Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 184 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 18 brands of shingles

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 184 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    45
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    131

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created: 2021-07-10 Name: Atr
Location: Tampa, fl
Model: Titan XT

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Colors are not accurate at all"
Customer beware! I just had these installed on my house and their color samples on the website and sample book are WAY off from the color you get...it's so far off the roofing company that installed also sent a letter of complaint and is warning it's customers that the colors will not be even close to what they will get. I complained to tamko directly and they sent a rep who agreed that the color did not seem to match..but he said it was not up to him to decide this..he took a sample from one of the packages that were extra from the roof installation back to tamko labs for analysis. Two weeks later they said that the color is accurate, I called their claims dept and asked what do they mean accurate? The rep said that the lab said that the color was correct and the color "difference" I am seeing was because the uv rays have degraded the Tru color over time...I told him .you are saying that the color degraded 2 days after the shingles were installed? He did not answer..then I said..that sample you analyzed was not directly from the roof..it was a sample out of a new bag left over from the new install..how could it be degraded if it was never exposed?...he then tried to cover his tracks by saying..well we tell our customers to look at actual houses with the color they chose installed for accuracy. I told him..I saw pic from your website..a sample, as well in the book you supply that show a much, much different color..why are you false adverting? You should real color samples..not expect the customer to investigate the samples themselves..and if so why even show the color on your website? The rep kept saying I'm sorry but that is the correct color you requested. At this time I am now discussing the matter with an attorney about false and misleading advertising by Tamko. My roofer said they may stop carrying the line altogether after this as well, because they do not want other customers having the same problem.


Date created: 2021-05-11 Name: Ryan
Location: Minnesota
Model: Shingles

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"This company is a joke"
To make a long story short their warranty is bogus. They do not pay what the market rate is and the shingles are defective. The builders in my area will not even use them anymore. I am stuck having to get a new roof after 5 years and they pay the bare minimum. Nothing like having to pay an extra $6000 out of pocket for their warranty.


Date created: 2021-04-06 Name: Reggie Lawson
Location: Elkton, VA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crappy Shingles and Poor Customer Service"
I had Tamko shingles put on my roof in 2018. Here we are in early 2021 and I already have to replace my roof. I contacted customer service and they had me pull a few sample shingles to send to them. They fought me the whole way through, didn't honor the warranty, and didn't get back to me in a timely manner. Therefore, I would highly recommend that you do not buy Tamko shingles.



Date created: 2020-12-22 Name: Loretta Johnson
Location: Lakeland, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heir30 color weahterwood"
My roof was installed in June 2013. Sent in shingles along with photos, which shows granules up to an inch in my gutters, that comes off with 1 or 2 showers of rain, not storms, the rain only, worse if storms. I am being told it is normal wear and tear. The shingles I sent had almost NO granules on the ends, sent photos of the amount of granules in gutter along with a full photo of the gutter. I could care less about the discoloration, I care more about the shingle being bad, not the discolorations. Plus, $120.90 would not cover the cleaning of shingles. Has anyone else experienced this with TAMKO? I have been told by many they are a great company. This is one unhappy customer. Talked to a few people, which told me this is not normal for this many grandulers to come off after a regular rain. I am in the Real Estate World, know quite a few people that no what they are talking a long with vendors in the industry.


Date created: 2020-12-21 Name: R Wieman
Location: Joliet, IL
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Extremely Pleased with Tamko products"
Originally had Tamko Heritage shingles installed when home was built in 1995. No problem with them, even when subject to 80-plus mile per hour winds several weeks before replacement. (Others around my area did have problems and they were not Tamko shingles). Installed new roof, also Tamko Heritage in different color, September 2020, because I felt it was time to do so. It probably was not necessary. These are now a 35-year shingle where the original ones were 30 years. Have been pleased with installation and the product itself.


Date created: 2020-11-04 Name: T. Keeble
Model: TAMKO Heritage 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Leaking"
Had TAMKO Heritage 30 which is supposed to be a 30 year shingles installed on my house 1/24/2007 & on June 2020 the roof started leaking. These shingles didn't make it to even 15 years of the 30 years of the shingles. Ended up having to replace my whole roof because of the leaking problems. I will make sure that I don't use TAMKO shingles anymore.


