Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Gerard shingles

Read 6 Gerard Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#13   of 18 brands of shingles

16% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 6 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    1
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    3

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Gerard shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review


Date created: 2019-10-19 Name: Cris Fischer
Location: St. Louis, MO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy a Gerard roof"
I purchased a home in St. Louis, MO in 2010. I have had an issue with the roof leaking since the time I bought it (the roof was only 2 years old at the time - with a lifetime guarantee - supposedly). I could not get a Gerard roofing person to come out and inspect the roof at all and the company that installed it went out of business. I have spent thousands of dollars in repairs and the company - with the supposed lifetime guarantee - does not stand behind the product and I have no recourse. Note that there are class action lawsuits in Texas and Florida against Gerard roofing. Do not buy this product!


Date created: 2019-05-29 Name: S. Golden
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Model: looks like shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"50 year warranty"
Had roof installed May 2013. Have solar heat for pool which the put on after Hurricane Michael got streaks of Rust running down. The installer came out said it would cost $600.00 for labor said you should do it yourself. So we got rust off found a hole about 1 inch round he said fill it in and then I will get you the color to put over it. Just found out the shingle color has been discontinued. so fortunately we had some color to fix it. Then I asked about a real problem was told file claim with insurance and they will have to take off this and reinstall with new color!!! so much for a 50 year warranty!


Date created: 2016-12-02 Name: gail
Location: south Fl
Model: Canyon Shake

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Be careful"
I have had my roof for awhile. Overall I like the roof. But I am in a homeowners neighborhood. My HOA has been troubling me for several years to clean my roof. I finally received help from Gerard to locate someone who could clean according to Gerard's standards. Problem... They want $1500.00 just to clean my roof. Which is going to need to be done approximately every 2 years in Florida! Which I find incredible. On calling several roof cleaning companies the price to clean my roof was between $147.00 to $400.00. That is a big difference!



Date created: 2016-07-25 Name: S Boyer
Location: Mullen, NE
Model: Canyon Shake

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty problems"
We had a Gerard roof installed in 2014 and then had a hail in 2015 with loss of rock and dents in the shingles. When I put in the warranty claim, it was denied because the shingles were not completely penetrated by the hail.


Date created: 2014-06-14 Name: Bob S.
Location: New London, WI
Model: Canyon Skake

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Gerard Metal Roofing"
I had my roof installed in 2014. The warranty is the best. The look of the shingles are rich and still very classic. Our summer cooling bills are reduced and I am sure our ice damming in winter will be reduced noticeably. Our insurance went down by 5%, yours may vary. Our installer was very knowledgeable and I'm sure helped the process a lot. Make sure you get an installer that is certified from Gerard!


Date created: 2011-07-24 Name: x054ex
Location: Granbury, TX
Model: Canyon Shake

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Canyon Shake Steel Roof"
I had this roof installed on my 2 story home about 15 years ago and remain fully satisfied with its appearance, wearability, etc. My electricity bills went down considerably, the house is quieter, and I feel safer in wind and hail storms. While my neighbors have needed replacement roofs following hail storms, I have seen no problems with my Gerard Roof. People rarely realize that my roof is metal, since the shakes look so much like regular shingle roofs. I love my Gerard roof.