Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Iko shingles

Iko Logo

Read 257 Iko Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#12   of 18 brands of shingles

25% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 257 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    61
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    4
  • Neutral
    3
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    1
  • Very Unsatisfied
    188

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Iko shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>

Date created: 2020-09-02 Name: Louise HalSmith
Location: Ocean City, NJ
Model: Crown Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Failed Shingles Worthless Warranty"
First, I will start with the fact that I am a Material Specifier, Space Planner and a General Contractor & have been in the construction business for 4 decades. I installed IKO's "Crown Slate," color: "Regal Stone," on a condo I own in a shore town in NJ. Crown Slate is a Class IV Shingle--meaning that it has been tested for both Hail resistance (by steel balls being shot and hitting the shingles) and Wind Resistance. For wind, the shingles are warranted to stay on up to 110MPH, with an additional limited warranty of up to 130 MPH. That is why I speced this shingle for my condo. The barrier islands of NJ tend to get hit a few times per year with hurricanes and other wind events. Since Superstorm Sandy, the insurance industry (in this region) has tacked on an additional 2% Wind Deductible. While most insurance companies offer a discount for a Class IV Shingle, they don't for the barrier islands. Hence the 2nd reason for specing a Class IV b/c I wanted to be protected (lost the majority of my roof shingles during Sandy). IKOs "Crown Slate" was installed in May 2013. In April 2020, this barrier island had Wind Gusts documented to 64MPH (see pic). Some of my Crown Slate disappeared to God knows where, while others flipped over and some remained on the roof. The shingles that flipped over, my roofing sub used to repair some of the areas. The lost shingles were repaired with whatever stock my roofer had available. I filed a claim with IKO immediately, after speaking with their local territory manager (whom I knew from the original spec). I gave them the timeline, a posted Wind MPH pic, several pics of the damaged roof, the roof repair and completed their Claim Form. They didn't respond. So I called them after a few weeks, spoke with a rep (I won't name), asked why they had not replied to my Claim package and they told me it was b/c I didn't send any of the roof samples. No one else in the Roofing Shingle industry requires this. How are you supposed to send roofing samples, if they blew away? What are you supposed to do in the meantime? I made several more calls to the Warranty Manager, as well as emails--each time following up my conversations with the reps to him and nothing. During those calls, I asked if IKO would send me a bundle or two of the same Crown Slate shingles, so I could repair the roof, then I would gladly send them the damaged shingles. They said, "No, they couldn't do that!" Well, of course they can and should do that. That is what CertainTeed does, if they have a failed roof. I wish I could post this story on IKO's website but they don't have any place to do so. I'm guessing it's b/c they'd have countless stories like mine (& I'm not just a regular homeowner). I guess I will have the roof completely redone (with CertainTeed), then sue IKO for all the Labor & Material, when this could've been settled by them honoring their Warranty and sending me the few requested bundles. Maybe all of the dissatisfied customers should get together and file a Class Action Suit?


Date created: 2020-09-02 Name: Matthew Richardson

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"I've had my roof for 12 years and no complaints here."
I've had my roof for 12 years and no complaints here. It still looks good and expect many more years of performance.


Date created: 2020-08-31 Name: Ryan
Location: Canada

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Really good"
Really loved how they went on as well as stayed. Really happy with the outcome.



Date created: 2020-08-28 Name: Jonathan
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Price + Performance"
I was initially skeptical of IKO products after reading some reviews on line, but I have found the IKO Cambridge shingles to be quite reliable. We had ours installed a few years ago, and have no signs of curling or granule loss. This is despite some pretty serious storms over that time. Just make sure you use a trusted roofing professional for installation.


Date created: 2020-08-19 Name: Mike Harrison
Location: Pennsylvania

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"My roof has looked great for years"
I got IKO Cambridge shingles installed about 4 years ago, and my roof still looks like it is brand new. High quality beautiful shingles.


Date created: 2020-08-13 Name: Nicholas
Location: Stoney Creek, Ontario
Model: Marathon 25 AR Harvard Slate

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Do not buy IKO! utter garbage!"
Garbage! what more needs to be said? where are the attorneys? Time for another class action lawsuit! Do not! Do not buy IKO!


Date created: 2020-07-13 Name: Tom B
Location: Waterbury VT
Model: Cabridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"35yr shingles curling before 10 and crumbling at 15..."
IKO 35yr Architectural Shingles. Started curling up about 5 years ago. Now finding small chunks all over the place after winds... complete and total garbage Neighbors had to replace their roof at 10 years...same issues. Now we do too at 15 years...so much for 35 yr shingles. Company should be run out of business. Never Ever using IKO.


Date created: 2020-05-02 Name: lionel doucet
Location: st-arthur, new brunswick, canada
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Homeowner"
By far the worst product I have ever worked with, they don't stick, every time the wind blows, I replace between 5 and 10 shingles. I even tried gluing every row and in the winter they shrink and crack. My roof is only 10 years old and needs to be replaced. I will not be bitten by the same dog twice.


Date created: 2020-04-06 Name: Mitch
Location: New Jersey
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Installer Review"
I work for a contractor in South Jersey and we have never experienced problems with shingles like we have with IKO Cambridge. The shingles do not seal properly and the warranty is completely useless. Will never use this shingle again.


Date created: 2020-04-01 Name: MICHAEL W LASSEL AIA NCARB
Location: Southern Maine
Model: Cambridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Poor quality and"
I am an Architect and chose IKO shingles because of their look and solid warranty package. I installed a 30 year shingle on a 12/12 pitch roof and sections started to deteriorate in 10 years. I have sections of my roof that looses a shingle in every rain storm and other parts of the house where the shingles are in perfect condition. It appears that there was a batching or manufacturing issue. I called the local sales rep and only go the run around. We no long specify IKO on our projects and when asked by other Architects we tell them the same story. They need to address this issue and at the very least compensate the replacement cost of the materials.

<< Previous1234567891011121314151617181920Next >>