Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of LeafFilter gutter guards

Read 121 LeafFilter Gutter Guard reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#8   of 8 brands of gutter guards

5% of customers recommend
1.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    7
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    15
  • Very Unsatisfied
    95

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about LeafFilter gutter guards

Read reviews of other Gutter Guard brands
Write a review

12345678910111213Next >>

Date created: 2021-03-23 Name: George
Location: Suncity center, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor customer service"
Leaf filters installed my gutter guards. Had to come back to fix issues. Was promised a refund and still not received...poor customer service, as they do not return calls as promised.


Date created: 2021-01-26 Name: Mimi
Location: Redwood City, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"You've been warned"
This review is for services provided in SF, Bay Area, San Jose, CA. I had the products installed on June16, 2020 and after the first major rain in November, the rain water flowed over the gutter and came down like a waterfall in several places. Unfortunately, the worst spot is outside of our bedroom and water hits hard on the window and its frame, makes a lot of noise. The noise wakes us up every time it rains. We called customer support and they informed us that the earliest appointment was three weeks away. The technician came out and thought that installing extra down spouts to divert the water flow, it should prevent the over flow. He used pvc pipes instead of actual pipes for rain gutter, and promised he would come back and paint them nicely, but he never did. Not only that he left screws and debris from installing pvc pipes all over our property. Furthermore, the issue repeated itself when it rained again. I called customer support and again, the next available appointment was three weeks away. I called the service manager, Robert if he can send someone sooner, but he said there was no availability. We explained that the noise is so loud and we cannot sleep, but he said there is nothing he can do. The technician, Spencer did not even show up, and I had to escalate the issue with the customer support. This time service manager and technician came out, and ran some tests, and determined that the grits from the roof is clogging the mesh and causing the over flow. I was telling them that it does not function as their advertisements and guarantees said "you would never have to clean your gutter again." They cleaned the face of gutter protectors and said it is not their product's fault. Robert explained their product prevents leaves and other debris from entering the gutter, and not clean the inside of the gutter again. It is technically true since grits and debris clog the mesh and nothing goes in the gutter including the rain water. Water overflows like not having gutters at all. Our gutters are now heavily stained. Robert also said they install their products to a thousands of home per week, and there is 1% of homes that their product won't work. We explained several times that the noise keeps waking us up every time it rains and asked for removal and refund, but he just brushed off our claim and we need to call the support if it clogs again. So every time we called customer support, the appointment is at least three weeks out and the company does not seem to care that we are deprived from sleep. The filter has a life money back guarantee if the filters ever fail or not fully satisfied. We have more issues after the installation than before and Leaf Filter gave us run around and refuses to back what they advertise. I have had only regrets since the purchase of LeafFilter. I also noticed that the class action lawsuit is filed against them in December 2020, and the claims are exactly what we are experiencing. We wish we read all the complaints posted on BBB/other websites before we made the decision.


Date created: 2020-12-24 Name: Shelly Paradis
Location: Siler City, NC

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Overpriced & Unresponsive Representative"
The representative stayed four hours and his price was over $14,000. I said I cannot spend over $5,000. He lowered his price to $4,685. I reluctantly signed the paperwork and several hours later I asked for a materials and labor breakdown for the fee of $4,685. When 24 hours passed and I did not get an answer regarding a breakdown of the fee, I cancelled the order. I sent another followup email to the representative stating that his unresponsiveness to my email regarding a breakdown of materials and labor was very telling. I told him not to waste other people's precious time. I included the roof.info reviews from all over the country for his perusal and said he might consider a different job. This was the worst scam I have encountered in years.



Date created: 2020-11-05 Name: Ron
Location: Vonore, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't fall for their scam warranty"
Product totally misrepresented. Gutter overflowing after installation. Salesman said 100% money back guarantee. Had to call twice for service. Said I would get a call in 48 hours. After 4 days called again. Salesman wrong about dams. Conflicting info from salesman, installer and service rep. Salesman said leaves and debris would not stick—-wrong. Just like guards I had replaced they plug on top. Now they explain that 100% money back guarantee is only for plugging below guards in gutter or downspout. So I am back to water running over top of guards. Wasted thousands of dollars. I was misled.


Date created: 2020-10-27 Name: Jimmie Lyons
Location: Atlanta, GA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor to No response for their poor installation."
LeafFilter installed leaffilter gutters on my home. Gutters are not flush with facia. Three 2 to 5 feet gaps on both sides of front of L-shaped house. New gutters installed on 38-foot facia board on back of home that was warped/wavy, causing rain to pour between gutters and facia. Salesman stated LeafFilter would replace facia that needed replacing before installing new gutters, and 4 feet of soffit. Left nails and other debris. Has not returned to correct, despite 2-3 calls per week to them since 8-26-20 installation. Cannot rate improperly installed product. Don't know if they work or not. Poor customer service, too!


