Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Dura-Loc shingles

Read 68 Dura-Loc Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#18   of 18 brands of shingles

1% of customers recommend
1 of 5 stars 68 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    63

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Dura-Loc shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2011-09-15 Name: B. and J. Moser
Location: Lincoln, NE

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura Loc Shingles Coating Coming Off"
We are having the same problems with the coating coming off of our Dura Loc Shingles as the others. We had them installed in 2005.


Date created: 2011-09-07 Name: B. and J. Moser
Location: Lincoln, NE 68521
Model: Continental Tile

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Same Problem with Coating Coming Off"
We are having the same problems as others with the coating coming off our shingles. Ours were installed in 2005. This summer especially we have seen lots of coating washing down our gutters. This is a very expensive roof, supposedly with a 50 year guarantee, that appears to be totally not what it was sold us. We are also interested in a class action law suit.


Date created: 2011-09-02 Name: Macon Cowles
Location: Denver, CO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Contact me with Dura-Loc Complaints"
Unless you put your email address in your post, it is impossible for disappointed Dura-Loc customers to get together. If you want to join together to try to compel Dura-Loc to stand behind its warranty, please contact me: [email protected] in Denver, Colorado. I have asked roofery.com to share with me the email addresses of all who have written about Dura-Loc on this site, but I am not sure if they will be willing to provide me with that. Just remember, if you want someone to follow up with you, you will have to provide your email address in your post.



Date created: 2011-08-13 Name: M, Severance
Location: northern ,MI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"dura-loc failures install contractor"
I am roofing contractor who has installed hundreds of dura-loc roofs over the last few years, 2 years ago the calls started coming in, coating failure after and more coating failure, dura-loc (now Allmet)is total fraud, Brian Cosyns, Al Reid are the owners who sold this product to me, and I truly believed in it, they were very convincing, now they will do nothing to honor there warranties. Please contact me, I will do what I can to help in any lawsuit. I have some first hand knowledge of the individuals, the company, and where they are operating now.


Date created: 2011-06-13 Name: L. Silver
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Is the aggregate and acrylic coating toxic if it washes into a garden ?"
The duraloc panels continue to shed aggregate and acrylic coating, leaving large areas on the south looking brown. I think by the end of summer the entire south side of my house will look this way. I have rain barrels collecting water from my large roof, and it is fed by hoses, into my large vegetable garden. I am now worried that I may be putting toxic substances into my garden soil. This is a real concern, and I am wondering if anyone else has investigated this problem. The plants seem to be growing alright, but I am wondering if it is advisable to eat produce grown in soil that is constantly getting water from this shedding roof. There is lots of stone aggregate and black acrylic substance in my eavestrophes, but some washes out into the garden too.


Date created: 2011-05-31 Name: G & D Owens
Location: Orange County, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura-Loc problems"
Like all of the above reviews, my review is equally bad. I had the roof installed in 2006. The blue color lasted only about 3 years. Since then, every rainstorm removes more and more of the stone coating. Now it is turning a greenish brown (probably rust and algea). My gutters are filled with the blue stone coating and when it rains, my driveway and walkways are coated with the stone coating. I would be interested in joining any class action suit. It sounds like there is ample corroborating evidence to win in Canada and the USA.


Date created: 2011-05-12 Name: Smith
Location: Kingston

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Check your eavestrophes for stone aggregate"
My eavestrophes are full of disintegrated acrylic coating, and very fine stone aggregate. This is in spite of having very expensive metal gutter guards, with small holes covering the eavestrophing. Since this is heavy it can damage and bend the eavestrophing, as well as causing blockage. I will have to pay to have all this removed. Damage like this should be included in a lawsuit.


Date created: 2011-05-12 Name: Rick Barlow
Location: Guelph, Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst metal shingles made"
Another consumer who is angry as hell. We had this roof installed 4 1/2 years ago and now the grit is really coming off. We live up here in Canada and were told it was well tested for this climate. Hey Jimmy, have you done anything further and what is your situation now? I always said a warranty is only as good as the paper it is written on. This is nothing but fraud.


Date created: 2011-05-10 Name: N. Kirenko
Location: Chatham, ON Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"complete garbage"
I have the same issue. My roof started shedding after 4 years. After this past winter, most of the ag has disappeard. Looks like shit. Would love to join a class action lawsuit here in Canada!!! Please, someone with knowledge on doing that, please lets us know how we can help.


Date created: 2011-05-04 Name: Cathy B.
Location: Santa Clarita, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They lied about a 'lifetime' warranty"
Our DuraLoc roof was installed in 1998 and has lost most of it's aggregate coating. We notice a great deal of granules on the ground after a rainfall. I'm not talking about a few granules here....we're sweeping up about a 1/2 bucketful each rainfall. Most of the roof is down to just red metal now. This is the shoddiest roofing product around and involves the shadiest business practices. It is outright deception to the consumer. We could have bought a cheap ashphalt roof--we regret we didn't. We contacted 604471 Ontario Limited a few years ago and they sent someone out to our house to inspect the roof. This was their response after the inspection: "Further to our inspection, there is no doubt the roof has experienced some coating trauma of nature. Please note that this is an aesthetic issue only and that the roof will continue to perform keeping the elements out and meeting its life expectancy." Can you believe this??? They basically said that yes, the roof has a problem with the coating on it but although it looks like crap, be happy, 'cuz that ugly roof of yours will keep the rain out. How inspiring. Their offer? To clean the roof, spray paint it and then seal it w/ an acrylic coat. But if you read the 'lifetime'warranty,you received when you purchased the roof, it says that any coating applied to the roof will null and void the warranty. Of course, it doesn't really make a diff since there really isn't any viable'lifetime warranty' anyways. PLEASE, count us in on a class-action suit if there are any gutsy (good) lawyers out there willing to take this on.

<< Previous1234567Next >>