Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 98 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#10   of 18 brands of shingles

35% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    57

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910

Date created: 2011-01-23 Location: Holiday, FL

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Timberline Roofing Shingles by GAF-ELK"
We had two layers of shingles on the house already and had to have them removed since the roof leaked everytime it rained hard. I decided to have GAF-ELK Timberline Prestique 30 shingles installed. They have a 30 year warranty and are fungus resistant. The shingles were installed in October 2010 and to this point, there is no leakage in the roof and no shingles have come off of the roof. So far, I cannot say that there is anything about the shingles that I do not like and at least so far, I would recommend these shingles without hesitation. The color of the shingles is white which makes them energy efficient and reduces our cooling costs. I will state that I am not affiliated in any manner whatsoever with GAF-ELK. I have not had these shingles very long, but I am very satisfied with them and I would get them again if ever I needed another roof.


Date created: 2011-01-12 Location: Moorhead, MN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Charcoal 3-Tab Shingle 25-Year: A good investment"
I had these shingles installed 3 years ago and they still look like the day I had them installed, even after a few years of weathering in the rain, snow, and summer sun. Installation was quick, easy, and relatively pain-free, and the best part is I don't see myself having to pay to repair them anytime soon. They look great on my house, and were reasonably priced when compared to similar products also rated for 25 years. I would absolutely recommend these shingles for anyone looking to shingle their house in the near future. They were absolutely the right choice for me and I can see myself going back and buying this brand again when they finally wear out. They can be picked up at your local Home Depot (where I got them) but they're probably also carried by other hardware stores like Lowes or Menard's, so getting them shouldn't be any problem either.


Date created: 2010-12-19 Location: Mansfield, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"Good affordable roofing shingles"
My home was built in late 2009 and roofed with GAF 3-Tab Weathered Gray shingles. I like the way they match the brick of the home, but I prefer to have a 30 year shingle because they hide rafter imperfections better. We had a small hail storm back in late 2008 that blew a few shingles off. We've had the individual tabs repaired, but have yet to replace the rest of the roof. When we replace the roof next, I'll go with the GAF Timberline 30 year or possibly the 40 year. The price isn't that much more for 40 year and I like the fact that the shingles are heavier and won't blow off as easily in high winds.



Date created: 2010-12-01 Location: Leonia, NJ

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF shingles, an excellent investment"
I have GAF shingles on my house and they are excellent. I loved how easily the roofer put them in and how attractive their color was. They are a nice gray that goes well with my house. The only real issue I've had with them was price, they were expensive, but you get what you pay for, so I hope they continue to be high quality shingles. I had them put in originally on a small section of my roof to patch a hole. After a few years I decided my entire roof needed to be replaced. My contractor only uses GAF shingles so I went with them because that's what he recommended. Let me tell you, they are great. I had them put in last year just before the winter and almost a year later they look exactly the same. The color does not fade and the cap pieces are a thing of beauty. I would use these shingles again, though, they're very good, so I don't think I have to. Overall if I had to recommend them to someone I would. Spend the extra money and get some quality GAF shingles.


Date created: 2010-12-01 Location: Oklahoma city, Oklahoma

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible shingles"
I have owned Gaf shingles for about 1 year. The color of the shingles and how they looked on the house were amazing. After it rained a few times the shingles started losing colors and breaking. I have had the company who installed them come back out to repair the shingles because they started to turn grey and were cracked and made the house look bad. I would never buy Gaf shingles again nor would i refer anyone to buy them. The enxt time I buy shingles I will loo into ustomer reviews and try to find shingles that look good and are long lasting. Even though Gaf guaranteed the shingles for 15 years, the trouble I had to go through to get a company out to repair them and the overall appearance over a one year time was well a waste of money. These were highend expensive shingles but even after having a new company install Gaf to see if it was a previous companies fault. The shingles still failed.


Date created: 2010-11-15 Location: North Kingstown, RI

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Prestige Ultra shingles, wind resistant, good appearance, relatively low cost"
Two years ago I had to have my roof replaced. My town, which is near the coast, requires 110 mph wind resistant shingles. All of the ones I looked at were very expensive, except GAF Prestige Ultra shingles, which, while more expensive than regular shingles, were considerable less expensive than the other wind resistant ones. I was a bit concerned about the color, because the sample had a wide color variation and I though the color might look chaotic, but once the shingles were on the roof, the color variation seemed hardly noticeable. The shingles look great. Besides the color being attractive, they have a subtle sculpted look. Also, I contacted GAF via their web site with questions before I bought the shingles, and they were very helpful. I have had no problems with the roof in the two years since it was installed. I would certainly recommend these shingles to anyone looking for lower cost wind resistant shingles.


Date created: 2010-11-07 Location: Evansville, IN

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF: Quality and beauty"
Our previous shingles lasted just under 20 years and clearly needed to be replaced (e.g.,corners of shingles were upturned). Sought a dozen estimates with most recommending GAF shingles. Have not regretted for one moment the decision to go with GAF. There are several reasons that my wife and I are VERY pleased. For most of the first 20 years we owned this house, we had to pay someone to replace multiple shingles every spring. Since having the GAF installed, we have not had to call anyone to replace a shingle. Not one shingle has blown off and we live in the midwest where there are some violent windstorms. We also like the fact that the GAF shingles we purchased are chemically treated to reduce the chances of having those ugly black streaks on your roof. Every year to two I had to have someone power wash the roof, what a waste of money and not good for the shingles as I learned. Finally, the architectural shingles have a great 3D look and make the house look great. The GAF shingles add tremendoulsy to the curb appeal. Feels good to drive up to the house. Well worth it, would do it again in a heartbeat.


Date created: 2010-01-16 Name: J SMITH AIA
Location: Boston Ma

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"These Shingles SUCK-RUN AWAY!"
I am a regiseterd architect in the new england region and had these installed on my home 12 years ago. The north side is fine but the south side is totally gone. The reps came out and stated that "it is just the sun" I do large scale institutional projects-10-20M typically college and university and Health care. We are removing any notion of BP or sister companies from our specifications-or least trying to do so.

<< Previous12345678910