off. BRUTAL customer service....they know there is a problem with their product but can't admit liability or will suffer too much financially. I'm researching the class action suit in order to join.


Date created: 2010-08-11 Name: A. Tessier
Location: tessieraw@xplornet.com

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never Again"
Built my house in 2001. Roofing was done by pros. using iko renaissance shingles. I live along a river, with lots of High winds. I have had to replace shingles, ripped off by the wind 5 times over 9 years. Had to redo all of the roof in the back of the house 2 years ago. I am waiting for a contractor to again replace some shingles. So never again will I buy Iko products which are manufactured in my home town.

<< Previous121314151617181920212223Next >>