Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of GAF shingles

GAF Logo

Read 98 GAF Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#10   of 18 brands of shingles

35% of customers recommend
2.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    31
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    2
  • Very Unsatisfied
    57

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about GAF shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous12345678910Next >>

Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Chicago, Illinois
Model: Marquis Weather Max

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Roofing Shingles"
A few years ago, after a severe storm here in my hometown, the roofing shingles on the top of my house, and the roofing shingles on the top of my sister-in-law's house was left in shambles. Of course, I myself know nothing about roofing shingles, but I started doing some research online and found out that GAF roofing shingles came highly recommended, so that's the manufacturer I had my roofing guys shingle my house with (my sister-in-law did as well). 3 and a half years later, I have still had no problems out of my roof, despite the fact that it has endured several hail storms. Also, about 6 months ago, a very large branch from a huge pine tree in my backyard landed square on my roof and there was absolutely no damage. There has been no rain to leak into my house, either. Needless to say, I have not had to do any repairs on my roofing shingles. I will only buy GAF roofing shingles from now on. I would (and have) recommended this brand to my friends. I am very satisfied with my roof now.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Nashville, TN

Satisfaction Rating:

4 of 5 stars Somewhat Satisfied

Review:
"The Shingles on my roof."
I drive up my drive way and the first thing I look at is my roof. Why? I do not really know to be honest but it is probably because I am worried I might have to get up there soon to and get the roof replaced. That was me 2 weeks before I got my roof replaced. I now have GAF Royal Sovereign 3-tab roof shingles and they are a beauty. Every time I drive up my driveway I see my roof and I smile. Not only because they look great but they came with a 25 year warranty and I have heard that GAF will soon be putting all of their roof products under lifetime warranty but this sounds too much to me at the moment. I only thing I do not like about these shingles is that they were free! But not much in life is free. I have had these shingles for almost a year and I have no complaints and I would definitely go with GAF again when I need to replace my roof.


Date created: 2011-05-15 Location: Wausau, WI
Model: Timberline Prestique 30

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very satisfied with GAF-ELK"
We recently had the GAF-Elk shingle installed on our two story cottage. It is what's known as a painted lady and the shingles we chose complimented the overall look of the home. The work was done by an exteriors company in our town. These are a 30 year shingle which we love because it will probably be the last roof we install. The shingles went on very quickly and very well. 4 or 5 nails per shingle were used. We have received many compliments on how they look. I would certainly recommend them to others.



Date created: 2011-05-07 Name: D. Maass
Location: Sleepy Hollow, NY
Model: Timberline Natural Shadow

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad experience"
I installed GAF Timberline 30-year shingles, in 1972. They were cedar blend, and, IIRC, 340 pounds per square. At 20 years they were shedding their granules rather heavily and some exposed asphalt edges were beginning to break off. When contacted, GAF denied they sold shingles of that weight and with a 30 year warranty, and in effect, blew me off. My neighbor had Timberlines installed on his roof in October, 2008, and that winter and the next the shingles blew off his roof, despite no winds higher than 60 mph. GAF is stiffing him on the warranty. They'll pay only to have the shingles "resealed", and then won't warranty the resealing. He'll probably sue. I'm going to use a different brand.


Date created: 2011-05-06 Location: Plano, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF Timberline - A Reliable Brand of Roofing Shingles"
I'm very content with my roofing shingles, and I would like to tell you why. The GAF Timberline brand itself is a very reliable brand, and it always gets positive feedback, ranking among the best brand names in its field. Another big plus is its long lasting durability and quality service. I've owned these roofing shingles for about 6 years now, and in all of that time, I've only had to run very minor maintenance on them, just to make sure everything is still in working order. These minor repairs have taken just minutes, and it's been more like 'making sure the roof is still there' as opposed to ‘repairing the whole thing'. I can't think of a single thing I dislike about my roofing shingles, and as such, I would recommend them to a friend, or anyone really, in a heart beat, and if it came down to it, and I did need to replace them for whatever reason, I would definitely go with the GAF Timberline brand once again.


