Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Certainteed shingles

Certainteed Logo

Read 112 Certainteed Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#14   of 18 brands of shingles

23% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 112 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    20
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    6
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    81

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Certainteed shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2021-07-22 Name: Angela Lail
Location: Morganton, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dishonest Company - Read Thoughly Thru this Review!"
Update: 7/22/21 If you are looking to resolve your complaint with CertainTeed for issues with their warranty or lack of honoring it, Please submit your claim to Department of Justice, 114 W Edenton St., Raleigh, NC 27603 Mailing Address: Attn: Special Deputy Atty General Stuart Saunders Department of Justice P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, NC 27603 I was informed today 6/21/21 that the DOJ is aware of the warranty that is being disregarded by CertainTeed Mfg., based out of Malvern, PA., whereby they are only willing to cover the expense of cleaning your shingles. This is the company’s way of avoiding the replacement of defective shingles that they continue to manufacture and sell to roofing companies. In order for the DOJ to open a full investigation they need complaints that have been submitted online to be forwarded to them. There is a complaint form provided online by the DOJ at www.ncdoj.gov. This will allow them to further proceed with an investigation but at this time there is not sufficient claims that have been received. I am more than willing to assist anyone that is interesting in filing said complaint, you can email me at [redacted]. This company is uninterested in the number of complaints from customers and refuses to uphold their warranty except for the cleaning of the shingles, which is annual task that must be done in order to rid the algae/fungus from their supposedly 'algae-free' shingles. The cleaning solution is deemed harmful by the Environmental Protection Agency 2011 and is listed as a 'hazardous substance' under the agency's Clean Water Act. The Center for Disease Control also discourages the use of trisodium phosphate, (their cleaning solution) and lists, shock, burning sensations, abdominal pain and collapse as reactions. The Roof Cleaning Solution used by CertainTeed uses chemicals like chlorine bleach, TSP (Trisodium Phosphate) as a cheap roof cleaning spray to make your shingles look new again but is NOT advisable. Chlorine bleach/TSP chemical combination can kill plants, and the phosphate can hurt the environment, due to runoff. Chlorine bleach also dries out a shingled roof causing curling, and ultimately shortening asphalt roof shingles life. Bleach runoff may void your termite warranty. Roof stains return in as few as 9 months, and the roof algae/fungus is worse than before. If you are interested in holding this company accountable for the lack of customer satisfaction, not to mention the monies that you have infested in your roofing and the lack of concern for upholding their warranty, please file your complaint with the DOJ at the email address above. Together, along with the help of the Department of Justice, we can force them to abide by their warranty. Angela Lail Date: 7/21/21 I am currently unable to resolve an issue I have with my roof, shingles manufactured by CertainTeed. After six years they are black, horrible looking! The company refuses to honor their warranty, no surprise there, after reading numerous complaints online about this company! They are a horrible to deal with! But rest assured I'm not finished with them yet, they will replace these shingles before all is said and done! They met the wrong dissatisfied customer when I was unfortunate enough to get their sorry shingles. Here we go... Certainteed, you will pay for my shingles! Betcha!


Date created: 2021-07-19 Name: Eric Dahlke
Location: Jacksonville, AR
Model: 30 year 3 tab standard

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"CertainTeed 20 years and no leaks"
I had CertainTeed 30 year standard 3 tab singles installed 20 years ago here in central Arkansas. We live in an area with lots of hot sun and prone to sever windy thunder storms, hail and tornados. I've not lost a single yet, neighbors have lost high dollar architectural singles several blown off by storms. They have said your the only house around that hasn't had any singles blown offs. Allege staining resistance lasted the 10 years as the warrantee claims. I wish that was longer, but the durability has been 1st rate, no sever curling like many lesser quality singles after 20 years. All asphalt loss granules over time folks! You don't have a clue what your talking about. My next roof is going to another CertainTeed XT-30IP roof!


Date created: 2021-05-25 Name: Jeanette West
Location: Bradenton, FL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty"
Misleading warranty. After 5 yrs. algae forming on roof. Certainteed will only do a cleaning. The customer has to pay for two 36"x12" shingles to be removed, and then will be reimbursed $50 of the cost. Then the customer has to pack and ship to them along with all documentation, which, being an oversized package could cost $80/90 to ship Good luck with having the shingles match up, or possibly compromising the integrity of the roof. There is no rebate on the shingles. The previous shingles were by GAF and looked as good when they were removed as the day they were installed.



Date created: 2021-01-08 Name: L. Johnson
Location: Doraville GA.

Satisfaction Rating:

2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"3 years old and and already cracking up"
Liked the color. Roofer had good reviews on Google. Price quoted was in the middle of the estimates. Thought all shingles were about the same. Learned a very expensive lesson.


Date created: 2020-07-29 Name: W P
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Model: Landmark AR 30 Year

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Misleading Warranty Claim"
I have a 9 year old roof with a 10 year warranty for blue algae problems. Similar to another complaint, you will need to remove shingles to send to CertainTeed to prove they are CertainTeed shingles along with other documentation. The real problem is that the warranty states CertainTeed will pay the reasonable cost to replace or clean at its option, any affected shingles. In discussing the warranty with CertainTeed Support, the Support Representative stated that CertainTeed will not replace any shingles for a blue algae problem, only clean the shingles. The warranty contains misleading information, so beware.


Date created: 2020-05-28 Name: Gregg
Location: Mt Dora, FL
Model: Landmark

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible warranty"
Although the roof look great for the first five years, blue green algae started staining the roof year six. There is a 10 year Algae resistant warranty period but as Certainteed has no local inspectors or representatives that can view the issue, you are required to remove a tile in the trouble area. Unfortunately this is in the center of the roof and unless you have extra shingles, good luck matching the color. Why they do not accept pictures or the word of the roofer who did the job is beyond me. Obviously this is a great way to avoid ever having to stand behind their warranty. Needless to say, I would avoid this company if you have any other choice.


Date created: 2020-04-19 Name: P. Benoit
Location: Old Saybrook, CT
Model: Landscape 40

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Chasing leaks on a 19 year old roof ( 40 year shingles )"
Chasing leaks. Not even 19 years on 40 year shingle. I paid extra to upgrade to the "Landscape 40" and used water and ice on the whole roof. Most likely why it took this long to show the leaks. After a close inspection I found over 50% of them were NOT sealed along the adhesive strip. Allowing water between them and allowing it to find it's way into the house. So now I'm looking to reseal them and repair the ceiling. I realize I might not get all 40 years out of them but less than half of that. Poor excuse of a shingle. Would NOT recommend these and I would say buyer beware. There are better choices.


Date created: 2020-03-04 Name: Allen
Location: Smithton, IL
Model: LandMark 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They look horrible now"
I had these installed on my home because the supplier said they would look good for many years. They began to show serious stains within 4 years and now they are stain covered. It's been 12 years and I was expecting the roof to last a long time. I have written the company and received no response. The shingles are crappy and I am sorry i bought them!


Date created: 2019-08-23 Name: Joe Vendor
Location: Vancouver Wa

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Good Product / Garbage Service"
As a Vendor of their products, Good Products overall, However doing business with them, is Garbage, shingle Rep is as arrogant as they come. Certainteed's new Email to schedule a appointment for pick up.. They are so disconnected with us, the vendors and you the homeowners its sad really. I would rather sell Malarkey.


Date created: 2019-05-23 Name: chas
Location: new jersey
Model: horizon

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Certainteed= Junk"
Shingles that never sealed, stones washing off filling guttras total crap shingle!

123456789101112Next >>