Roof.info: for all your roofing needs
Roof.info: for all your roofing needs

Consumer Reviews of Owens Corning shingles

Owens Corning Logo

Read 82 Owens Corning Shingle reviews or write your own review.

Popularity:
#2   of 18 brands of shingles

67% of customers recommend
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
  • Very Satisfied
    50
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    5
  • Neutral
    1
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    3
  • Very Unsatisfied
    23

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to Roof.info. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of Roof.info.

Read more about Owens Corning shingles

Read reviews of other Shingle brands
Write a review

123456789Next >>

Date created: 2021-01-26 Name: B. Brown
Location: Florida

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Six Years and They Won't Stand Behind Product"
The plastic vent material under the shingles is totally rotten and Owens Corning will not stand behind their product. Batterbee Roofing is charging me $1800 to replace it and Owens Corning only offered $140. It has to be replaced so animals can't just walk right in. The company should replace this inferior product.


Date created: 2020-12-01 Name: mary dixon
Location: poland ohio
Model: Duration

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Sure nail"
Shingles on roof 12 yrs have many leaks won't stand behind them have to take it to court


Date created: 2020-08-05 Name: Vince
Location: Sarasota, FL
Model: Duration

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Worst company one could ask for!"
I have been dealing with Owens Corning for 4 years. If you have a problem they will promise you things but they don't deliver. The goal seems to to burn one out and hope you go away. It's really hard to believe companies like this still exist. I thought I was buying from a company with a good reputation and would be happy. Boy was I wrong. You will learn fast enough that if you have a problem your on your own.



Date created: 2020-06-08 Name: Helen Hickman
Location: Harvest,AL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Home owner"
Nine years after installment of Owens Corning shingles I've had two roof inspectors and the guy that Owens Corning sent to inspect for them all tell me that it looked like there was a bad lot when the roof was replaced. Good runs for a while then bad shingles for the next run. Dealing with quality assurance has been a laugh. They don't answer the phone and e-mail response is slow if I get anything other than the auto reply. Find a better shingle manufacturer!


Date created: 2020-06-02 Name: Jimmy Duforough
Location: Houston, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"A great shnigle"
I have lived in my home for over 15 years since I built and have never had a leak or a problem with my roof. It still has a great look to it, but the performance to me is the most important...I would choose Owens Corning again if I was to ever build a house again.


Date created: 2020-06-02 Name: Misty Daniels
Location: San Antonio, TX
Model: Oakridge Lifetime

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Great Roof"
Our roofer installed the lifetime shingle on our last home and it looked great. We had the home 8 years and when we sold it we were able to transfer the warranty to the new homeowner and it was part of our selling package. The transfer process was easy and we just called the 800 number. If we ever need another roof we are going to use Owens again.


Date created: 2020-05-27 Name: Wayne Simmons
Location: Houston, TX
Model: Oakridge Lifetime

Satisfaction Rating:

5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Happy Builder"
I have been using Owens Corning Oakridge on my homes for the past 10 years and have had zero issues or homeowner complaints. I tried a budget brand for about 6 months and it was nothing but unwanted headaches and upset homeowners. You get what you pay for with Owens and in my opinion is worth an extra few bucks. Reading through some of these comments, it sounds like some of these homeowners think that a manufacturer is supposed to cover hail and hurricane winds. They need to call their insurance foe "acts of god" because the manufacturer covers their defects.


Date created: 2020-05-26 Name: ginny gibbs
Location: Moreau New York
Model: Oakwood

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"50 year Shingles made it 16 years"
I had my Owens Corning roof installed in 2004 and 16 years later it has cracks. I contacted the company thinking well at least they will pay for the shingles although I will have to pay for the labor but ok... These people decided that my roof is not their fault not once but twice. I have had 3 roofers over to look at my roof and they all say the same thing that it is the shingle not the installation. I feel cheated... During a time when everyone is having a financial crisis I think it is sad to see such a well known name not following through with their warranty. I think the entire thing was a scam.


Date created: 2020-03-14 Name: L Maxwell
Location: Sedro Woolley, WA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Bad Product"
Warning, Warning Owens Corning Roofing is crap. After 14 years, my 40 year shingles are falling apart, splits, cracks, missing granules, and seals coming up... They say its not a defective product? Crap product and they don't stand behind their product. Buy your roofing from a better dealer. I am sure Owens Corning will delete this post soon, but I hope a few people will see this and buy somewhere else. I will also continue to repost as long as I can and everywhere I can... Buyer beware


Date created: 2020-02-07 Name: Ian Blackwell
Location: Charlotte, NC
Model: Oakridge

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"An absolute nightmare!"
I installed 51 squares of Owens Corning Oakridge Shingles (Color Onyx Black) on my home in 2013. After a roof inspection about six weeks ago, I discovered that all of the shingles are breaking down and showing fibers. Some of the shingles are worse than others. I contacted Lowes which instructed me to file a claim with Owens Corning because this was not normal "Wear and Tear". I filed a claim and received a box requesting many pictures and 2 shingle samples. I gathered all of the information including the pictures, claim form and samples. I shipped the package off via UPS. Keep in mind that I was told that I would be reimbursed by Owens Corning up to $150 for the cost of the shingle samples (Roofers Labor). I received a call after six weeks from OC that after careful review in their "LAB" that there was nothing wrong with the shingles. They denied the claim. They also never reimbursed me for the shingle samples. I have multiple roof inspection reports that clearly state that this is not normal wear and tear nor damage from "Acts Of God". Do your self a favor and stay away from OC products. Their product is garbage and so is there customer service. Save yourself the money and headache! I am out over $12,000 after I install a new roof.

123456789Next >>