Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 119 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#15   of 18 brands of shingles

21% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 119 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    20
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    87

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2022-05-25 Name: donald oran toole
Location: sw indiana
Model: Px Super White

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Px Super White"
Eight year old shingles, leaking roof and loose shingles


Date created: 2022-05-12 Name: roger g suda
Location: Braidwood, ILL
Model: Certainteed brand XT-30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Very poor quality"
Home built in 2008...Roofer doing job next door...went on my roof and took pictures of my shingles...almost all of them have cracks in them. This roof is not going to make it another 10 years. The product is a scam


Date created: 2022-04-22 Name: joe patton
Location: lima ohio
Model: Dimensional shingle

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
Would not honor their warranty after most of the stones came off my 30 shingle in 14 years.



Date created: 2022-02-02 Name: Frank
Location: RiverVale, NJ
Model: Fiber cement siding

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Beware of this Inferior Product"
I had Certainteed Fiber Cement siding put on my new home. In just a few years the siding cracked and shrunk, making it unsightly. I entered into a class action law suit and and received $8000. Obviously, this is not nearly enough to side a 3400 sq ft house. Any company that can leave consumers in such a bad position has no right to be in business.


Date created: 2022-01-20 Name: V. Laffredo
Location: South Carolina
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Inferior product & dishonest company"
40 year shingles were put on in 2012. 8 years later granules have fallen off exposing backing in several areas. Have jumped every hoop in the claims process. After admitting shingles were defective Certainteed sent $200 check to replace shingles. One week after check was deposited, Certainteed's banking institution took the $200 back from my account costing me $12 in bank fees. Certainteed customer service rep said it is my problem with my bank and not Certainteed's issue. Dishonest company peddling inferior products.


Date created: 2022-01-06 Name: Lori Garcia
Location: Montfort, WI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"What a Joke the lifetime warranty and extra windspeed is!"
We had a storm here that had gusts around 67 mph and it blew a section of my shingles off. Called them... they had me send pictures and a full shingle, cannot be bent via mail - cost about 40 bucks... and they said they sent to the lab for testing? Testing on shingles for Wind?! Three weeks later get a letter stating there is nothing wrong with the shingles and nothing is covered. What world am I living right now! The shingles may have defects but they don't stay on the roof - isn't that why I have the extra wind warranty? I've given up on any company doing the right thing or even really caring about anything once they have your money. The lifetime warranty came with my home when I bought it - this just proves why I never buy them myself.


Date created: 2021-10-13 Name: B Allgood
Location: Lehi, UT
Model: 1032

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"4 years later, replaced entire roof."
The house is just under 4 years old and already we need to replace shingles for the entire roof. The shingles had flipped up from the wind, breaking them and causing the neighboring shingles to also lift, tear and come off of the roof. There are multiple places where multiple shingles have blown off of the roof.


Date created: 2021-07-22 Name: Angela Lail
Location: Morganton, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dishonest Company - Read Thoughly Thru this Review!"
Update: 7/22/21 If you are looking to resolve your complaint with CertainTeed for issues with their warranty or lack of honoring it, Please submit your claim to Department of Justice, 114 W Edenton St., Raleigh, NC 27603 Mailing Address: Attn: Special Deputy Atty General Stuart Saunders Department of Justice P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, NC 27603 I was informed today 6/21/21 that the DOJ is aware of the warranty that is being disregarded by CertainTeed Mfg., based out of Malvern, PA., whereby they are only willing to cover the expense of cleaning your shingles. This is the company’s way of avoiding the replacement of defective shingles that they continue to manufacture and sell to roofing companies. In order for the DOJ to open a full investigation they need complaints that have been submitted online to be forwarded to them. There is a complaint form provided online by the DOJ at www.ncdoj.gov. This will allow them to further proceed with an investigation but at this time there is not sufficient claims that have been received. I am more than willing to assist anyone that is interesting in filing said complaint, you can email me at [redacted]. This company is uninterested in the number of complaints from customers and refuses to uphold their warranty except for the cleaning of the shingles, which is annual task that must be done in order to rid the algae/fungus from their supposedly 'algae-free' shingles. The cleaning solution is deemed harmful by the Environmental Protection Agency 2011 and is listed as a 'hazardous substance' under the agency's Clean Water Act. The Center for Disease Control also discourages the use of trisodium phosphate, (their cleaning solution) and lists, shock, burning sensations, abdominal pain and collapse as reactions. The Roof Cleaning Solution used by CertainTeed uses chemicals like chlorine bleach, TSP (Trisodium Phosphate) as a cheap roof cleaning spray to make your shingles look new again but is NOT advisable. Chlorine bleach/TSP chemical combination can kill plants, and the phosphate can hurt the environment, due to runoff. Chlorine bleach also dries out a shingled roof causing curling, and ultimately shortening asphalt roof shingles life. Bleach runoff may void your termite warranty. Roof stains return in as few as 9 months, and the roof algae/fungus is worse than before. If you are interested in holding this company accountable for the lack of customer satisfaction, not to mention the monies that you have infested in your roofing and the lack of concern for upholding their warranty, please file your complaint with the DOJ at the email address above. Together, along with the help of the Department of Justice, we can force them to abide by their warranty. Angela Lail Date: 7/21/21 I am currently unable to resolve an issue I have with my roof, shingles manufactured by CertainTeed. After six years they are black, horrible looking! The company refuses to honor their warranty, no surprise there, after reading numerous complaints online about this company! They are a horrible to deal with! But rest assured I'm not finished with them yet, they will replace these shingles before all is said and done! They met the wrong dissatisfied customer when I was unfortunate enough to get their sorry shingles. Here we go... Certainteed, you will pay for my shingles! Betcha!


Date created: 2021-07-19 Name: Eric Dahlke
Location: Jacksonville, AR
Model: 30 year 3 tab standard

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed 20 years and no leaks"
I had CertainTeed 30 year standard 3 tab singles installed 20 years ago here in central Arkansas. We live in an area with lots of hot sun and prone to sever windy thunder storms, hail and tornados. I've not lost a single yet, neighbors have lost high dollar architectural singles several blown off by storms. They have said your the only house around that hasn't had any singles blown offs. Allege staining resistance lasted the 10 years as the warrantee claims. I wish that was longer, but the durability has been 1st rate, no sever curling like many lesser quality singles after 20 years. All asphalt loss granules over time folks! You don't have a clue what your talking about. My next roof is going to another CertainTeed XT-30IP roof!


Date created: 2021-05-25 Name: Jeanette West
Location: Bradenton, FL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
Misleading warranty. After 5 yrs. algae forming on roof. Certainteed will only do a cleaning. The customer has to pay for two 36"x12" shingles to be removed, and then will be reimbursed $50 of the cost. Then the customer has to pack and ship to them along with all documentation, which, being an oversized package could cost $80/90 to ship Good luck with having the shingles match up, or possibly compromising the integrity of the roof. There is no rebate on the shingles. The previous shingles were by GAF and looked as good when they were removed as the day they were installed.

123456789101112Next >>