Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Dura-Loc shingles

Read 68 Dura-Loc Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#18   of 18 brands of shingles

1% of customers recommend
1 of 5 stars 68 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    0
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    1
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    63

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Dura-Loc shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567Next >>

Date created: 2011-04-20 Name: J Lowy
Location: Sacramento, CA.

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Same Here"
I just purchased a home last year with a Duraloc system intstalled and have the same problems with my roof as everyone else. Here is the kicker to the situation after going through the previous owners files on the roof replacement. The roof was originally installed in 2001, after a year of fighting with Duraloc in 2007, finally duraloc came out and put a new roof on on 2008, now here we are in 2011 and the same problems are occuring with the new roof. If there is a class action suit count me in. This stuff is junk.


Date created: 2011-04-05 Name: L. Silver
Location: Ontario, Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" How can I contact others here regarding class action suit ?"
My dura lock roof has failed after 7 years. I just noticed the same problems described in other posts -- large brown patches, which appear to be primer. The aggregate is gone. My roof was installed properly, but I am very worried that without the stone coating it may not be water proof, and do damage to my home interior even before I can get a lawsuit underway. I am in Ontario Canada. How can I contact some of you ? You might be able to join a class action suit in Canada. I am not sure -- just starting on this.


Date created: 2011-04-04 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"terrible experience with Duraloc ( aka Allmet) in Ontario"
I am living the Duraloc nightmare. My beautiful roof was installed in 2004. It was this spring, 2011 that I first noticed rusty brown patches on the south side. My house and garage are large, so it was a 35,000 job. My installer did a good job. He had a very highly skilled team. He tells me that I am the second one in this area. He did about 50 others after me, so I expect them all to start to fail soon. I don't know if we can organize a class action suit, but it would be a good idea. At least my roof does not leak, but it is looking terrible. So far it is just one section about 20 ft. sq. but I dread the rest of the roof going too, and that seems inevitable. I assume it lets go all over. Has anyone had the damage restricted to one area ? I was hoping it might be a few defective tiles, but it seems from reading the other posts, the whole roof looses its aggregate. I could afford to replace a few, but not the whole roof. Is Allmet making a better tile now ? The problem seems to be what Al Reid did, but I am not sure. It is probably best to start out with a litigation lawyer. By the sounds of it the shell company is quite non-responsive. Hopefully a lawyer will get his attention, but it still looks like a nightmare. I would be glad to join a class action suit, and I think this situation really calls for one.



Date created: 2011-04-02 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" Is there a class action suit against duraloc, now Allmet"
I have all of the above problems with the brown primer being exposed, and looking terrible. Is there a class action suit I can join. I have a an appointment with my lawyer soon, and live in Ontario, Canada.


Date created: 2011-04-02 Name: Robert O'Flynn
Location: Ft Myers, FL
Model: 1,700,000

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Condo Assoc President"
We replaced concrete tiles on 62 houses with duraloc stone coated metal roofs 5 years ago. The granules are now washing off. The company has been sold and their successor seems to have no responsibility to honor the warranty, Has anyone found a reasonable way to recoat the roofs. Is any legal action underway?


Date created: 2011-04-02 Name: Smith
Location: Ontario

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
" Worried sick about my defective stone coated duraloc, now Allmet roof"
I am in the same boat as the other contributors to this site. My 7 yr. old $35,000 duraloc ( sold to Allmet Roofing Co. ) has a large area turning brown on my green roof. It was installed very well. It is the roofing material that is the problem. The company is not being helpful, and is trying to say it is something "environmental" that caused the primer to show through and look like rust. It is on the south side, and I read online that the sun breakes down the acrylic covering they use, so it starts on that side. I have contacted a lawyer, but a lawsuit will be expensive. Is there a class action lawsuit I can join ? I live in Ontario, Canada. I am very sorry about all the stress and worry everyone is having dealing with this company who does not want to honour a 50 yr. warranty. Is there a solution ? Can another acrylic coating be applied to correct the problem ?


Date created: 2011-03-28 Name: R. Stephenson
Location: Independence, KS

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy!"
Had the Dura-Loc shingles installed in 2001. Parts of the roof have lost all granules and primer is exposed. Gutters have literally filled up with the granules. Not sure how to proceed with the warranty, but from the other posts it is probably a waste of time.


Date created: 2011-03-27 Name: S. Schwartz
Location: Sacramento, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Same as the rest"
Add me to the list for a class action suit. Pretty much the same story, except we actually got them to pay for a partial recoat that I was told would lock in the rest of the granules. A year later my roof is even worse. 100's of sf of bare tile.


Date created: 2011-03-05 Name: Samantha
Location: Orange County, CA: [email protected]

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Dura-Loc"
I live in an townhouse community of 300+ units and about 7+ years ago we replaced our roofing with DuraLoc. There are units that experience higher granule losses than others due to their locations. We are currently working with an attorney and roofing inspector to evaluate what would be the best route to take to address the problem. If you are planning on some kind of class action lawsuit, please contact me for further discussion.


Date created: 2011-02-21 Name: Dianne Price
Location: Denham Springs, Louisiana 70726

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Richard & Dianne Price, Denham Springs, LA"
I once had a beautiful Dura-Loc roof installed in 2001 by a Dura Loc factory certified installer. In 2009, the factory certified installer was adding a new vent pipe onto my house and noticed that most all the granular flakes had disappeared, this is when i contacted Dura-Loc roofing Systems. I was told to contact the new company that had bought out Dura-Loc whcih was 604471 Ontario, Inc., P.O. Box 287, Courtland, ON - Canada NOJ 1E0, after approxiamtely 1 year + or -, a representative came to my house, in return i was sent a letter that the flakes were falling off due to workmanship, again the roof was installed by a certified factory installer by Dura-Loc. and inspected by two factory representatives after completion of the roof and accepted at which time my 50 year warranty was given me. I have cups of granular that have washed off my roof. If i could get the names and addresses of the other customers who bought this same roofing system with a 50 year warranty, i would like to file a class action lawsuite against the roofing company that sold the roof and the company they sold it to as a attachement to the suit. I recommend DO NOT BY A Roofing system from any company representating DURA-LOC Roofing. The warranty is only as good as the company/person issuing the warranty. If you are thinking about buying this type roof, e-mail me and i will send you pictures. DIANNE PRICE

<< Previous1234567Next >>