Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 106 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#8   of 18 brands of shingles

33% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    32
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    64

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

1234567891011Next >>

Date created: 2024-06-08 Name: J Howze Sr.
Location: Fort Washington, MD
Model: Timberline HDZ-Weatherwood

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Outstanding Shingle"
The introduction of GAF Timberline HDz Shingles, by 5 Star Roofing & Restoration, Elkridge, MD, served the needs of the resident owners outstandingly with the replacement of the existing roof due to storm damages. Pre-communications and coordination enabled roof installation to be completed within one day with no complaints nor issues arising from the contractor's installation. Professional installers knew their and performed their tasks well. Precautions were taken to protect flowers and shrubbery surrounding the Residence. I will gladly recommend GAF Shingle Products to others seeking roof replacement or repairs.


Date created: 2024-05-05 Name: R. Brown
Location: Clinton MS
Model: Timberline HDZ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Useless when installed wrong"
GAF website removes bad reviews of the roofers who sell the most product. Even though the roofer provides the warranty it is useless if it is not installed correctly. GAF then ignores the homeowner and never cares. GAF will NOT allow a bad review for bad roofers. They remove them quickly. Beware.


Date created: 2024-01-12 Name: S.nelson
Model: Hd

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Junk"
2019 roof installed bald shingles new right out of bundle roofers still not completed yet..gaf is a sorry company beware warranty is a scam. but I met someone who confirmed what thought was wrong there equipment breaks down often therfore temp not right but they keep on going and around 15% of my roof new was bald spots. also much granule loss is excessive and molding. there's more but you get the facts.



Date created: 2023-01-09 Name: Scott
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Model: Timberline 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor Quality and Worthless Warranty"
Delaminated Bald shingles, 30 year roof lasted 12 years, no granules left on over 1/2 the shingles,needs total replacement costing over $12,000. GAF warranty with pro-rata calculations said we got 42% of the warrantied roof life. Offered $1,000 toward cost of new roof. That's only 8%, What about 58% of the roof we did not get? Can't afford the replacement roof right now, save extra copies of the printed GAF Warranty Policy they will come in handy plugging the leaks. Never buying this brand ever again.


Date created: 2022-11-07 Name: Paul kordziel
Location: Syracuse ny
Model: Timberline ultra

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Architectural shingle"
Put these timberline shingles on my house in 9/2005, by 8/2017 I noticed vertical cracks in many of the shingles. Many of these cracks were above the seams between shingles, this quickly resulted in many small leaks in the roof damaging the plywood underneath, I filed a claim on the GAF class action website. I got a small check to replace some of the bad shingles, now 4 years later there are many more bad shingles and new leaks, the shingles are very brittle and cracking everwhere, These shingles are terrible, the class action is very hard to apply for and you barely get any money back, now I have to replace plywood and all the roofing


Date created: 2022-10-21 Name: Kenneth Law
Location: Carrollton, Tx
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Golden Pledge Warranty a Joke"
Timberline Shingles installed around skylights began to leak April 2022. After filing a Golden Pledge Warranty claim, it was June (mos) before claim was acknowledged. The Gaf roofer sent was not a fulll timer with very little experience. He reported it was the skylight not shingles and Gaf closed the claim. Still leaking after I paid to repair the skylights which wasn’t the cause. I called another Gaf master Elite roofer and they immediately concluded that the shingles around skylights are improperly installed. I then paid to tear off those shingles and properly install new ones. Gaf warranty department is a joke and not once have they responded to my numerous phone calls and emails with photo evidence. The Golden Pledge warranty covers workmanship, the cause of leaks. The roof was originally installed by a former Master Elite contractor. What good is their best warranty when managed by a useless warranty dept. October, 2022. 2022.


Date created: 2022-07-21 Name: Michael Eisenberg
Location: West Orange, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Terrible warranty support. Even their own contractors can't reach them!"
Think twice before choosing GAF. We made the mistake of choosing GAF for a roof and discovered too late that their warranty support is a joke. When our GAF roof failed, and water started leaking into our bedroom we called GAF... and called and called and called. Weeks passed with no action. The damage to our home increased with each passing week. We were given one excuse after another for the delays. First they said it was because a person left the company, then they told us the new person went on vacation, and so on and so on. Even the local roofing contractor assigned to us by GAF said they couldn't reach GAF to even discuss the claim. Now, finally the roof has been repaired, but we have thousands of dollars worth of damage that could have been avoided if GAF took their warranty seriously. We hoped they would recognize their failure and help us repair the damage caused by their endless delays, but instead they just read us the text of their warranty (which omits any promise to act in a timely manner). So know this, if you buy a GAF roof and it fails, they won't act until it's too late. They're a shamefully unethical company.


Date created: 2021-07-26 Name: J.Smullen
Location: Carrsville,Va

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Botched roof"
I had Paramount builders do my roof and they did most everything that the GAF videos say not to do like notch drip edge reuse old flashing the valleys a joke but they sent Mike Z the territory manager from Richmond and he said he saw no problems this company is the real joke all they care about is Money.


Date created: 2020-12-11 Name: andrew lager
Location: colorado spings

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Veteran rebate"
Never recieved my rebate from GAF for veterans, tried for 2 years to get it. If you are a veteran I would never use this company.


Date created: 2020-08-10 Name: J
Location: Florida
Model: Timberline

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Lacking"
Simply a terrible company from top to bottom. They refuse to stand behind their warranty or the commitments of their staff. They have no sense of duty to customer. Stay as far away as possible.

1234567891011Next >>