Date created: 2011-05-06 Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"20 Year Shingle verses 30 Year Shingle"
I have owned my 20 Year GAF-ELK shingles for about 4 years. I had to replace my roof after Hurricane IKE. I regret not listening to my salesperson and upgrading to the 30 year shingles. My reason is strictly cosmetic. While I do like the color of the shingles, I dislike the way the singles look compared to my neighbors. Mine lay flat and my neighbors shingles seem to have more definition and are definitely easier on the eyes. My singles look cheap. I did have a small repair job shortly after the roofing company installed my shingles. However, it was an installation problem and not the shingles. An area around my fireplace was not installed properly. The company immediately admitted it was an installation issue and fixed the problem. I would purchase the same brand again because my neighbors 30 year shingles are GAF-ELK and they are completely satisfied with the quality and looks. My only regret is not listening to my salesperson and upgrading to the 30 year shingle. The cost to upgrade was about $900.00. Considering you have to live with the shingles you pick out for years to come, the upgrade price seems reasonable.


Date created: 2011-03-28 Location: Greensboro, NC
Model: Marquis WeatherMax

Satisfaction Rating:

3 of 5 stars Neutral

Review:
"Review of My Roof Shingles"
I has these shingles install over 4 years ago and have had no problems. I haven't had any type of leaking happen or have any shingles fall off. Overall the condition of the shingles are still in great shape and I estimate them to last for at least another 15 years. They also offer at 30 year warranty of their roofing which is just unheard of! The quality of this roofing material is just top of the line! They also have GREAT customer service that can help you pick out the type of roofing that best suites your needs. I personally love GAF because they have such a variety of colors and types to choose from. There really isn't much not to like about it. I would definitely recommend this brand to anyone that is thinking about replace their roof. I'll will definitely be buying from this company again when it comes time to replace the roof again! I couldn't be any happier with my roof!


Date created: 2011-02-28 Location: Oswego, NY

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Long lasting shingles!"
I built my house in Oswego NY, which has the hardest winters in the entire Northeast. When I built my house I bought and used GAF shingles, and this was in 1994. Since then, I have had no problems with them whatsoever, and they were fairly cheap. (Exact prices I do not remember.) One thing I especially like about GAF shingles is that they look brand new even to this date, even with the harsh winters and heavy snowfall. I have yet to find something I dislike about my shingles, but I suppose time will bring up issues. Even to this day, I have yet to need any repairs or have any replace, and they look almost exactly the way I bought them. I would definitely recommend these to a friend, and in face, I have! My brother in-law recently needed to do some renovations for his real estate business and along with other remodeling brands, GAF was my recommendation for him for shingles, and as far as I know he has had no problems with them.


Date created: 2011-02-28 Name: Marty
Location: Virginia
Model: Timberline Prestique 30

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Give GAF shingles 12 years,Then see"
I here alot of you praising the GAF product. It's quite obvious you haven't had them long enough for all the granules to end up in the gutters. I am a roofing contractor for over 26 years. Twelve years ago I had two customers request the Gaf 30 line. I gave it a shot. Now my customers are fighting GAF over warranty issues. The final outcome Gaf offered was $1600.00 to pay for a $7800.00 roof. Heck, GAF won't pay for color problems in the new line of 30 year unless there is a leak. Since then I use only CertainTeed products. I know the Horizon shingle is a close second to being the worst attempt at roofing.Thats why it was discontinued. GAF continues to sell there crap and not honor warranties.


Date created: 2011-01-24 Location: Miami, Fl

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"GAF roofing shingles are the best!"
I know I live in an area where hurricanes are common, but my shingles have lasted very well through them. I only had a few shingles off when two hurricanes went through during the same summer. Overall I am very happy with my roofing shingles and would recommend them to anyone.

<< Previous12345678910Next >>