Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Timberline shingles

Timberline Logo

Read 36 Timberline Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#8   of 16 brands of shingles

41% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    12
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    3
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    20

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Timberline shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234Next >>

Date created: 2018-09-17 Name: Dux
Location: FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Never again."
Absolute rubbish. These shingles fray, crack and lose their coating prematurely, and are known to be defective. I developed leaks in spite of routine maintenance. The company does not stand behind its product, so their warranty is worthless. Stay away.


Date created: 2018-07-23 Name: Robert Gilligan
Location: NY

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Co."
My shingles failed on half of my roof. I did everything they asked but they just denied my claim. They never came to inspect the roof even though they said they would. Gaf shingles and co. Are garbage, dont use them.


Date created: 2017-07-13 Name: A. Fullington
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"No Customer Service; Poor Warranty"
My 25 year warranted Timberline shingles failed after 16 years, causing a hidden leak that resulted in a $2700 wall repair. I submitted a warranty claim (not for the repairs; just the failed shingles) with all forms, proof of home ownership, photos and ultimately shingle samples. I twice notified the GAF Warranty Claims Department in writing that I was going to replace the roof, to which I got no reply. They finally called to arrange an on-site inspection after the new roof was on, saying they didn't have enough information to complete my claim. DUH! They sent a settlement check for $18.60 (insulting!) that I returned unopened. I wanted to appeal. No customer service or consumer affairs contact was provided on their websites. Repeated calls to the Standard Industries (parent company) New York office for an official with whom to raise my issue got no response. Finally, on June 15, 2017 I sent a brief summary of the affair to the attention of Co-Chief Executive David Winter asking for a review. As of this writing July 13 I have received no acknowledgment of my letter. My bottom line is that you cannot count on any satisfaction with a GAF roofing claim (I see others have reported the same result), and that the organization has no customer service.



Date created: 2017-06-06 Name: Duane
Location: Cadillac Michigan

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk"
I had to replace my shingles 4 year into my 30 year warranty. The shingles never stuck to each other or the tar paper. They was also cracking. Sent shingles in for warranty and was told there was nothing wrong with them. Good luck if you buy anything from this company.


Date created: 2017-04-21 Name: RALPH WELLER
Location: VA
Model: Hunter Green

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Oil has been released."
The shingles had dark streaking on installation. Gaf will not replace their product. Don't buy gaf shingles


Date created: 2016-05-17 Name: Fred
Location: Auburn Washington
Model: 50 year + Systems Plus

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Water under the shingles"
I have water dripping down the front and back of the fascia board. There is water under the shingles. It has gotten progressively worse. I am 4 years into a 50 year roof. The new nails visible in the attic are rusty. The roofer that put them on believes there is a problem, as do I. This is not the only problem roof this roofer has with GAF 50 year material. The sales rep showed up. He wanted to look in the attic. Oh, you can't have gable end vents with a ridge vent and soffitt vents, you have a ventilation problem he says. Need to block off the gable vents. I asked him how a ventilation problem was causing water under the roofing material and on top of the Tyvek. Yeah, crickets. Pass on GAF roofing materials.


Date created: 2016-05-08 Name: Majorly Irritated
Location: Orlando, FL
Model: Timberline 30 Year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective shingles"
We purchased the the GAF Timberline 30 year warranty shingles. Thirty years-HA! Try ten years, over $11,000. I have been trying to negotiate with GAF to replace the shingles and pay fora portion of the labor. They do not want to take responsibility for their defective product. They were willing to send me shingles, but I would need to pay the shipping costs. What a joke. It is despicable that a company that makes so much money off the backs of working people can sit by and continue to advertise 30 year shingles that do not last even 1/3 of their promised life. A class action suit was recently settled whereby GAF lost due to the defective shingles. It seems as though they did not lose enough money in that class action and are seeking more losses. Do not go with the GAF Timberline 30 year shingles!


Date created: 2016-04-06 Name: M.Nielsen
Location: Ellicott City, MD

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Total failure and aggravation"
We re-roofed our house with 60 squares of GAF Timberline 30-year shingles in 1997 during a major remodel project. By 2007 we started getting numerous wet spots in upstairs ceilings, outer walls etc. By 2010 we had to bring in roofers regularly to do patch and repair jobs. The shingles were cracking left and right. New leaks were appearing with each rainstorm. Several squares of replacement shingles were needed over time to patch all the leaking spots. The roof looked like a patchwork quilt of moldy old tiles and new ones. Yikes! By 2014 it was so bad we had to make the hard call to get the whole thing redone. GAF gave us about 20% of the cost of the new Certainteed shingles as part of the class action lawsuit settlement over their faulty product. It was far too little to cover the interior drywall repairs, repainting and the cost of having 14 sheets of rotten roofing plywood replaced. It did nothing to assuage the frustration, turmoil and anxiety created by living 7 years with dripping ceilings, moldy drywall and the fear of every incoming rainstorm. I profoundly hate GAF and their products!


Date created: 2016-02-17 Name: Greg
Location: Seattle Washington
Model: Ultra

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bottom of the barrel"
Had the Timberline shingles put on 4.5 years ago. Gaf preferred installer installed per recommendation. Water is dripping off the front and back of the fascia boards. Problem has been getting worse. This year the sheeting is wet in 3 places. Say no to Gaf.


Date created: 2015-01-07 Name: C P
Location: Minnesota
Model: 40 year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst shingles"
We installed 40 year Timberline shingles in 2008 on our second home. During this 6 year period we have repaired/replaced shingles 4 or 5 different times which not only includes installing new shingles where they went missing but also using tar to seal down the ones that are left and about to blow off next. Homeowners insurance suggests not to file a claim with them as the difference between the deductible and cost to repair is minimal and will only cause the rates to go up. Guess I am going to research the class action lawsuit against them in hopes to recover the cost of the shingles and the repeated repairs.

1234Next >>