Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Malarkey shingles

Malarkey Logo

Read 40 Malarkey Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#6   of 18 brands of shingles

42% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    16
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    0
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    0
  • Very Unsatisfied
    23

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Malarkey shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234Next >>

Date created: 2020-02-18 Name: Jim
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Model: Legacy

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Best Ever"
I installed my roof 5 years before a tornado decided to rip my entire roof off. It took every piece of decking and several rafters with it and threw it over five acres. Upon inspection, the only shingles that were missing was the ridge. Not one shingle broke loose. And there was 2 1/2" hail...not to mention winds of almost 200 mph...and no hail marks. I read these reviews about blistering and nail heads being exposed. This is an issue with the installer and not Malarkey shingles. Of course Malarkey isn't going to warranty poor installation. I wouldn't either. As a roofing contractor I see roofs all the time that are blistered, dry, crunchy and cracking. The top reason is no ventilation or at least very poor ventilation. All these that are loosing shingles and expecting the manufacturer to replace them need to go back to the contractor that installed the damn thing. Six nails per shingle is what is required by Malarkey. A lot of roofing companies promise 5-6 nails per shingle but you would be surprised at the number of roofs I've looked at that only have 3 or four. This allows wind to get under them before the glue strips have had a chance to adhere. It takes time for a new roof to settle and adhere properly... it doesn't happen overnight! Most every negative review I have read here is an installation issue and those issues void the warranty. The manufacturer of any shingle has no control over the idiots that are installing their product. If you go to WalMart to buy a can of coffee and its stale you don't call bitching to Folgers that their product is inferior. On a very personal level, I very highly recommend Malarkey products. As a contractor, I very highly recommend Malarkey products. That is all I sell (and I get NO kickbacks from Malarkey at all) unless the customer makes a request for something else.


Date created: 2020-02-09 Name: H.Heeren
Location: Latimer, IA
Model: NorthWest

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Not a reputable company"
If you choose this company for its great warrantees, forget it. We had nothing but trouble from year one. Supposed to last 40. The roofing company who installed it has been very good. They have also dropped Malarkey. The name IS appropriate.


Date created: 2019-08-23 Name: John Dardick
Location: Lafayette, CO
Model: Windsor

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Malarkey Class 4 Windsor shingle and service fail"
I recently replaced my roof, 2 years ago; it was a CertainTeed Presidential product. The roofer recommended the Malarkey Windsor Class 4 roof system. I live in a hailstorm region, Colorado. Unfortunately, after a relatively minor hailstorm the new roof is totaled, most hail was well under an inch. I have written to Malarkey and conveyed not a single neighbor, nor to the best of my knowledge any of the 70 homes in the neighborhood sustained damage. What was disappointing was Malarkey's response, unless it is a defect your recourse is with the insurance company. I expected more from a customer service perspective and product. They could have offered a number of options to mitigate the loss without acknowledging fault. They could have offered to upgrade the replacement roof with the more substantial Windsor XL. I will not replace my roof with Malarkey.



Date created: 2019-05-23 Name: Bettty
Location: Campbell River BC Canada
Model: Dura Seal

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Betty F"
We built our house 9 years ago. We started to see problems at 7 year but at the age of 9 years it began leaking! All the grit was coming off and after cleaning the eavestroughs would get almost a medium size box of grit! Malarkey would only recognize the problem once the roof leaked. A roofing contractor said the whole things should be replaced. Malarkey would only provide 1700.00 to replace the whole roof..which will cost just in materials 6000.00 plus labour. Don't buy them!


Date created: 2019-05-07 Name: Renee Rubin
Location: Cambria, CA
Model: XL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sold defective shingles"
About 2-4 weeks after my Right Start warranty expired, my low-voltage transformers all burned out during a rainstorm (wind gusts no higher than 50 mph). Although the Malarkey inspector found the shingles to be defective---adhesive strips never sealed---the company abdicates responsibility and will not replace the materials.


Date created: 2019-04-16 Name: C. Muggli
Location: ND

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They will not follow through on warranty"
Worst customer service ever!


Date created: 2018-12-05 Name: Marianne Behrnes
Location: Worland, WY
Model: Legacy

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Ridge Cap - Malarkey Shingles"
In the fall of 2016, I received three bids to re-roof our home. Since Malarkey shingles had been recommended to us and since the bid from the "certified" Malarkey shingle contractor, Pinnacle Construction from Casper, WY was close to the other bids, we chose Pinnacle Construction to re-roof our home. After the shingles had been installed, it was called to our attention that they had incorrectly installed the ridge cap on the home, five dormers, the breezeway and the garage. I was told that you never install the ridge cap with exposed nail heads as it opens the door to possible leakage down the road. I called my contractor, Pinnacle Construction, in Casper, WY, and asked why his employee had installed the ridge cap with exposed nail heads. I was informed that they do this in high wind areas and Wyoming is a high wind area. Casper, WY is a high wind area but Worland, WY isn't so I asked him if he'd redo the ridge cap to my satisfaction as both my husband and I thought this would be the last roof we had to worry about in our lifetime due to their 50 year warranty. The cost would be $1500.00 to remove the existing ridge cap and $1500.00 to re-install a new ridge cap the correct way AND his 10 year warranty would be void! Since I had already paid him and felt this an outrageous amount to correct his error, I called Malarkey Shingles and spoke with Matthew Fox. He told me that people who have the exposed nail heads go behind the contractor with small square pieces of shingles and glue these pieces over the nail heads. I laughed! The manufacturer apparently doesn't care how the roof looks after they have sold their product. He also told me that being a Certified Malarkey Shingle installer is just a matter of applying for the title! I also went to You Tube and watched Matthew Fox explain how to install a ridge cap to a home and his video does not show installing it with exposed nail heads. After this I called around to several contractors in Wyoming who live in high wind areas and each informed me that they Do Not install the ridge cap with exposed nail heads. Malarkey Shingles are warranted for 50 years but this only applies to the material on the shingles, it does not apply to leakage by inferior installation. They will not warrant my roof from leakage even though a certified Malarkey installer was hired to roof my home...what a sham!


Date created: 2018-11-10 Name: Keith Healey
Location: Trail BC Canada
Model: Highlander

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very very poor customer service"
I phoned the factory in Oregon 3 times and they finally sent me a letter to fill out, which the average individual would only be able to fill out half of the answers as it should have been sent to the roofer who did the work. I faxed it back to them the day I got it (which took 3 weeks) and after 2 more weeks I started phoning them to find out what is going one. Long story short, 9 phone calls later and I still have not got an answer and to add to the frustration my roofer has not called back either. What happened was I lost what I calculated to be about 100 pounds of granule either blown off or washed off by the rain and was all over everywhere. I have now written it off and this so called 20 year roof when it falls apart in 12 -13 years I will get a "50" roof from obviously a different company. Please, please people do not deal with this company at all.


Date created: 2018-10-08 Name: J. Hunchak
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Model: Alaskan/highlander

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Shamrock Roofing"
Roofing contractor never installed Malarkey, factory rep came out to educate and certify, top quality job! Product research I've done, other brands grains sluffing off even before install. Not with Malarkey, best warranty is the one you don't need, this is a bonafide 30-40 year product. Roofers said easiest product to install.


Date created: 2018-09-26 Name: Levi
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Model: Duraseal

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"3 Tab is Class 4!"
I just recently discovered that the malarkey Duraseal a 3 tab shingle with is know to be the lowest grade shingle is now class 4 impact rated. And itís still the same price! I think that's shows how good of a company malarkey is.

1234Next >>