Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Decra shingles

Read 41 Decra Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#3   of 18 brands of shingles

46% of customers recommend
3 of 5 stars 41 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    20

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Decra shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345Next >>

Date created: 2020-10-03 Name: Lynne
Location: Black Forest, CO
Model: Decra roof

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Decra roof is leaking."
I bought a home with Decra roof. The company claims you can transfer ownership warranty within twenty years of ownership but must provide written request within 30 days of ownership. I was declined. I am now have problems with my Decra roof after a hail storm. My roof is leaking in many areas. The roof is not very tolerant. I filed a claim with my insurance Company and they increased my rate by $500. I would not recommend Decra. The claims they make about their roof performance is a case of to good to be true.


Date created: 2020-08-03 Name: peter decarolis
Location: Farmington, ME

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Absolutely terrible product"
Do not use any Decra metal tile product. They do not stand by their warranty. We have a simple leak in a 6 year old roof. The company that installed is no longer in business and Decra without even looking stated that most likely the company did not install it properly so your warranty is void from a single picture I sent. No roofer in a 50 mile radius will even come out to look at our roof to repair. They simply state they will not work with this product and are only willing to replace the roof entirely.


Date created: 2018-05-30 Name: C. Morgan
Location: Charlotte County, Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Decra Protects in CA 47 Years; FL 15 Years"
We give Decra Tile roofing the highest rating possible. Our California home passed rigid home sale inspection after 45 years (still looked like new). We replaced our Florida two year old concrete tile roof almost 15 years ago after a hurricane. Neither roof has ever leaked. Neighbors who installed a Decra roof had an issue with vent flashing that was corrected. We have so much praise we can give for this exceptionally outstanding product.



Date created: 2018-05-25 Name: Tom Greenwood
Location: Decatur, IL
Model: Decra

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Roof Imaginable"
Great roof. Lower cooling bills. No visible change in 10 years.


Date created: 2018-04-17 Name: WoodinVirginioa
Location: Ladysmith, Virginia
Model: SHAKE XD

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Looks pretty good 10 yrs later"
Put two additions on a 1200 sq ft house making it a 3200 sq ft home when it was finished. Did away with the asphalt flat rood and decided to wrap it all up with a 50 yr rated roof because I live in Central Virginia where we worry about Hail, Ice, Hurricanes & Tornadoes. Wanted something I wouldn't have to worry about again I was 52 then. Had Mills Brothers roofing of Frederickburg,Va install the roof; they out Grace's Water shield over the entire roof, then put down some type of blue membrane on top of the water shield they flashed my skylights & then bolted the roof to the roof. It was a pretty thing going up. Now after 10 yrs I do have a few spots of Mold showing through. All roofs have that in this humid area but the roof by and large has held up to everything they had promised it would do. No shingles have ever come off or buckled and we have had storms with 70-80 mph winds. Still glad we went with this roof even though it did cost 3 times ehat a 30 yrs architectural roof would have cost I think we are still getting our $$$s worth even 10 years later. YMMV.


Date created: 2018-03-19 Name: timothy marks
Location: port barre, louisiana
Model: Decra Shingle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not stand behind product"
I had Decra shingles installed on my new home in 2010. At the time there were no suggested installers in my area. I found a licensed roofing contractor who went thru the effort of learning the proper way of installing Decra Shingle material. About a year after installation I started to notice a leak in one of the vallies of my roof. I had the installer come back out several times and try to correct the problem with the Decra materials, however the problem got worse. Within the last year, I started noticing other areas that are leaking. I have reported this to Decra and with only reviewing pictures that I submitted (no one came to inspect this in person), they concluded that the installation was not performed correctly and there is nothing they will do to help me correct my problem. After reading other reviews, this conclusion from Decra seems to be popular with their claims department. My advice is do not use this company or their product.


Date created: 2018-02-15 Name: jlindley
Location: Dallas, Tx
Model: Decra Tile

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Hire a competent installer"
I had a Decra Tile roof installed in July, 2013 by a Mckinney, TX Roofing company. I had multiple leak issues with that roof that they failed to fix over a course of 3 years. In 2016, a hail storm hit My neighborhood and I was able to get my roof totaled due to dents. I used a different roofing company out of Carrolton, TX to install a 2nd Decra Tile roof. They talked me into giving Decra a 2nd chance. The quality of the install was night and day compared to the first roof. With this roof all of the leaks are resolved. The installer is critical to insuring a quality roof. Make sure your installer knows what they are doing.


Date created: 2017-11-24 Name: E. Storn
Location: Ocean City, Maryland
Model: Shake

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great upgrade over asphalt"
We specified this product on my parents home that is near a coastline. We have repaired the barely 10-year-old asphalt roof no fewer than a dozen times in the last year. This roof is not a complex layout either but the blow offs were continual and even in well below warrantied wind speeds. The shingle manufacturer did zippy when it came to standing behind the product for any number of reasons. The roof was originally installed in the summer so temperatures were not an issue at the time of install (i.e. a cited reason by the manufacturer for "lack of sealing"). We wound up going back with Shake product and the roof has stood up to several severe storms with zero defect. We were a bit worried during the first one, but it has been rock solid. Unforeseen benefit of the metal was that the summer temperatures in the home have gone down considerably during the summer. This was unexpected and has really decreased the cooling load of the home. The AC barely kicks on at this point (parents keep the house warm already) and it is very easy to get comfortable when we go to visit them.


Date created: 2017-08-14 Name: Timothy Martin
Location: Texas
Model: Stone Coated

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Fraudulent Warranty"
Our roof is only 15 years old, but is blowing off because of the starter and drip edge decra installers used. Decra has denied our warranty claim on the grounds that the installation was improper and not covered by the warranty. Stay FAR away from this product.


Date created: 2017-02-18 Name: Virgil Stamp
Location: Tucson, AZ
Model: Villa Tile

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My new DECRA roof looks awesome!"
I have installed a Decra roof in 2004 when I was living in Dallas, TX. I didn't care for their customer service at the time. I had a friend who had a patent on a tool for metal cutting that I thought they'd be better utilizing than what the industry suggests. Anyway, after continually trying to reach someone in charge I eventually made my way to their cfo who was a complete jerk! He never called me after I sent him a sample but asked him to return it and he was rude to me. Anyway, I just moved to Tucson and had to replace the clay roof but decided to go to my local Roofing yard and see what they had. There was DECRA and the Villa Tile was what I needed. I installed it and came back to show the yard manager pictures and told him my story of a few years back. About 2 days later I get a call from the President of DECRA himself and he express his regrets for the behavior of a past employee. This guy was first class! Not going to ever recommend anything but DECRA and GAF.

12345Next >>