Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 110 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 18 brands of shingles

22% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 110 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    19
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    80

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2021-05-25 Name: Jeanette West
Location: Bradenton, FL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
Misleading warranty. After 5 yrs. algae forming on roof. Certainteed will only do a cleaning. The customer has to pay for two 36"x12" shingles to be removed, and then will be reimbursed $50 of the cost. Then the customer has to pack and ship to them along with all documentation, which, being an oversized package could cost $80/90 to ship Good luck with having the shingles match up, or possibly compromising the integrity of the roof. There is no rebate on the shingles. The previous shingles were by GAF and looked as good when they were removed as the day they were installed.


Date created: 2021-01-08 Name: L. Johnson
Location: Doraville GA.

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"3 years old and and already cracking up"
Liked the color. Roofer had good reviews on Google. Price quoted was in the middle of the estimates. Thought all shingles were about the same. Learned a very expensive lesson.


Date created: 2020-07-29 Name: W P
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Model: Landmark AR 30 Year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Misleading Warranty Claim"
I have a 9 year old roof with a 10 year warranty for blue algae problems. Similar to another complaint, you will need to remove shingles to send to CertainTeed to prove they are CertainTeed shingles along with other documentation. The real problem is that the warranty states CertainTeed will pay the reasonable cost to replace or clean at its option, any affected shingles. In discussing the warranty with CertainTeed Support, the Support Representative stated that CertainTeed will not replace any shingles for a blue algae problem, only clean the shingles. The warranty contains misleading information, so beware.



Date created: 2020-05-28 Name: Gregg
Location: Mt Dora, FL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible warranty"
Although the roof look great for the first five years, blue green algae started staining the roof year six. There is a 10 year Algae resistant warranty period but as Certainteed has no local inspectors or representatives that can view the issue, you are required to remove a tile in the trouble area. Unfortunately this is in the center of the roof and unless you have extra shingles, good luck matching the color. Why they do not accept pictures or the word of the roofer who did the job is beyond me. Obviously this is a great way to avoid ever having to stand behind their warranty. Needless to say, I would avoid this company if you have any other choice.


Date created: 2020-04-19 Name: P. Benoit
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Model: Landscape 40

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Chasing leaks on a 19 year old roof ( 40 year shingles )"
Chasing leaks. Not even 19 years on 40 year shingle. I paid extra to upgrade to the "Landscape 40" and used water and ice on the whole roof. Most likely why it took this long to show the leaks. After a close inspection I found over 50% of them were NOT sealed along the adhesive strip. Allowing water between them and allowing it to find it's way into the house. So now I'm looking to reseal them and repair the ceiling. I realize I might not get all 40 years out of them but less than half of that. Poor excuse of a shingle. Would NOT recommend these and I would say buyer beware. There are better choices.


Date created: 2020-03-04 Name: Allen
Location: Smithton, IL
Model: LandMark 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They look horrible now"
I had these installed on my home because the supplier said they would look good for many years. They began to show serious stains within 4 years and now they are stain covered. It's been 12 years and I was expecting the roof to last a long time. I have written the company and received no response. The shingles are crappy and I am sorry i bought them!


Date created: 2019-08-23 Name: Joe Vendor
Location: Vancouver Wa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Good Product / Garbage Service"
As a Vendor of their products, Good Products overall, However doing business with them, is Garbage, shingle Rep is as arrogant as they come. Certainteed's new Email to schedule a appointment for pick up.. They are so disconnected with us, the vendors and you the homeowners its sad really. I would rather sell Malarkey.


Date created: 2019-05-23 Name: chas
Location: new jersey
Model: horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed= Junk"
Shingles that never sealed, stones washing off filling guttras total crap shingle!


Date created: 2019-03-01 Name: Kay Rice
Location: Orlando, FL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed sells inferior products and doesn't honor their warranty"
The newer CertainTeed Landmark shingles are of poor quality. We had a new roof installed two years ago and already have most of the shingles flying in light wind because the adhesive strips are defective which doesn't allow the shingles to adhere to each other. CertainTeed does not give a flip. They will give you the run around asking for shingle samples and delaying as long as possible until you either give up or your warranty expires. Check all of the reviews and you'll see that there have been numerous complaints of poor shingle adhesion and granular shedding. If you get more than 10 years on a 30 year CertainTeed Landmark roof, then you are one of the lucky ones. Someone needs to sue the pants off this company until they learn to have some integrity and stand behind their product.


Date created: 2018-09-30 Name: Dillon Vautrin
Location: Pulaski, NY
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"No Problems"
I have put these on two of my homes and a few homes for other people. The shingles arrived in good shape. Went on as expected and I have had no problems. It has been approximately ten years now since the shingles were installed on the first home which is now an apartment and they have been holding up well. No blow offs or defects. Of course I put them on to the manufacturers directions and in the summer so they glued down fast. This always helps.

1234567891011Next >>