Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of BP shingles

Read 160 BP Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#16   of 18 brands of shingles

18% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 160 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    28
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    2
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    124

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about BP shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213141516

Date created: 2010-07-17 Name: Terry Arsenault
Location: Hanwell, NB, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Avoid BP like the plague"
We were halfway through our 25-year BP shingles when the roof started leaking. Weren't able to get a penny from them.


Date created: 2010-07-07 Name: MH Sherebrin
Location: London, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP Rampart 25 year"
It is 7 years since installation and the shingles have started to curl on the roof side facing west. We have lived here for 43 years and have never observed this type of failure before. Work was done by an experienced roofer who claims he has had other customers with this problem. He suggested that there was defective manufacturing. BP warranty department promised to inspect the roof in the next 6 to 8 weeks and let us know what they will do.


Date created: 2010-06-10 Name: D.Gee
Location: Kentville, NS, canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective Rampart Shingles"
We purchased the BP Rampart 3 tab 25 year shingle in August 2008, these were placed on even ground, on the pallet they were delivered on, covered with a tarp and wrapped with a rope to secure the tarp. We installed these shingles in July/August 2009. Immediately we noticed these shingles had an excessive amount of silica sand and an oil substance between a number of the shingles. I called the retailer from whom we had purchased these and was told this was ok, that this would not case any problems, well now 6 months later these shingles have 80% of the tips standing up, fishmouthing throughout, and the shingle are not sticking down. I have been in contact with BP Canada and their local sales rep, and they have after 4 months, offered a PRORATED, not a 5 year non prorated ,as the warranty states, there offer is 10 bundles and $500. to fix the problem. Well I have installed 65 bundles of these across my home and garage. Would you recommend these? My lawyer and I will not.



Date created: 2010-05-14 Name: dan doherty
Location: arthur ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Can't get a hold of them(Emco)"
Our shingles are about 7 years old and they are lifting everytime the wind blows.We have had a few blow off and we continue to repair them. HOw do you get a hold of this company?? All the numbers have been disconected..Seem"s to me that they are not very intrested in keeping customers happy. I will not buy anther shingle for this company if I do not have to.


Date created: 2010-05-02 Name: JUDY
Location: collingwood ontario canada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"LOVE MY INTERLOCK SHINGLES"
i LOVE MY INTERLOCK SHINGLES THE APPERANCE IS DIFFERENT THEREFORE THEY STAND OUT ... i LIKE HAVEING something different and i guess i do. My son is building a new home and now wants them . having trouble getting some Ww need at least 300 bundles black in color .... Can you help ? thanks Judy


Date created: 2010-02-15 Name: jim calianno
Location: lawrence, MA , USA

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not holding up"
we had our roof rplaced in 2001 and the shingles that were installed are BP 0039. they are rated as a 25 year product. if we were to have a roofing contractor inspect our roof today (less than 9 years later) they would suggest replacing the roof. the product has not held up, and there are areas where the product is breaking down. our hose is over 100 years old with a 10 pitch roof. the preparation and installation of this roof was professional. we live in the North East and the weather is tough, but there are similar homes in the area that have roofs much older than ours that are in much better condition. for a 25 year product to look the way our roof does after 9 years does not speak well for this product. we are approachung retirement, and we will have to replace our roof again - we are not pleased with this product.


Date created: 2009-11-08 Name: R. Lee

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP shingles lifing off"
Our shingles have been lifting off ever since we had our shingles replaced several years ago. Initially the damage was minor and our roofing contractor returned each time and replaced them. This spring, the winds lifted off larger patches of shingles. Given the continuing problems along with the magnitude of the problem (not just a couple of shingles being lifted off), I contacted BP. I was asked to send samples, photos, etc. They finally stated that they could not do anything in this situation as the WIND warranty had expired (5 years...my new roof was installed 6 years ago). I replied to BP stating that the shingles were not sealed properly, therefore allowing winds to lift them off. My roofer was able to easily lift the shingles up. He indicated that some of the shingles were starting to crack (premature wear) and there was very little adhesive on the shingles that were removed and sent to BP. After providing this feedback from our roofing contractor, BP continues to treat this problem as one caused by the wind and therefore covered by the WIND warranty. I don't see any other homes in my area affected by winds.


Date created: 2009-10-21 Name: L. Fell
Location: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Building Products of Canada Corp."
My husband and I were very unsatisfied with bp canada shingles. We had a 25 year warranty and after 13 years the shingles were unfolding and rain sipping in. The contractor who installed their shingles came for an inspection and agreed the shingles needed to be replaced (and in fact stated that for about 5 years there was a problem with the quality of their shingles), took pictures and sent the information away to bp. We subsequently received a letter back from their quality assurance dept. stating that "several factors independent of the shingles can affect the appearance of a roof". We are now in the process of re-shingling the roof with another company's brand. bp Canada Building Product of Canada Corp. does NOT back their product. Buyer beware!


Date created: 2009-09-23 Name: b chaplin
Location: Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"BP SHINGLES"
Bought B.P. shingles and most had a defect called alligators teeth. Building products of canada took 4 months to figure out what they where going to do for warranty.Now they have decided to just replace the shingles that are bad. Now they will disturb the roof as they have to pull shingles out of spots and replace them with good ones.Extra holes in the plywood and extra holes in the tar paper. They wouldnt settle for cash as the roof just looks bad up close and will not leak. This company sucks to deal with and is impossible to get ahold of someone in charge. I will never buy from this company and I recommend that nobody else should either.


Date created: 2009-07-23 Name: S MacLean
Location: Hamilton, ON

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Mrs Sherrie MacLean"
after a siz year long battle we finally settled on a cash settlement not even enough for a new roof. I would never recommend this product or would I ever use it again.

<< Previous12345678910111213141516