Date created: 2020-10-05 Name: Cécile
Location: Ottawa On

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unprofessional rep"
The rep came to our house at 7 pm with a flashlight. He said it would take about 30 minutes of our time, 90 minutes later - in our home despite Covid - he came up with a 8k quote. We nearly had a heart attack, he made a few phone calls and magically came up with 3300 $ (or so) which was still above what we were expecting. His entire body language changed, he became upset and was talking louder and louder and even asked us why we had him come over - I responded for a quote, he said that I could have found the info on the internet. We declined.. on his way out he asked us not to call him back for a discount, and I said that I wouldn't call him back for anything. He barely made eye contact on his way out and was pouting like a teenage boy... how unprofessional. I will not be doing business with them and do not recommend them at all, if the work is anywhere close to the reps attitude, forget it. I prefer having my local roofer come out and do the work.


Date created: 2020-10-01 Name: Carol Magnuson
Location: Fort Mill, South Carolina

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Shoddy work, high cost, terrible service, unanswered phone calls, untruths"
Leaf Filter, North Carolina did shoddy work, untreated wood to replace 32 ft. fascia, patchwork replacement, took advantage of 78 and 83 year old clients, three months of back and forth. Gutters and leaf filter in yard killing grass, unanswered phone calls. LF fired first two installers, 4/3 set up service call to handle improper work. 4/7 inspector came. 4/13, no show. New date 4/14, no show. No answer, full mailbox. 4/14 received Wells Fargo bill, did not agree to assignment. 4/15 unable to reach customer service (number not working), mailbo full. 4/27 left LF message, 4/28 mailbox full, 5/1 LF gave three options: $900 credit to Wells Fargo and get our own contractor, LF replace 60 ft of filters or we purchase 100 ft and LF cover labor cost but no lifetime guarantee of work. 5/4 countered with offer we buy fascia and LF install. 5/5 LF will discuss our offer and call by end of day. They did not! 5/8 called Sarah fro LF. LF to provide 80 ft of fascia and provide labor for rest of boards we would purchase. LF said they would send written agreement and have boards delivered for us to paint before installation on 5/18. LF later reneged on their installing fascia at their expense. Said we would have to pay! 5/14, no agreement and no boards!5/24 LF called and said they would deliver boards next week. 5/26 man came from LF said he would deliver five l6 ft boards and inspect gutters. He had the l6 foot boards cut into 6 and 10 foot pieces to fit his pickup truck! 5/27 confirmed 6/2 install. Said we needed to buy caulk. 6/1 we asked about insurance for subcontractor which we need before installation. 6/2 their worker showed up with no insurance certificate.He confirmed original installers not only did not use proper number of scres but did not install enough brackets to support filter system. Some gutter guards were warped in place. He recommended replacing about 100 ft of leaf filters system. 6/2 we called and offered solutions: 1) Replace all at LF expense or 2) reuse leaf filters and if they do not lay down in a month, they would be replaced at LF expense. 6/3 installer brought his wife along to help install. We told him there needed to be caulking between fascia sections and he agreed. He did front and side with caulking and then quit using caulking. Our daughter told him he needed to continue to use caulking. He got mad and stomped off the job. Daughter caulked two sides of house and painted the fascia. 6/4 there are still gutters and leaf filters in yard all around house. We have pictures. 6/5 daughter's birthday, texted LF to find out when an installer would be back, Sat or Tues? Response was "Tuesday won't work." What did that mean. Left phone call and texted, no response. Called main office and held for ten minutes. Operations manager called o 6/11 and he said he would "right now" check. He called office manager and she said Operations Manager would call in l5 minutes to set up service call. On 6/12 installer and wife came back and finished the job (except he used too short a board at the corner of the deck and there is a one inch gap between fascia. Left without a word and left us no lifetime guarantee. Total price for the job was $9856, about $30 a linear foot. We felt this was price gouging, financial exploitation, shoddy work, unethical practice and wearing us down for three months, incomplete work, cuttig corners. LF answered our review with BBB saying they would get with us, the same thing they said to the more than 1000 bad reviews they received and never contacted us again. BBB says we can submit a review which we did, or instead submit a complaint but the company is not obligated to answer it. They are "acredited" by BBB and they do not have levels of satisfaction. What ever you do, do not let the Leaf Filter salesman in your home. They are very slick. Never had such a bad experience with a contractor before.


Date created: 2020-09-02 Name: Reecy
Location: Charlotte

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Just Dont"
First of all, thanks for writing these reviews- you guys saved my $$$, and with Covid times are tight which makes this company even worse. Salesman came out yesterday, very slow (he was older so I did oblige-buts that's 3 HOURS of my life I won't get back. Initial quote $9400, apparently after he asked if I was military and I assured him I was, the price went up $200 before giving discount (my neighbor who was interested as well was peeking over his shoulder as he was making a zillion calculations). When she asked him where the extra $200 came from he quickly pleaded senile but then was unable to give an itemized price list. I kept declining the extravagant price but he wouldn't leave. Somehow- we made it down to $3400 ( which should have been another clue). After 3 hours in heat on my porch I accepted. After he left, my neighbor brought to my attention the measurement he quoted and we remeasured (prob as accurate as he did the first time) and it was considerably less. I had seen all the 'accolades' so let my guard down and on their website they boast 20,000 reviews with 4.5 rating but you can't access them- thought maybe it was just my phone. After he left, I did find this space and after reading reviews I immediately called to cancel at leaf filter and my bank. Can't speak for the product- never got it. But I clearly told him the two most important factors to making this purchase was to never deal with gutters again and lifetime warranty, both of which I'm seeing is a dream they won't make good on. Side note, he was borderline inappropriate with his talk of politics and society relations. I felt sorry for the old, crypt keeper looking dude but clearly I should adjust my attitude to fit that of the masses- anybody will take the opportunity to screw you. I could go on and on about this waste of a day but bottom line is- Just don't.