Date created: 2020-10-20 Name: Joe Erickson
Location: 35806
Model: Heritage 30 year AR Rustic Black

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Buyer Beware Tamko Shingles"
Buyer Beware" ..Do Not Purchase TAMKO Shingles.. If you are reading this posting and are looking to purchase a roof shingle for your residence or company and are looking to TAMKO, save your hard earned money and "Bypass this unscrupulous, unethical and amoral" company and their products. The 30 Year Shingle themselves were "defective" from day one. Let your eyes be the judge (Photos) Info follows: 1.) Date roof was installed? 05 March 2009 2.) What TAMKO Shingle did you purchase? TAMKO Heritage 30 year AR- color is Rustic Black 3.) Date the problem began? 28 Apr 2020- During a Soffit repair/replacement- "Roof leaked." Problem was noted on my roof and after several attempts finally reached a TAMKO CSR rep, only to fall into the BS game of the so-called Warranty. TAMKO's final response was cash this $100.00 voucher and accept the pro-rated # of TAMKO Shingles to put on my roof which was not even half the amount I needed. Do your due diligence and research accordingly. There are companies like this one that "Do Not Stand Behind their Product" a 30 year TAMKO warranty is not worth the parchment Butt may better serve as a "utilitarian" form of toilet paper.


Date created: 2020-10-05 Name: Joe D.
Location: sutton MA 01590

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Informational black hole"
I've been researching different brand shingles before choosing our new roof. Just spoke to Tamko technical service It was frustrating. According to the rep "Tamko's owner forbids them from providing bundle weights". When I asked the difference between their standard heritage shingle and the woodgate shingles I was told "woodgate is wider". No help. I tried to learn where the woodgate fell in the "good-better-best" compared to the main heritage and learned Tamko doesn't really do that, its more about look. I found the whole experience unhelpful and got the feeling consumer calls were more a bother to them. Not impressed. Not buying from the Tamko installer now, for sure.


Date created: 2020-08-14 Name: Allen Saussama
Location: Enola, PA
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Product and Worse Customer Service"
I reviewed with BBB so I will not go into as much detail here --- we purchased and had 30 year Tamko Heritage shingles put on new construction in 2007, had a leak in March 2020 ( 13 years old ) and while looking found a bigger problem than we knew, the granules were coming off and the fiberglass base sheet exposed all over the roof! ( how long has that been happening --- I contacted Tamko warranty who sent me a claim form in which we needed to do all the work and take all the pictures to prove we weren't to blame for the issue or that our roofer didn't do anything wrong ( they don't send local people to validate consumers claims ) this process took time and money of us bring in a roofer as well as tearing shingles off to send to Joplin as well as pictures to prove the issue. they basically accepted responsibility for the issue but stateed they don't cover damages or shingle removal in replacement but would give us 31 square of their shingles ( I don't think after this issue we want to replace with their shingles ) and one rep said if we don't want their shingles they could only give us $1,240.00 towards a new roof that will cost between $11,000.00 and $12,000.00 to replace ---- The communication is poor at best and the supervisor won't return my calls to speak in person --- At the end of the day, even when you spend the money to prove the shingle is the issue and you win! they take no responsibility for the problem and send you a settlement that gives you their product to use again ! our homes are the largest expense and investment most of us make in our lifetimes and Tamko treats it like nothing happened and they can't see it from Joplin Missouri so why do anything about it! ---- I will use roofing review websites or company complaint website to share this experience so others are aware of what could be with Tamko shingles


Date created: 2020-08-06 Name: J David
Location: Foley, Al
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Three year old roof failing!"
I bought a new home in 2017. The builder that built my home uses TAMKO Shingles. I recently decided to clean my gutters and discovered about two inches of roof debris in the gutter. After inspecting the roof closer I realized that the granular pieces are rapidly coming off of my shingles. This roof will not last 8 years! I feel cheated! After talking to several local roofers I have come to the conclusion that I will eventually have to pay for a new roof. It's unbelievable that this company can produce such an inferior product and still be in business. Do not buy their roofing!

12345678910111213141516171819Next >>