Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Tamko shingles

Tamko Logo

Read 183 Tamko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#11   of 18 brands of shingles

26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 183 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    45
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    130

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Tamko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>

Date created: 2020-07-29 Name: michael Baldwin
Location: southaven Ms.
Model: 3 Tab

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Defective shingles"
I had a roof put on in april 2013, contacted roofer april 2020 has I had a real bad leak. he came out and noticed he used some shingles that where classified defective. Tamko want warranty them, say they're out of warranty, the roofer says they have a 30 year warranty.


Date created: 2020-04-21 Name: Michael Torres
Location: Wake Forest NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Builder home owner"
I've used Tamko products for decades and Yes, everyone is having a hard time with Covid, but can you believe that Tamko (they supply roof shingles) is shirking their responsibility of their warranty and using Covid to do so. A call was placed inside the 30 day warranty transfer period but no one answered. An email of the situation was sent too. But neither was returned for 5 days because the company was having everyone work from home. This would be a good thing except that 5 days puts you past my 30 day window. So, they of course will not warranty their product that was installed less then a year ago. TAMKO is not an honest company and will do what they can to side step their responsibility.


Date created: 2020-04-02 Name: Monica Gerwitz
Location: St. Louis

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Tamko Shingles Have been Good so far"
Great company to work with and a quality product. I'm happy we went with these guys and would recommend them to others.



Date created: 2020-02-10 Name: Nathaniel Epps
Location: Brandon, FL
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Tamko stands behind product WAAAY Behind"
30 year dimensional shingles failed in 11 years. Most granules gone off roof. Tamko reviewed shingles and did apply warranty. Issue I have is that I do not want asphalt shingles would like to put metal roof. Tamko will not transfer warranty to metal roofing state I have to cash out certificate which means lower payout at $40 per square.


Date created: 2020-02-05 Name: David

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible warranty, snaked their way out"
Slimy company. Won't stand behind their inferior cracking product that was only on the house for 2 years. Would not recommend them to anyone.


Date created: 2020-01-02 Name: Clifford C Eby
Location: Potomac, MD
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Warranty Scam"
After 20 years four major leaks in roof due to cracked shingles with a 40-year warranty. Roof repairs couldn't keep up. Followed Tamko warranty claim process to the letter with pictures and returned shingles. Claim was denied because it couldn't find manufacturing damage,despite pics of inside water damage.. It didn't want repaired shingles. Roof is now replaced and my only recourse is arbitration. Advice, on first leak, start a warranty claim for your entire roof. Don't replace anything until it concurs.


Date created: 2019-11-06 Name: Chris T.
Location: Raleigh, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Would not acknowledge a clearly defective product"
Despite our house being only 3 years old, we outgrew it quickly. When the inspector came on behalf of the buyers, he pointed out that the shingles were buckling on the entire roof. When we contacted Tamko they pointed to high wind gusts being to blame and said they shingles were not covered. We had 2 separate roofing companies come out to assess the damage, and both made separate assessments, leading to the conclusion that the shingles were defective, and that wind was not the factor that attributed to the damage. Tamko then claimed that the installation of the shingles were faulty on our house. This was also debunked by both roofing companies in their assessment. Tamko claimed that they would look at the shingles and had me send them examples to "review" at their offices. Their final assessment went back to the high wind excuse. After all of this run around and getting our final answer, we had to out of pocket the new roof to sell the house, and Tamko stood on their already disproved excuse and refused to budge. When touring the neighborhood, almost all houses built in the same year had the same issues with their roofs. Tamko never admitted to a faulty batch despite clear issues. When it comes time to replace our roof at our new house we will be going out of our way to make sure we do not have Tamko shingles used.


Date created: 2019-08-22 Name: Trey H
Location: Phoenix AZ
Model: Heritage

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pay attention when buying a new home"
Purchased an 8 year old home without giving much consideration to the roof. It's a newer home and what could possibly go wrong with the roof shingles. My mistake and that won't happen again as I learned a costly lesson with a worthless warranty on 30 year shingles. I will never consider purchasing any home again going forward that had Tamko shingles installed on it's roof. These are extremely deficient shingles.


Date created: 2019-05-31 Name: Kathleen
Location: Florida
Model: Heritage Ridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shading issues"
Well, I saw the reviews about shading issues online and my gut said to bail but sadly I didn't. I spoke to my roofer about the reviews prior and he said he never had any issues with TAMKO. I called the shingle supply company and they said they had one claim a year but not for the color Painted Desert. So, we had a new roof put on May 2019 and sure enough, obvious shading issues in multiple spots. It looks pretty bad and their rep came out and took pics. They refunded us for 32 bundles and gave us a voucher for labor when another new roof will go on. I can't believe this happened because the roof cost 15K. All I had to do was listen to the reviews and pick another company. They were very fair and nice but the roof looks terrible. I do not recommend this product. They apologized and said the machine did not do the proper "color drop." Our labor crew did not see the shading issues when laying the roof because of the sun. When I went up on the ladder to take a peak at the work I was like OMG, what is this? Oh, the bundles also had 2 manu dates on them but they claim that does not matter if they were constructed in the same plant location but I bet it does matter. Pick another shingle company and avoid a problem. Sorry TAMKO...


Date created: 2019-05-23 Name: Tom Anderson
Location: MO

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"The worst experience ever!"
When you pya the money you do for a new shingled roof you'd expect a whole lot more from a manufacturer. Not many people stay in their homes long enough to concern a company like Tamko, but those that do will be extremely disappointed with the quality of their roofing product. My advise is don't get caught up with the warranty promises which are truly worthless and will have you jumping through hops you didn't know could ever exist. Tamko will be happy to take your money and do everything they can to turn you away when something is obviously wrong. Read the reviews folks and stay away!

<< Previous12345678910111213141516171819Next >>