Date created: 2020-08-30 Name: Ellen Andrews
Location: Seattle, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Used car salesman tactics"
I filled out an online form for an estimate, not realizing they were going to have someone call me immediately to schedule an in-person estimate. I was only casually looking at my options to get an idea of price and hadn't done a lot of research yet. The salesman who came to our home was very pushy and condescending, using outdated used car salesman tactics that I can only assume are off-putting to just about everyone. We have a very small home and the initial estimate was $5,500. When we said we'd have to think about it he starts writing down percents and acronyms and magically he can offer us almost 40% off, but it's still $3,400. We say we need to think about it because we are doing a lot of other renovations to our house and we need to prioritize and look at our options. He starts guilt tripping about his time and gas for coming out, despite the fact that this was advertised as a Free Estimate, not a must-buy-now sales pitch. He gave us a few minutes to think about it and during that time I fact-checked some of his claims about having zero BBB complaints which is an absolute lie (they have 1,037). They claim to have great customer service and be maintenance-free, but as you can see on all of the review sites, there are many testimonials to the contrary. I finally had to firmly tell him we were going to wait and consider our options. He then went completely silent and no longer responded to anything I said, ignoring me as I if I wasn't there as he packed up and walked off. They use that timeshare presentation tactic where they've decided only one person here can be rude and it's them, so they keep being pushy and condescending to try to make you want to appease them and sign the contract. Don't fall for it! I've now seen hundreds of reviews and videos talking about how terrible the product is as well, I'm glad I didn't waste thousands of dollars on it.


Date created: 2020-08-27 Name: Nicholas Hudak
Location: Longview

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible experience"
I spoke with salesman "Mark" here in east TX to order the gutters. I spoke about eventually (Note I said eventually) using rain chains and rain barrels to add water conservation and appeal to the house. First of all my order says "we will install the Leaf Filter System on the home".... Would that not include down spouts? When they showed up to do the job they didn't put downspouts on... becasue they were informed that I would be putting up rain chains and rain barrels...Not good. I am very unhappy they showed up and did a half a job. leaving me with gaping holes in the gutters where the water rushes out like a water fall to the corners of my foundation... I thought rain chains would be effective. Turns out they aren't and this company should know (since this IS their business) and explain to the customer that rain chains are not very effective. Holes are too big for any rain chains I have bought. They should definitely know and advise that this system isnt so effective when using rain chains. but primarily they never put the downspouts on even though I did say I would need them until I had my rain chains and rain barrels. And I also stated that I would have to cut the downspout for the height of the rain barrel and would that affect the warranty. So I was expecting the 'whole' system to be installed regardless of my future plans.. NO..so now I have four big waterfalls at the corners of my home. I only had gutters on the front of my home originally and so I only have one old downspout, which thankfully I kept, so I am using my one old downspout at one corner of the hoime to disperse the water. Another thing is they take an hour to answer the phone when you are calling customer service....first I called my sales rep "Mark" to say that I didn't get the downspouts and he advised me to call customer service in TN. I called to tell them I needed the downspouts and they told me I would have to pay 500 dollars for 4.....shouldn't that be part of the pricing when you are quoted for a new leaf filter system....well according to them because I spoke of my plans to have rain chains and rain barrels, the sales man "Mark" (East TX area) gave the go ahead to not include sleeves or downspouts. terrible terrible experience getting the leaf gutter system for my home. I feel they did me wrong not giving me the whole system....like I said I now have water falls at the corners of my home. I paid to have the complete system. after arguing with the saleman "Mark" and a contractor on the phone the contractor had someone comeout with the sleeves for the holes which were supposed to narrow the hole....and he drilled two holes bigger in the front before I noticed what he was doing. not his fault, he was given the sleeves and was doing his job and told him I can't have bigger holes... so now the front has even bigger holes. He had a couple old sleeves from another job that would fit the holes in the back of the house without making them larger... so unhappy with the way this company did me... not right.. Because of my talking of putting up rain chains and rain barrels they only did half a job even though I paid full price..... I feel gipped totally, so please don't let on that you want to use rain barrels or rain chains becaues you won't get the "system", you will get gutters with the filters......only. I would not recommed doing business with this company... I still have to get downspouts for my rain barrel... Not knocking the gutters themselves, the service that was performed or lack therein really. I would not promote leaf filter, get them from another company.

12345678910111213Next >>