Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 122 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#15   of 18 brands of shingles

21% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 122 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    20
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    90

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2023-01-09 Name: Broker Mike
Location: Boise
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Garbage"
Complete garbage, don't waste your time or money! I am a Real Estate Broker and we are seeing widespread failures of these shingles. CT is refusing to warranty them even though the 30 year products have failed in less than 10 years. This company has so many lawsuits against them for roofing and siding products that you can't even tell which is which. They knowingly sold defective products and continue to do so. You'll never know if you have the defective shingles until it's too late, and then uncertainteed will find a loophole in the warranty and refuse to even take your calls. Run away from these thieves and go buy a quality product from a company that stands behind their products. If your roofer recommends them, find a new roofer.


Date created: 2022-11-07 Name: Brett Pulliam
Location: Durham, NC
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Duped Again"
We have trees around our house. The installer told us that the Landmark shingles had an algae-resistant coating and would be perfectly fine for our location. I even had them install zinc strips at the ridge for added measure. It has been two years and our roof is about 50% covered in green algae. But not blue-green algae which is the only algae Certainteed has a warranty against (blue green algae is typically found in bodies of water, not on roofs). Our old 30 yr shingles didn't have that much algae on them. Very sneaky of Certainteed to claim "algae" resistance in bold print. That's what you get for trusting people who say "trust me".


Date created: 2022-11-03 Name: Brock

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"General Contractor"
After building for over 30yrs I have never experience working with a company that gave so little to nothing for a product manufacture by them (CertainTeed) and proved to be a defaulted shingle. How ever if a warrantee is what your looking for, they will give you that, but you need to look very carefully at the small black writing. I was always been taught to stand behind your workmanship and if at fault, MAKE IT RIGHT! Signed; Looking for a new company to do business with.



Date created: 2022-05-25 Name: donald oran toole
Location: sw indiana
Model: Px Super White

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Px Super White"
Eight year old shingles, leaking roof and loose shingles


Date created: 2022-05-12 Name: roger g suda
Location: Braidwood, ILL
Model: Certainteed brand XT-30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very poor quality"
Home built in 2008...Roofer doing job next door...went on my roof and took pictures of my shingles...almost all of them have cracks in them. This roof is not going to make it another 10 years. The product is a scam


Date created: 2022-04-22 Name: joe patton
Location: lima ohio
Model: Dimensional shingle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
Would not honor their warranty after most of the stones came off my 30 shingle in 14 years.


Date created: 2022-02-02 Name: Frank
Location: RiverVale, NJ
Model: Fiber cement siding

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware of this Inferior Product"
I had Certainteed Fiber Cement siding put on my new home. In just a few years the siding cracked and shrunk, making it unsightly. I entered into a class action law suit and and received $8000. Obviously, this is not nearly enough to side a 3400 sq ft house. Any company that can leave consumers in such a bad position has no right to be in business.


Date created: 2022-01-20 Name: V. Laffredo
Location: South Carolina
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Inferior product & dishonest company"
40 year shingles were put on in 2012. 8 years later granules have fallen off exposing backing in several areas. Have jumped every hoop in the claims process. After admitting shingles were defective Certainteed sent $200 check to replace shingles. One week after check was deposited, Certainteed's banking institution took the $200 back from my account costing me $12 in bank fees. Certainteed customer service rep said it is my problem with my bank and not Certainteed's issue. Dishonest company peddling inferior products.


Date created: 2022-01-06 Name: Lori Garcia
Location: Montfort, WI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a Joke the lifetime warranty and extra windspeed is!"
We had a storm here that had gusts around 67 mph and it blew a section of my shingles off. Called them... they had me send pictures and a full shingle, cannot be bent via mail - cost about 40 bucks... and they said they sent to the lab for testing? Testing on shingles for Wind?! Three weeks later get a letter stating there is nothing wrong with the shingles and nothing is covered. What world am I living right now! The shingles may have defects but they don't stay on the roof - isn't that why I have the extra wind warranty? I've given up on any company doing the right thing or even really caring about anything once they have your money. The lifetime warranty came with my home when I bought it - this just proves why I never buy them myself.


Date created: 2021-10-13 Name: B Allgood
Location: Lehi, UT
Model: 1032

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"4 years later, replaced entire roof."
The house is just under 4 years old and already we need to replace shingles for the entire roof. The shingles had flipped up from the wind, breaking them and causing the neighboring shingles to also lift, tear and come off of the roof. There are multiple places where multiple shingles have blown off of the roof.

12345678910111213Next >>